We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, modern hotel with great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, modern hotel with great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

What a great view of the Pier and Santa Monica beach, our room was located at the very front of the hotel with a small balcony. The location really can't be beat in my mind, and was very close to the Third Street Promenade.


The room itself was a little smaller than I am accustomed to, but it was clean, well laid out, and modern. There was a glass shower in the bathroom that was exposed to the main bedroom...but there was a powered blind that could be lowered. (had to call front desk to figure it out. lol)

The pool area for this hotel was very nice as well. The pool was heated, a small bar was staffed during the day, and their were IR heaters scattered around the pool deck as well. (it was October)

I only reserved the room on the same day that we were flying into LA, and the staff was great. The reservation girl offered to run to a nearby liquor store for me and grab me a bottle of champagne to put on ice for us.

Overall I think it's a fantastic little romantic getaway place.

Room Tip: Get a suite at the front of the building if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inspectorfong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Inspectorfong,

Thank you so kindly for taking the time to review your recent trip here to Santa Monica. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. We very much aim to make for a wonderful guest experience in your home away from home. I wanted to thank you again and mention how very much we appreciate your business. I hope we can offer to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    667
    236
    81
    57
See reviews for
954
770
112
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

we booked at the last minute and when we arrived we were upgraded to an oceanfront.
really nice staff and very clean. great beds. nice wine reception late afternoon.
perfect breakfast by the swimming pool.
alex, at the front desk and tony, who helped with our luggage, were both outstanding
with helpfulness and ideas.
would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: our room was 403 and it was perfect. the only downside was the fact that I need a really dark room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyvcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear shirleyvcalifornia,

It was such a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your time here, and our friendly staff. I can't say enough how much we appreciate your business. I truly hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very good hotel, just minutes away from santa monica pier. Great sea view from balcony. Nice and helpful staff. Great outdoor pool and hottub. 2 minus for the small room and the poor breakfast. Eating out recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ragnar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ragnar T,

Thank you so much for reviewing the hotel during your recent visit. We know you have the option to choose where you stay, and really sincerely appreciate your business. I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

The term Ocean View Room is a misleading term. Our room had that title however looked at the back of the Ivy restaurant, you had to angle yourself to have an ocean view. Apart from that the service was good and the people overall nice and welcoming. Clean and modern, a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ocean View is actually only partial
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTravellerFlyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear AussieTravellerFlyin ,

I wanted to reach out and offer my apologies for our miscommunication. I'm happy you otherwise enjoyed your visit. Your business is truly appreciated, and I do very much hope we may offer to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLOOMFIELD HILLS , MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

My daughter and I booked this hotel last minute on Expedia. The hotel is small and modern. It is centrally located on Ocean Avenue and a short walk to the pier. The room was small but well layed out. We were on the third floor and had an amazing ocean view.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor and ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel0221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear lovetotravel0221,

Thank you so much for reviewing your visit with us at the Shore Hotel. I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and the view! I truly hope we may offer to welcome you back very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed here for my husbands birthday weekend. Alex couldn't of been more accomodating.
from the moment we checked in, to restaurant suggestions, we had a wonderful weekend. the room was beautiful, the garden was spectacular at night, and hanging out at the pool at night couldn't of been better. location doesn't get any better than this. we will be back!!

Room Tip: beautiful garden and fire pit await the garden view rooms. ocean view rooms not noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Servies Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Deborah F,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit with us at the Shore Hotel. I'm happy to learn you had a good experience with the hotel and were met by friendly staff. Your business is so very much appreciated, and I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff is incredibly friendly. Aside from that and the great location ...

My room smelled like the restaurant below had stored their garbage in there until a few moments before I checked in. I asked to switch rooms and the new room smelled ten times worse. I was exhausted and simply went back to the first room. Because of the smell I had to sleep with the window open. It was very loud, and hot.

They sell nicer hair dryers at my local gas station.

I got locked out of my room and the new keys they provided didn't work.

They charge $35 (!!!!) for valet but will not let you pull up to the lobby and park your car for you. You have to take a ticket, enter the parking garage, go down a floor and pull up to valet. They park your car a few steps from there. For $35.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Sara K,

I wanted to reach out and offer my apologies for the troubles you encountered during your stay. We take comments to heart & this is a way we may look into providing a better experience in some circumstances. We certainly have discussed the troubles that befell you and are looking at ways to address the shortcomings.

With that being said, I would very much like the opportunity to win you back. If your travels are bringing you back to Santa Monica anytime soon please reach out to me. I'd like to offer you a discounted accommodation, upgrade & special amenity. I again thank you for your business, and offer my sincerest apologies for the difficulties encountered during your visit.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing