We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great location”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great location”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We tried this hotel for a short holiday. Will definitely return! Perfect location just across from the Santa Monica pier and beach. Close to the Third Street Promenade and shopping. Great restaurants and bars close also. The service was superb, from being greeted by Alex, and everyone else. The closest door in our room was off its hinge when we arrived. We called the desk asking that it be fixed. When we returned a few hours later, not only had the door been fixed, but the maintenance person left a nice note and a chocolate wrench!! What a nice touch!
The rooms were clean, comfortable and functional. Everyone was super!

Green Features: Impressed with the hotel's efforts to be "green".
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truckee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
truckee07,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that your stay with us went so well, that we won a future return! At Shore Hotel, our focus is our guests and we do our very best to ensure that each of our guests are taken care of. I will also share your great praise with my team. Thank you again for being our guests. We hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,752
    705
    247
    87
    65
See reviews for
1,047
805
121
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location was first rate. The room was large and the view of the ocean was fantastic. Since there are two buildings, getting around to the exit near the shopping mall involved a bit of twisting through halls and multiple exits. No big deal and overall everything was wonderful. Tip to travelers: Snack and minibar items are highly overpriced. I asked to have them removed so we would not be charged.

Room Tip: Ocean side!
See more room tips
Green Features: With such an eco-friendly place, I thought that stairs would be easier to use. Just a little disappointed that we had to take an elevator to get down because the stairways were dark and hidden.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Movinup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Movinup,

It was a pleasure to have you and your husband as our guests! We appreciate the kind feedback regarding your stay with us at Shore Hotel. This means a lot to us as your are a Senior Contributor with Trip Advisor. Please let us know when you are traveling back to the West Coast as I would personally like to invite you back with us. Thank you again for being our guest!

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

My overall rating of the staff is excellent. Friendly and professional, from the front desk to the maid service. I have to give a shout out to Luis Flores, the night auditor who answered the phone when I first called to verify my booking. He is really the reason I ultimately checked into this hotel. It was early in the am, but he was so professional, helpful and available through email. Checking in was easy, although the 5 min parking pad valet was confusing and not very convenient. For this level of hotel, I would have appreciated at least 15 min. Yes, this is a great location, but more attention can be placed on details. For example, no information in room about breakfast options, or hotel facilities. At check in, I was asked if I wanted a complimentary paper delivered to my room every morning, I said yes, but I never got the paper. Valet Parking on site is very expensive. There are other cheaper options nearby. I had a partial view of ocean, on the 3rd floor, but the location was noisy, music playing well into the night, and below is the center of much activity because of the pool and jacuzzi and it is where breakfast is served. There is no canopy to dull the noise. Because of the hotel design, partial room views are angled to face other rooms. Not very private. I will opt for garden view next time. The green apples and champagne were a lovely touch. The Aveda products were great, as was the bathroom design. The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable. I will probably book again and try the blue plate tacos.

Room Tip: if you want quiet, opt for a garden view, and premier rooms for more privacy on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear calvar1,

Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to review your stay. I am happy that your booking process was seemless and easy. I do also offer my sincerest apology for the confusion with breakfast info, parking, and the noise you encountered over the pool area.

We train very hard to ensure that all information is provided to you as our guest in an easy manner. This is an on-going training topic, and something we truly strive to exceed your expectations in. I sincerely hope you may reach out to me personally next time your travels bring you to Santa Monica, as I'd like to personally oversee your stay & ensure everything will be perfect.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at the Shore hotel and the least I can say is that they know how to welcome you!
Jen at the reception is an angel, probably the sweetest person I have met so far in my trips and I do travel a lot.
The hotel is beautifully located in front of the ocean, it is clean, modern and tastefully decorated without being to obnoxious.
The team is discreet and yet available for your every need, always smiling and after a long trip they just make you forget how tired you are...
I apparently had a problem in my bathroom which I had not noticed, in my absence Karl from the maintenance came to fix it and left me a note with a chocolate... I unfortunately couldn't meet him to thank him so if at the Shore you read my review, please thank him for me.
There is no restaurant in the hotel but they still have a room service where they can get you a meal from the restaurant next door with an excellent and healthy menu. You also have many restaurants around suitable for every taste.
The Shore is also a non smoking property but for the smokers, they have a beautiful and quiet garden at the back of the hotel where you can relax...

I was in room 102 on the ground floor, all rooms have a balcony and I had a terrace with view of the swimming pool and the ocean... It is a bit noisy as guests are passing by the corridor to go to the pool but nothing extremely disturbing unless you plan to spend your whole day in the room.

The hotel is 5 minutes away from the Pier promenade where you can shop or have dinner and 10 minutes away from Venice beach...
Hotel definitely highly recommended!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kats-AUH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear KatsDubai,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent visit to the Shore. I am so happy to hear the staff were friendly and helpful, and will pass on to each of the colleagues you mentioned. We place a great deal of emphasis towards training our staff to be attentive, thoughtful, and service centered. I further wish to mention how much we truly appreciate your business. I sincerely hope we may be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We decided to do a staycation for Memorial day weekend and booked a room at the Shore Hotel. We had been to Blue Plate Tacos before and thought the property held great promise based on the sleek and stylish exterior. Our room, a superior ocean front, was very disappointing. It seemed more motel than boutique hotel. There was also a weird buzzing noise all night long which turned out to be air rushing under our door (a towel at the threshold solved the issue). For us, the interior did not live up to our hopes from the interior. That said, the location is great largely because of the delicious Blue Plate Tacos. Our Ocean Front room was more crowds, cars and food trucks than ocean.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Todd B,

I am truly sorry to hear you did not enjoy your accommodations during your recent visit. We very much try to provide all of our guests with a delightful experience. With that being said, if your travels bring you back to Santa Monica soon, I'd like to offer my personal service to you. If you'd be willing to provide us with another chance I would very much like to personally oversee your stay.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Spent five nights and enjoyed every minute! From the minute we checked in, we were welcomed warmly and quickly. Front desk staff was extremely friendly and professional, as were all staff. Randall was always in the lobby asking how everything was and if there was anything he could help us with. He was extremely accommodating and very professional.

The hotel is sleek and clean, and the shower in our room was amazing. The location is perfect for walking to third street promenade, the pier, and the beach. This is our third summer in Santa Monica but first at this Hotel. By far the best for service and location. Thanks for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Kris A,

Thank you so kindly for reviewing our hotel during your recent family visit. We truly aim to make service one of our primary goals, and I am happy you had a good experience. I further wanted to mention that your business is so very much appreciated. I hope we may have you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights before returning home to New Zealand. It is in a perfect location - close to the beaches, restaurants and shops. Driving in was a bit of a hassle as there is not much room to park and unload, it was actually a bit confusing. On checking in we were offered a glass of champagne - a very nice touch, but later we found out that we hadn't been told about the full facilities and options of the hotel, which was a bit disappointing.
Our room was lovely overlooking the garden, which was very special but getting to our room was a bit strange as we had to go up and over and then back down. But there was an excellent side entrance that we took for the rest of our stay. Checking out was a breeze, very helpful front desk staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenko111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
karenko111,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. With your feedback, our team strives to make improvements. I also wanted to apologize that our team did not explain the amenities on site upon arrival. I will use your experience as a training opportunity to prevent this from happening in the future. But I am glad that the rest of your stay went well! I understand that you have a choice when traveling and wanted to thank you for being our guests! We look forward to your next arrival.

Best Regards,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,567 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,547 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing