We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, but tainted by poor service”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Beautiful hotel, prime location. Room was spotless and refreshing. Checkout experience was horrible. The front desk girls were chatting amongst themselves and did not acknowledge I was even standing there. A bellman approached the desk and he was greeted before I was! I certainly expected better service.

Room Tip: Garden terrace rooms have easiest access to Ocean Ave. and 2nd St
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmfrances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P, Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear gmfrances,

Thank you for posting your review and as we have discussed this was an embarrassing service failure on our part. I have used your feedback as a training tool for my staff. I trust that you or any other guest would not experience the same lack of attentionn. Please let me know if you do come out our way again.

Kind Regards,

Aaron Peaslee
Director of Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
There are newer reviews for Shore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,533 - 1,539 of 2,891 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

loved staying here and the customer service from carlos and chef jared. they take care of you well at this hotel! clean and unique vibe and sweet pool! they provide you with bellman and have great beds and food choices!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron P, Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Jodi F,

We are so excited for Chef Jared's Pacific Sands Restaurant that will be opening soon! Our Food and Beverage team is very fortunate to be led by Carlos and Jared. Stay tuned for the restaurants opening. I have seen some of the new menu ideas and they look great.

Kind Regards,

Aaron Peaslee
Director of Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Shore Hotel for a week this April. The hotel is clean, beautiful, and so perfectly located. The staff was very helpful, eager, and friendly. Additionally, the staff was so helpful with getting us a driver, renting a car, selecting nearby restaurants, etc. We really were so pleased with our visit. Selecting a hotel from out of town in which we were planning to stay for one week was a scary proposition and now that we are back home our family conversation about the trip centers on what a wonderful experience we had at the Shore Hotel. Obviously, I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2014

Dear Jdaviau,

Thank you very much for your recent review of our hotel. We very much like to learn the feedback that you as our guest have to give. Your business is very much appreciated, and we are extremely happy to learn you had a pleasant stay. I truly hope we may welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Adam Burke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Excellent customer services. New hôtel, it's clean and quiet.
Near many restaurants and the 3rd promenade shopping. Excellent localisation.
We had Room in front of the océan and one In the back. Both were super...
Champagne when you Check-In is offerd.

Room Tip: Room are similar. In front of the océan is WOW!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The Shore hotel is in the perfect location, right by the pier, across the street from Palisades Park, and only a few blocks from the Promenade. The hotel is very contemporary and stylish from the lobby to the heated outdoor pool and courtyard to the rooms. They also have a very nice gym area. We had a "partial ocean view" room which was good, normally when I hear "partial" I worry but the view was okay. You are also looking out over Ocean Ave and Palisades Park. The room was spacious and comfortable. There was a small balcony. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms spacious. Plenty of amenities, some of which cost extra so be mindful of what you use. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The only cons are the cost, slightly overpriced in my opinion but this is L.A. and parking- 30.00 per day. Again, it is L.A. Overall, its a good place and we hope to get back someday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Brad S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am please to hear that your stay went well. Our top priority is our guests and we do our best to ensure that you are taken care of. At Shore Hotel, we strive to make improvements with the feedback that you have provided. We would love to invite you back to stay with us when you are in the area again.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Best,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Location is very good. The rooms are fine. Look for a room to the ocean side. The lobby and the design is refreshing and modern. Especially during the night the lighting looks very cool.
Santa Monica and the Hotel is a very good escape from the Academy Week Specials.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Puffinman,

We appreciate the time your have taken to share your feedback with us. I am glad to hear that we were able to be your escape when visiting Santa Monica and that you enjoyed the modern design of our property. We understand that you have a choice when traveling and I wanted to thank you again for being our guest.

We look forward to your next visit,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I realize that this is my 3rd time reviewing the hotel but this place is outstanding! Mary at the front desk is a rock star. She not only helped me with my rental car reservation but also helped with my upgrade. I can't say enough about the Shore. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBowen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear ChrisBowen4,

We greatly appreciate the time that you have taken to review our property. It means a lot to us to hear our guests share their experiences with us. We work hard to ensure that our guest's, especially loyal guest's; such as yourself are taken care of. If there is anything more that we can do to personalize our stay please let us know. Thank you again for being our guest and we can't wait to see you again soon.

Best,

Christina Maranon
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,585 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,068 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $380 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing