We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve at The Shore”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Had a ocean/pier view room and it was just lovely and would recommend this room as you can sit on your balcony and have a drink while the sunsets (over the water, which we are not used to) and then go back into your room, close the door and it is soooo quiet even on the main road.

The room and the bathroom were modern with and set out very nicely. We used the pool once and it was lovely.

The hotel is in a great location and you can walk everywhere, it was very busy and it was hard to find a restaurant not fully booked (if you are going during a holiday, I would recommend booking so you don't miss out).

It is a shame that the Santa Monica area doesn't do any fireworks for New Years Eve (only at Malibu) as the large beach area would be perfect.

An enjoyable stay at a first class hotel, its just a shame that they don't have there own bar on site over looking the pier as do the rooms

Room Tip: Save up and choose the ocean front rooms which overlook the pier, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memphis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Memphis_11,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shore Hotel. Our team takes pride in ensuring that each of our guest have a memorable stay. I also wanted to mention that we are in the process of adding a new restaurant and bar in our hotel! When completed, we would like to invite you back! Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,952 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is excellent, just across the beach of Santa Monica, walking distance into shops and restaurants. Down the road from the airport. Easy route to Beverly Hills, Hollywood etc. just get on the Santa Monica Boulevard and you are there in no time. Best place I've stayed in, in LA.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Persiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Persiggy,

Thank you for the kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us We truly value your mention about our property being the best place you have stayed in LA. Please join us again soon.

Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a lot of research myself and my partner decided to stay here for a treat at the end of our 10 day trip to the states after a lot of internal flights and traveling.

The hotel has a light and airy reception with friendly staff, the overall design is very trendy and modern, our room was ready on arrival at 1.00 even though we were prepared for it not to be after reading reviews on here. We were given a glass of bubbly and recommendations for where to dine from the very friendly receptionist .

The location was perfect for our needs, close to the water and shops, restaurants. Shame it did not have a restaurant but we knew this prior to booking. Plenty of restaurants nearby. The jaquzzi and pool was particularly enjoyable in the evenings, and enjoyed the waiter supplying drinks. The gym had everything we needed to have a small work-a member of staff came in and spoke to us whist we were in there and to out surprise upon return to our room a card and confectionary was there welcoming us and wishing us a nice stay.

The only negative I would have to say is the bill. Im not sure if it is different in the US but the price we booked it for over the internet was missing some kind of city charge?? and another charge which we can't remember-this may be us being ignorant/naive to this however when we had budgeted our holiday around the price we had booked via the shores website and to be charged a few hundred dollars more at the end was a bit gutting.

Overall this hotel was great and exactly what we needed, staff were there if we needed them, however you did not feel like you were being bombarded and our stay felt quite private.

We would not stay again in Santa Monica, however would recommend this hotel if you'd like a trendy, eco friendly hotel in this area .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rebeccamaryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

rebeccamaryb,

We are glad to hear how welcome you found both our property and staff to be. From recent feedback from our guests we were able to determine the importance that an early arrival can be for our travelers. In an effort, both Guest Services and Housekeeping have collaborated together creating new ways to ensure we are honoring early arrivals to the best of our abilities. Thank you again for the review and please join us again next time your travels bring you to Santa Monica.


Thanks,

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I researched this hotel quote thoroughly before I booked and it seemed to offer all the bells and whistles I would expect for the price, however I obviously did not spend enough time on the research as I have rarely been so disappointed. We arrived after a 12 hour flight at 3.30, but our room was not ready. As check in is at 4, I was not too worried, but it was 4.45 until our room was finally ready which is just not acceptable. The front desk were disinterested and unapologetic which did not bode well for our stay.

We had booked a 'suite' (just a normal sized room in my opinion) with partial ocean view for the stay, which was accurate apart for the fact that we overlooked the extractor fans from the restaurant next door and this made sitting on the balcony or keeping the doors open impossible unless you like the smell of recirculated garlic and the constant drone of fans as your accompaniment to the Pacific Ocean.

The room was not made up properly - missing toiletries, no corkscrew and our request for wine glasses yielded plastic tumblers which while ok for a holiday inn is not something I would expect from a hotel charging 450$ a night.

The next day continues in much the same vein - room not serviced until 4pm, lack of interest from the front desk - just poor management and customer service all round.

Be warned - this hotel has NO facilities. Tiny pool, no bar, outsourced room service, tiny bathrooms with very little privacy and a couldn't give a damn attitude that is rare for a hotel in this price range.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Tom M,

Here at Shore Hotel we appreciate your honest feedback. I do apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations as I am disappointed to hear about the lack of interest and attentiveness from our staff. I can assure you that this is not the norm from our property and in no way excepted. On a brighter note I am proud to announce that within the next few months we will be opening our own full service restaurant, bar and lounge on property. Thank you again for your review.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel located opposite Santa Monica Pier. From the moment we pulled up to do valet (self parking is a challenge), we were greeted by friendly and knowledgeable staff. The reception is airy, pleasant and light, the pool area is delightful and the rooms fresh, clean and funky. Santa Monica shopping is a 5 minutes' walk away. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for its decor, staff and location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pier full on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewisstruppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Lewisstruppi,

Thank you for your review. I appreciate the kind words regarding our friendly and knowledgeable staff. It seems you truly enjoyed both our hotel and the surrounding area. We are honored to hear you would without hesitation recommend our property to others. Please join us again soon.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Shore hotel is newer kid on the block for hotels "on the water" in Santa Monica. The location is great if you want to be by the pier, promenade and public access to beach/water.

This hotel is basically an independent version of an aloft (Starwood) with a hefty price tag. Front desk is robotic and not very helpful. Decor is trendy yet cheap. Voyeuristic showers in rooms (though they so have an optional "privacy" shade.) Room service is from around block as they have no restaurant on site. Large grounds with winding hallways without signage can be frustrating. THIN walls and noisy halls even for a heavy city sleeper. There are comfortable beds.

Overall, aesthetic of hotel is attractive when you think "beach" hotel. However, quality of service and accommodations leave much to be desired with price tag. Know that many of the rooms are not oceanfront, but do have balconies.

Not close to a favorite or memorable stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank NYCtravelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

NYCtravelinman,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. I would like to personally apologize if our staff appeared to be robotic and unhelpful. Being a boutique style property and knowing that the personable guest service is a main factor to ensuring an exceptional stay, I am disappointed to know we missed our mark. I will use this feedback to better train our team. Within the next few months we will be opening our onsite restaurant that will offer full room service, please stay tuned. Thank you again.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The location is great!!! close to pier, beach and shopping. Unfortunately the service is not of a premium hotel. It was 4 in the afternoon and the room was not made. once it was done an hour later it was not done properly, used coffee filters were not replaced and empty shampoo was not replaced. The price is high and the service is not worth it. As well the check in was very mediocre, no king bed was provided when we requested the change. Also parking is not free, and rate is pretty high. freeWiFi that is a plus. Not likely to stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Karla B,

I am sorry to hear we dropped the ball during your stay. This is not the norm from our property and I have passed along your review to our Director of Housekeeping who will use this to encourage her team. Guest Services will also being using your review as a coaching tool ensuring that we provide five star service for each guest. I would like to invite you back to join us again as I am confident that your next stay will exceed expectations.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,615 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,669 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
627 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $346 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing