We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern & Great Location”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Auckland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Modern & Great Location”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was really looking forward to the stay at this Hotel as the reviews were excellent. The frustrating part is it didn't start well. The welcome at reception was average and it seemed some people got a welcome drink and not others. Maybe that was due to the fact we had our kids with us, who knows. There was little communication except when pointed out the cost of Valet Parking. I even had to ask directions to the lifts. Maybe a smile next time; I’m a tourist I have a funny accent, surely that is a little interesting.
The rooms are clean, modern and have a very light feel. While on the small size for a family, it's not a show stopper. The pool was relaxing and we enjoyed the spa after a long day. The rest of the staff were friendly which helped me forget about our arrival. One gentleman who looked after the pool was telling us about the history of the Santa Monica Bay. It was very interesting and what a nice guy.
The best feature of this hotel is its location; it's a short walk to the promenade or the pier.
There is no restaurant in the hotel but right next door is the Blue Taco, which serves good Mexican food.
The hotel is not cheap however we enjoyed our stay. The positives out way the negatives and upon check out, reception did credit us a nights Valet Parking for any inconvenience. This was appreciated but being our last stop before we flew back to NZ, we did have high expectations. Oh well thanks Santa Monica and the US for a great family holiday!

Room Tip: Upgrade to beach view, it's not a lot more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Stylie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
1stylie1,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your feedback means a lot to myself and the team. I wanted to apologize for your experience upon arrival. I will bring it to the attention of my team and use it as a training opportunity, so that you or any of our guests, will not experience the same thing. I am happy to hear that the remainder of your stay did go well. Please let me know when you will be back to Santa Monica as I would like to offer a special rate due to the inconvenience you encountered upon arrival. Thank you again for being our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    687
    240
    85
    62
See reviews for
999
795
119
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Shore Hotel is a thoroughly modern hotel in a great location for access to the Pacific Ocean, Santa Monica Pier, restaurants, shopping, the Getty Center, Beverly Hills and Hollywood. The see-through shower walls from the bedroom to the bathroom are interesting. Although there is a pool and a poolside bar, we did not use either but they were appealing. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UwchlanJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
UwchlanJohn,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. Our team strives to ensure that we exceed the expectations of each and every one of our guests. Please let me know when you will make it back to the Santa Monica area! Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We used this hotel for a mini conference. The meeting room was located next to the pool, which can be tantalizing at most and distracting at worst. It is a spartan space but the minimal look keeps you focused on the business on hand. The hotel does not have a dining option other than room service. The Blue Taco is the only option, which we did not try.

Rooms are well appointed with own coffee machines (pity about the cardboard cups... ). Housekeeping seem less particular to remove used glasses etc.

With all this said. We had a good stay. Our room faced the service road, drunks and homeless folk did make overtures on occasions, but when the door was closed this was not too bad. The staff were friendly and obliging to our needs.

Location is excellent. Busses stop on the corner and the proximity to Pacific Place Mall is convenient. We hired bikes on our off day and toured SM which is a great way of exploring the town. Third St promenade is close by too.

Great for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Travelgigg,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our property, as it is a feature that truly enhances your stay. I would like to apologize for the used coffee cup that was left in your room. It is certainly not acceptable for us to have missed this significant detail. With your feedback, our team will strive to make the necessary improvements. Additionally, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at Shore Hotel and hope that you make us your destination of choice when visiting Santa Monica. Thank you for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Shore Hotel was pure serendipity for us. From the moment we walked through the crystal clear doors and looked around to see all of Santa Monica welcoming me from behind the glass curtain, I was mesmerized.
This hip, eco-friendly, modernly appointed seaside gem welcomes you with open arms. Beds are comfortable and the AVEDA put us over the moon. Loved loved loved the shower.
Book your room now, you won't be disappointed.
See you soon, Shore Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Mari H,

We are glad to hear that we were able to provide the " Perfect Getaway" experience. Our team does our best to ensure that our guest receive top of the line service as well as amenities from the moment you arrive, until the moment that you depart. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Shore a couple of times, most recently this past weekend. They were excellent all around! The location is perfect, as it's right on Ocean (across from the beach and famous Santa Monica Pier), within a couple of blocks to all of the fantastic shopping (Promenade and Santa Monica Place), and surrounded by a gazillion great restaurants.
We loved our room which faced directly West, with unobstructed ocean, pier and sunset views. The decor is contemporary and clean, and very comfortable.
We've stayed at several of Santa Monica's best hotels, and I would honestly say the Shore is right up there as one of my favorites. We will definitely be back!
(worthy of mention, they have a pool and jacuzzi, and truly this hotel is great for all ages, occasions, and families too.) Love it!!

Room Tip: Choose one with an ocean view if you can. Worth it!!
See more room tips
Green Features: They're very green, and the focus is apparent throughout the hotel. A nice compliment to Santa Monica, which as a city, is very environmentally conscious.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Lori D,

I am so thrilled to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your trip to our property. Your feedback means a lot to us, as we strive to ensure that we are providing our guests with experiences such as yours! I am hopeful that you will make Shore Hotel your destination of choice when visiting Santa Monica. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Perfect place to stay for those who want a great base to enjoy Santa Monica. It feels as though most people staying there are just there for a couple of nights to enjoy all that Santa Monica has to offer it's.

Its got a brilliant location on Ocean Avenue, looking over the beach and a 2 min walk to all the shops, bars and restaurants.

Where other hotels can offer more of a resort feel and are famous for their bars, restaurants or 'scene', The Shore is perfect for those who are there for Santa Monica, not for the check-in on Facebook.

Saying this the Shore packs a surprising punch.The hotel is 'cool' and has a city type vibe - the photo's don't do it justice. It's contemporary and solidly built with a great feel of the outside in. It's got a good pool - which is average in size for Santa Monica - which you could easily swim in it until 10pm if you so desired.

Hands down, the best shower of my life, Aveda toilettries ( make the shower experience even better) very comfy beds, comfy and contemporary rooms and the snuggliest bathrobes (snuggly was the only word to describe them).

All in all comes highly recommended. Blue Plate taco next door is also a great shout for easy food / drinks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juleski_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
juleski_12,

We appreciate your feedback! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Shore Hotel. Our goal is to ensure that we provide our guests with an experience just as you described. I wanted to mention that in the next few months, we will be completing the addition of our new restaurant. When completed, I would like to invite you back to enjoy our property once again! Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great hotel in the thick of it. Walking distance to all you need in Santa Monica. Staff was great, rooms were modern and clean. Even the waiting area for the valet was a great experience. Love that you are so close to the ocean, pier, shopping and access to the 1 to head up the coast. One down side is if your in a room on the mall side the cell service is spotting if your using AT&T, room 261. This is my new go to when in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: get a room on the ocean side, the mall side can have some noise from the mall traffic and buses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina M, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
tskelton,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy that you enjoyed the benefits of our location! Finding a property that has a beach, restaurants and shops near by is really one of a kind.I am also glad that you were satisfied with the rooms and our service. Our staff also does an excellent job ensuring that our guests only receive 5 diamond service. Thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
961 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,452 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing