We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Contemporary hotel very near to all Santa Monica delights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Contemporary hotel very near to all Santa Monica delights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great hotel who found us a room at the last minute when our other accommodation was double booked at a fair price for the quality .
Lovely spacious room very comfy bed and terrific European shower. Only criticism was paper cups for coffee - why?
Very quiet at the back with sweet balcony to watch the world go by.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely , quieter at the back but no ocean view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not sure I was aware of them , they should have reusable china mugs for coffee not throw away cardboard and though I love individual toiletries they should probably have refillable dispensers to up there green creds.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank champagnecatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Cherie123,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review (your title is quite an honor)! We are thrilled you chose Shore Hotel for your date night getaway! Since the beginning, we have set out to create the perfect balance of style, comfort and service. Knowing we were we able to excel in all three areas with you is a true testament to our team’s dedication! They are an amazing group of hoteliers that truly go above and beyond for each guest. I will certainly pass along your praise to all of them, especially Danielle and Israel. Thanks again for your review and we can’t wait to see you again!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,635
    668
    236
    81
    57
See reviews for
954
770
112
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This place is less than two years old at the moment. We checked in Friday for a hot date night (we live local) and wow, were we impressed. We love modern architecture and this was definitely the place to stay. Great location, weather was warm and perfect. You can walk anywhere from here, don't need a car if you plan on just hanging out around the Promenade. Upon check we met Joel. We asked for an upgrade and we got it. He didn't give us a hard time and we got in our room within minutes. I bought this on Bookit.com for a great rate. We were having so much fun we asked Danielle in Reservations for one more night for the same rate. Grandma brought our son and his friends and they had a great time at the pool and skateboarded the beach and up to Montana Avenue for breakfast. They were booked but she managed to work it out and matched our rate. Upon checkout, Israel gave us great service as well. He took off our valet charge since we asked the invoice to be emailed to us (to save paper). What a nice gesture. The grounds are impeccable, the service was top notch and the Blue Plate restaurant onsite is always AMAZING! We come to this area often since it is such a great area for a date night- can't ever get enough of those. Good job Shore Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good- naturally you can't beat an ocean view room. We liked the back of hotel...
See more room tips
Green Features: This place is definitely green. It shows throughout the hotel. The owners/builders knew what they were doing.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelPro4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Cherie123,

Thank you so much for such an amazing review (your title is quite an honor)! We are thrilled you chose Shore Hotel for your date night getaway! Since the beginning, we have set out to create the perfect balance of style, comfort and service. Knowing we were we able to excel in all three areas with you is a true testament to our team’s dedication! They are an amazing group of hoteliers that truly go above and beyond for each guest. I will certainly pass along your praise to all of them, especially Danielle and Israel. Thanks again for your review and we can’t wait to see you again!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked our room last minute on the Hotel Tonight App and got the room $70 cheaper than the walk-in rate. This hotel is pretty much across the street from the Santa Monica Pier and walking distance to 3rd Street Promenade. Many of the rooms have ocean views. The bathroom has a glass wall (can be covered) that separates it from the bedroom so it has views too. The staff was very friendly.

Why the "4"? Not big deals really but... my husband and I like to watch movies (not porn, mind you) in bed when we stay in hotels. There was no On Demand-type movies available. Also, I think because it is a LEED hotel, the water pressure for the shower was pretty low.

Green Features: I appreciate their conservation practices. It did not affect my visit except noticed the low water pressure in the shower.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Long BeachJack,

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled we were able to play host to you on your overnight getaway from Long Beach. Whether visiting from near or far, we are determined to give you an escape with amazing service. Also, as you noticed the location is truly unbeatable. Everything Santa Monica has to offer is just at your fingertips. We hope to see you soon, and keep in mind that we will soon be adding in room movies to further the experience. Thanks again!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

What a lucky score the Shore hotel was through Priceline. Right at the pier in Santa Monica, walking distance to so much. Park your car and your good for a couple of days worth of walking the sights and shops in the area.
We arrived at 10AM the day of our booking just wanting to park, knowing that our room wasn't going to be ready till the afternoon. Well, no problem for the Shore. They gave us a room at 10AM, parked our car, and offered us a glass of champagne! Awesome! They room we got had a terrific view of the pier, included great internet service, and a fully glassed bathroom which freaked out my kids. Too bad they found the switch that lowered the blind!
Hard to find any faults here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
adognamedrocky,

Thank you for such a favorable review. Each day our team here at Shore strives to create experiences such as the one you had during your time with us. I am glad to hear that we could accommodate the early check in and also ensure you received a room with such a fantastic view. Many guests have come to appreciate our all glass showers which can provide some laughs for the kids and I am thrilled to know your family enjoyed this feature. We hope to have you back some day to enjoy more of our hotel and our five star services. Thank you again!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Location is great, people are so very helpful and the hotel is beautiful. However, the junior suite was so small, for almost $600 a night, I expected a larger room. The amenities are not great either no breakfast or restaurant within the hotel; expensive parking $35 a day; no small kitchenette in room granted a refrigerator that was fully stocked with their own drinks, that we asked be emptied but thats it; and an overall very cramped room. There are several nearby places to eat, but it would be convenient to have some sort of restaurant in the hotel. After eating breakfast at Fig at the Fairmont, I would definitely consider the Fairmont for my next trip to LA.

Green Features: A very environmentally friendly hotel, I believe they won a green award.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpeace1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
dpeace1,

We find your feedback to of value and appreciate your honest review. I apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are transitioning from our early years as a new hotel into a very seasoned competitor in the local area. I am proud to announce that we will soon have our onsite restaurant which will provide food options of the finest caliber which will increase the hotels value ultimately tailoring our guest’s experience. The ability of our Guest Service team members to alter guests experiences based on their needs is always expected and we encourage our guests to contact the front desk with any desires or accommodations they may need. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your time in Santa Monica!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can say I've never stayed at a hotel quite like this one before. Very stylish and modern. Fun experience. The room was clean and the hotel is really close walking distance to everything you could want to do in Santa Monica. The staff was courteous and professional. I've walked by Shore many times and have always wanted to stay at it. I finally got a chance and I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Adam S,

Thank you for the kind review. We are proud to hear how exceptional you found our hotel and the service to be while you were here. Our team strives to create experiences such as the one you encounter while visiting. Please join us again soon to enjoy more of the Shore Culture. Thank you again for the great review!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are a family of four and we stayed for three nights in a two bedroom premier ocean view room, which was not the cheap option!

On arrival we weren't offered champagne but they did give us some after we asked for it! They weren't very forthcoming on offering help with our bags, but did come and take them when we had asked twice!

However, our room was ready at 1pm when check in time should have been 4pm so we were very grateful for that.

The location of the hotel is great as you are only a few minutes walk from the wonderful pier and it is also only a short walk to a big shopping centre which is behind the hotel.

The room was a decent size and the view from the balcony of the pool and the ocean across the road was nice.

However, every night at about 5pm until 11pm they put on loud music next to the pool which was directly below us. This completely ruined our time spent sitting on the balcony as we couldn't sit out and enjoy the view unless we wanted to hear the music as well.

I think the hotel is trying to be trendy and attract lots of young people, but unfortunately this is not a very attractice feature for families who are staying at the hotel!

Luckily we could not hear the music when we closed the door to our room so this did not stop us from sleeping.

The hotel restaurant is very popular and you cannot book a table, even though one of the members of staff offered to book us a table. When we asked again, we were told that actually they can't book tables but they didn't bother getting back to us to tell us that! So we ended up waiting 25 minutes for a table one night, again there was very loud music in the restaurant and although the food was good, the service was slow and the tables were very squashed together so I wouldn't bother waiting!

The hotel provides coffee and pastries only in the morning in the lobby, which I was shocked to learn we had to pay for! Surely, at the amount we paid for our room they could have provided complimentary coffee and pastries!

Apart from the mornings, there is nowhere in the hotel to get drinks, snacks and coffees, apart form the pool bar which seemed to be just a table set up to serve alcohol. They really need a permanent bar/coffee lounge in the lobby which is just a big empty space! (They do have coffee machines in the room, but this wasn't great and there is no milk or cream provided!)

I would recommend the hotel for the location but I think it needs to provide a better service for the price it charges for rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinah_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Wood-Family,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to see areas of improvement. Being a newer hotel, each day we are growing ultimately creating an environment that can pleasing to all. I do encourage you, in the near future, to once again try our hotel. Soon we will be opening our own on property restaurant, we will be offering complimentary coffee and we will be rolling out our permanent bar. Thank you for your patience as we grow into an established hotel. We hope to see you soon. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,318 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing