We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The shore hotel in Santa Monica was the best out of our whole trip from east coast to the west. We were made feel welcome by the staff.The hotel has a great green feel and with a look that is refreshing and new.
We had fantastic views of the Santa Monica pier and The pacific ocean.
The location is great, close to everything and in walking distance to the pier, Venice beach, night life, shops, cinemas, and a endless choice of restaurants.
The hotel does have a newly opened restaurant called the blue plate taco which we were going to try but run out of time. It was always busy.
There are so many great choices of dining options close by.
We were given a late check out on request as our flight was in the evening.
It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in for our trip, but sometimes you gotta go out with a bang.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sparkles2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Sparkles82,

Thank you so much for your review. Seeing that you are a Senior Contributor, we are truly honored to receive such praise from you. Your title certainly says it all, ‘Location location.’ Being just steps from the famous Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade, our location simply cannot be beat. Also, I will pass along your praise to the entire staff. Making each guest feel welcome and cared for is second nature to all of them and I know they will be extremely happy to read this review. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,896)
There are newer reviews for Shore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,813 - 1,819 of 2,896 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

The grand view of Santa Monica Beach and pier is just the first thing you notice at Shore Hotel. THe unique layout of the rooms and eco-friendly service keep Shore Hotel above the rest. This was my very first stay in Santa Monica and upon my return, will only stay here. THe front desk is extremely friendly and provided us some insight on the great local restaurants and bars. THe hotel is very clean, comfortable and easy to get to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Erin999,

Thank you for your review. Calling us the ‘Best Hotel in Santa Monica’ is truly an honor. Our staff is definitely the best in Santa Monica and they will be thrilled they contributed to this amazing review. Also, thank you so much for mentioning our eco-friendliness. Being the only gold LEED-certified hotel in Santa Monica is something we take great pride in. Santa Monica is an amazing destination, and we do our best to preserve its beauty. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My second stay at the Shore was during a road trip undertaken by Myself and my now Wife.
We were on our way to Vegas to get married.
The Shore is clean, extremely comfortable and the location is second to none.
What really makes this hotel my only real choice when visiting Santa Monica and L.A. is the staff.
Always attentive, friendly and go above and beyond the call of duty (Derek and Brandy ... you rock!).
It's just brilliant at the Shore, and I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dan B,

Thank you so much for your return visit and thank you once again for an amazing review. We are thrilled that we have become your only choice for Santa Monica. As you stated, our amazing team truly go above and beyond for each guest making all the difference in the world! They know that they must create an experience rather than a typical hotel stay. Knowing we did this with you is a true testament to all their dedication. I will certainly pass along your praise, especially to Derek and Brandi. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Shore Hotel a year ago and loved it but a year later, you never know if it still lives up to the memory. May I say unequivocally, it still is one of the great gems in the Los Angeles area and definitely the best hotel in Santa Monica. Lindsy at the reception/check in was again incredibly helpful, friendly, and accommodating. So happy that she still is there and hope that she will be there the next time we stay there. The rooms are perfect, warm, and comfortable. All the staff are very nice. If you get a chance, stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRP2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you so much for your review and return visit! We are overjoyed that we were able to welcome you as a repeat VIP guest this time. Also I am thrilled we were able to still give you the same amazing experience as your previous stay. Many times with newer properties, momentum and excitement is lost after the initial opening with guest services, but as you can see, that certainly is not the case with us. We truly have an amazing team that is always dedicated to making each guest’s stay memorable. I will pass along your praise to all of them, especially Lindsy. Thanks again and we hope to see you a third time or more!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

At first I really wanted to stay at the Viceroy, but he prices were just more than we wanted to pay for the three of us (my husband and I and our 11-year-old son). I like a bright hotel with clean, modern lines, and the Shore was perfect! The location was even better than the Viceroy, just steps to all the shops, restaurants and the Pier. Our room overlooked the pool and had a partial view of the Ocean and the Pier, just perfect. The pool was not overrun with people at all, in fact it felt intimate. And the room was quiet, no noise from the pool or street. Ithe hotel staff was so helpful and friendly. I LOVED our experience and was so glad we ended up here. And the price was really good considering our location and what we got.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nippynapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

nippynapper,

Thank you for such a kind review. On behalf of our team we thank you for the gracious comments regarding our property. We agree that our location cannot be beat and that our clean design create an inviting presence. Each day our team of professional hoteliers strive to create an environment appealing to all. I am glad to also hear how wonderful and intimate you found our poolside deck to be. Please join us again next time your travels bring you to Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great hotel right across from the Santa Monica Pier and near 3rd Street Promenade which has lots of shopping and restaurants. We stayed 3 nights and had a blast! The hotel does not have a restaurant, but there are plenty of those close by. I was afraid of the noise level but we were tucked back in the back of the hotel, with still a view of the water. If you are on the street or by the pool, you may encounter street or pool noise. I would come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Shelly L,

Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during you visit to Santa Monica. We appreciate your kind words regarding our property. It sounds like you took full advantage of all that both our hotel and the city have to offer. We are glad to know you enjoyed yourself so much that you would stay with us again. We look forward to your next stay, thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My partner and i decided to take a drive to Santa Monica this was the first hotel that stood out. Great location! Amazing view! Great staff! Loved the shower! I loved this hotel very new and clean! Dianne whom helped us was absolutely amazing, very helpful! I recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Santa Monica's!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,071 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $382 - $569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing