We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great price, hip digs!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Shore hotel recently for my birthday and is was amazing! Lindsay at the front desk was so helpful and got us a great price on the room. We had a beautiful ocean view and were so close to all the best Santa Monica attractions. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone and stay there again myself!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank english_whitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

English_whitney,

Thank you for staying with us to celebrate your birthday. We are thrilled to know your stay was amazing and provided the perfect touch to help create a great birthday. I will pass along your praise to Lindsy as she will be glad to hear from you. She is definitely an asset to our hotel. Thank you for recommending our property and we look forward to hosting your next birthday as well. Please join us again soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,952 - 1,958 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hotel is stylish, the location is awesome, and the staff is very courteous and informative. My husband and I stayed only 1 night on a tues. for our 31st wedding anniversary. It was perfect, we didn't have to deal with the weekend crowds. We had a front ocean view room. The view of the ocean, pier, and ferris wheel make you speechless, especially at night. Restaurants, activities, forgotten necessities, all within walking distance.
We were very impressed with the staff!!! They were very friendly, courteous, and helpful. We had narrowed our dining location to two choices for that evening, and we asked Dallana for her opinion, and she suggested BOA, and even offered to make a reservation for us. The rooms were very clean, and stocked with snacks, non-alcoholic beverages and alcoholic beverages. When the staff found out we were celebrating our anniversary, they sent complimentary champagne to our room. (Very Thoughtful)
Our son works at the hotel, and has told us numerous times to stay there, that we would enjoy ourselves. He was right, we had a great experience! I definitely would recommend The Shore Hotel!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Edie A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As the Front Office Manager I am pleased to hear how courteous and informative you found our team of professional hoteliers to be. I will pass along your praise to Dallana as she will be happy to hear how she made all the difference in your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your complimentary champagne during your anniversary celebration. Please join us again soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

First, service was incredible. At check in we were given a glass of champagne while our keys were being printed and the details were being squared away. Nice touch. My only gripe with the hotel would be the layout is a bit confusing (we had to ride two different elevators to get to our room). Other than that, the place has a very high-end boutique feel. The room was quite amazing. There was a rainfall shower head in a huge walled in glass space (with retractable privacy screen), the bathroom design was high-end, and there were other neat amenities. We had a walk out patio that ended in a huge private courtyard. Another nice tough! There were heaters, tables and fountains. It was really beautiful out there. The location of the hotel is perfect. Your basically right at the exit to the pier. There's plenty of dining and entertainment all around. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground level in the second building have outdoor patios that access a private courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beng55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Beng55,

From your review it is great to see how accommodating you found your stay to be. I really enjoyed viewing the pictures which you also attached to the review. Santa Monica definitely has a unique appearance which can be greatly captured through a lens. Also, we are glad to know you found our champagne check in to be a nice touch and that you thoroughly enjoyed our courtyard and garden. Thank you again for the kind review.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is my kind of hotel! Perfect and memorable experience. Fancy, modern and stylistic, with a fantastic location, in front of Santa Monica Beach and half block away from the Pier and all the other main attractions. Everything in this hotel works perfectly. The staff, the pool, the gym center, the car parking, the elevators, the lobby. This is definately a design hotel. It is not cheap, but is worth the money you pay. Rooms are modern, confortable and the bathrooms are outstanding. The hotel is very clean! I stayed with wife and daughters and we had this unanimous opinion that this was one of the best hotels we ever stayed! If you are visiting Santa Monica, you got the place! No regrets.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FelipeCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

FelipeCuesta,

Thank you for your review. We are proud to know you found our hotel as the perfect escape and a great experience. We strive daily to provide guests with a lasting memory of their stay which allows travelers with cherished thoughts of Santa Monica and Shore Hotel. Thank you for also recommending our property to potential guests who are looking for the perfect place to stay while visiting the area. We invite you and your family to once again join us here potentially enjoying more of our Shore Culture!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here during Memorial Day Weekend after a business trip.

Service:
Check-in was friendly, but room was not ready on time. We received a room upgrade since our room was not ready.

Room:
Enjoyed the room layout. My husband and I were in an Ocean View room and I highly recommend booking this type of room. The view was excellent. Could see the Pier and ocean and good people watching. The shower can see through to the view and offers a privacy shade, if desired. Good working room on the sink counter. Bed and pillows were comfortable. Good space in the room for bags. Sat out on the balcony and enjoyed the view throughout the day and in the evening.

Location:
Location is wonderful. Extremely close to the Pier, bike rentals, great restaurants, the beach, and the mall.

Valet Service:
Missed the mark. Our bags were lost by the valet team. Eventually found, but did cause some distress. When paid and trying to leave the hotel, the gate system broke and our departure was stressful and delayed.

Pool:
Average. Enjoyed sunning myself. Pool is certainly not private by any means. Folks waling on the street can look in. Rooms all look out on the pool. Pool and ambiance all just average. I feel there could be improvements made here.

Overall:
The location and room comfort would incline me to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cranberryAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

cranberryAli,

Thank you for staying with us during your Memorial Day Weekend, we are glad you were able to find a nice escape after your business trip. As a Senior Contributor we appreciate your review which helps provide readers with insight to you most recent experience with us. We apologize that Valet failed to impress and will use your review as constructive criticism allowing us to see areas that may need improving. Thank you again for the review. Please join us again soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one Saturday night in June 2013 at a jetsetter rate of around $300 per night. I called prior to our stay to request an early check-in of 12 noon and although our king garden view room wasn't ready yet upon our arrival, the front desk manager assigned us a garden view king bed junior suite to accommodate our early arrival. Nice first impression.

Positives
- A glass of sparkling wine at check-in.
- Relatively new hotel - We read a sign in the elevator saying that it was completed in November 2011.
- Helpful and polite staff - Bellhop helped us with our wifi when he dropped off the bags. Front desk filled up 2 bags of ice for us to put in our cooler at check out.
- No problems with valet- the car was ready everytime we went down to get the car. Nice lounge area in the parking garage while they get your car.
- Location - it was right on ocean avenue, on the same block directly across the street from the pedestrian entrance of Santa Monica Pier.
-The Room - clean and spacious. Lighting was adequate. There were enough towels (4 large, 3 medium, 3 wah cloths and 1 foot). the shower had a ceiling rainfall shower head and the peep window was easy enough to cover with the electronic pull down shade. there was a safe, full body length mirror and iron and board. Only one robe, but its okay because we didn't use it. The front desk also let us empty out the mini bar onto the dresser so that we could put our own stuff in the refrigerator.
- Junior Suite - We snuck a peak of a vacant regular room while it was being cleaned and noted that the difference between the junior suite and regular room may be that the suite had a little extra nook big enough to have a full length sofa and coffee table. Also we noticed that our balcony was L shaped (maybe more space?).
- Quiet Room - Despite being right next to the elevator and ice machine, the only noise we heard were people passing by the door. Keep in mind that we were in the second building and so we were next to the second building elevator, which through our experience did not have access to the lobby. Therefore there wasn't much traffic from this elevator.

Issues for us but may not be for others:
- Breakfast Trick- We thought that the morning pastries were complimentary, since there were no price signs on the pastry table . But they were $4.50 each, as cleverly stated on almost the last line of the drink menu on the bar counter. Very sneaky.
- No Cell Signal - We got absolutely no service for AT&T in the second (garden view) building. We got AT&T service in the lobby.
- No beach equipment to loan to guests - no umbrellas or boogie boards - I'm okay with that, but at least provide us with beach towels. They did not allow us to use the room towels either.
- My wallet is still sore - With the $35 parking, room and taxes, it came out to be almost $400 per night . Just because I loved my stay, doesn't mean I didn't cringe when I checked out. In my opinion this is a mid $200 hotel (regarding room amd amenities) but location really gives it the ability for the extra few hundred dollar mark-up.

Other things to know
- The garden view really was quiet as some have said before in other reviews.
- The garden was, to me, an outdoor lounge area with what looked like wicker lounge chairs and couches along with a few tables and fire heat lamps, surrounded by a few planted plants and a nice fence. If you were above the first floor (we were on the second) the real view beyond the "garden" was of the alleyway between the first and second building and the back parking lot of the Ivy Restaurant where you might have been able to catch celebrities sneaking out the back. In between the shore hotel and ivy we were able to see a glimpse of the ocean from the suite L shaped balcony.
- There are beach equipment rentals on the bike path on the beach. We rented from Perry's Cafe but make sure to bring your id and a credit card to put on hold and then cash because that's all they take.
- check-in time was 4 pm
- Aveda bath amenities (same as Hotel Indigo, I believe).

Overall if you can afford it or get an incredible deal, then this hotel is worth the stay. Enjoy Santa Monica!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaySFtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

BaySFtraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear your early arrival and Junior Suite provided a great first impression. We understand the importance of an early arrival and do our best to accommodate our guests even if it requires an upgraded room. Your review was in-depth providing great details of your stay and we are pleased to know majority of the mentioned were of positive experiences. Please join us again next time and thank you for staying with us while visiting Santa Monica.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

What a beautiful hotel, the location is unbelievable moments from the pier, beach, bus stops, 3rd promenade shopping!

The hotel is super clean, we stayed in a partial sea view room with views that just took your breath away, decoration was to a very high standard and the shower/bathroom situation is just fab! (Won't spoil the surprise as I didn't know before we arrived and loved that little touch!)

The staff were exceptional, all super helpful, were cheerful, helpful and polite.

My partner and I had an amazing time and will 100% be returning to this hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KellyRebecca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for such an outstanding review. The fact that you had ‘the most amazing experience’ is beyond rewarding. Since the beginning we have had the goal of creating an experience rather than a typical ‘stay.’ To do this, we knew that we would have to provide an amazing product with excellence service. As you noticed the staff truly goes above and beyond to insure complete guest satisfaction and that simply makes all the difference. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
426 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $360 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing