We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during our 3 week honeymoon tour of California. After the drive from san Diego it was lovely to arrive at the airy, spacious lobby and to have the car swiftly taken care of.
Unfortunately check in was not so efficient as we had a 5 minute wait due to a queue and only one staff member on duty.

The room was an ocean view looking directly onto the pier and beach. it was well equipped with a good bathroom and lovely shower. However the rooms are fairly small and therefore compact.
The windows are very well glazed and any street noise is blocked when the doors are closed.

The pool area is well kept and comfortable.

The hotel is perfectly situated for shopping and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance.
It could benefit from an inhouse restaurant and bar, and with these limited facilities, and size of room, we felt it did not offer the same value for money as the other 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in during our tour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Benarchie,

We are thrilled we were able to be your Santa Monica host during your honeymoon travels, and thank you so much for your review. Your title certainly describes our location, perfect. We are perfectly situated on Ocean Ave. in between the pier and promenade which allows access to the beach and hundreds of shops and restaurants. Also, as you noticed, it makes for an amazing view from our Ocean Premiere balconies.

I do apologize that no one pointed out to you our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco. If you ever visit us again you have to try it. Also, very shortly we will have our own bar and lounge that will be open to the public and guests. Currently we have our pool bar that all guests seem to enjoy, but soon we will have an even more comfortable place for a late night cocktail and snack. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,733
    696
    244
    87
    65
See reviews for
1,022
803
121
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (751)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The pool area and the jacuzzi are both fantastic BUT if you want to use the pool and jacuzzi you need to be lucky!
During our stay of 9 days, the pool and the jacuzzi were closed for hotel guests 3 times because of some kind of private events for almost the whole day! Apart from that one of those private events (some kind of disco party) started at 11 pm am ended at 2 am. They played music at full volume which made it impossible for us to sleep at all until the party was over.
In my opinion, the hotel is far too expensive to accept the fact that the hotel just closes the pool area whenever it wants and let people have their private events at night playing music at full volume!
Still, the hotel is located very close to the beach, the pier and 3rd promenade. The rooms are very clean and nice and the employees are all very friendly and always try their best to meet all your needs.
The ambiente of the hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love-holidayxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Love-holidayxxx,
Thank you so much for review. I am thrilled we were able to wow you with our rooms, employees and location! As you noticed our staff truly is second to none. They are an amazing group of hoteliers that know every guest deserves the utmost in care and resect. Going above and beyond is simply our standard. Also, thank you so much for pointing out our fabulous location. Being just steps from the famous Santa Monica pier and also Third Street Promenade, it definitely cannot be beat.
I also would like to apologize about our pool being closed during your stay. We have a red carpet charity event that we host once a year, and unfortunately it happened during your stay. We kept the pool open until 7pm, however I do apologize you could not fully enjoy it until 11pm. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from 3 days in Santa Monica - we chose the Shore mainly based on its location. The rooms are well appointed and having a view of the ocean was a bonus. There is a make shift bar positioned in the lobby that just doesn't work although I understand the hotel have applied for planning permission for a more suitable solution. Our plans on the last day were unfortunately derailed because the hotel blocked off access to the pool area from 2pm to host a corporate event. In our view we thought this was unfair, there was no notification on booking of such a large scale event or even on the day.When we spoke to the hotel manager about not being able to take advantage of the pool and sun bathing facility it was suggested that we go over the road to the public pool. The pool area remained out of bounds to guests until after 1030 that evening. Given the room rate of $499 per night + taxes and with already reduced facilities there wont be a return visit.

Room Tip: stayed on 2nd floor and wanted to do without a/c - the road is very busy however from 4am the traffi...
See more room tips
Green Features: all well and good but it didn't stop the hotel from employing a contractor to jet wash the pool area for 2 hours and at the cost of hundreds of gallons of water
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheadleHulme79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
CheadleHulme79,

Thank you so much for review. Every guest review is extremely important to us for it allows us to know how we are performing on every level. We are certainly thrilled you were able to enjoy a view of the ocean from your room. As you noticed, the hotel was made with many angled balconies to allow for an ocean view from almost every room in the hotel. The lobby bar you mentioned has been moved outside to the pool and we are in plans of making an actual lounge/ bar in the hotel for guests and even outside guests. Lastly, I do apologize your plans were changed due to the pool being closed. These instances are extremely rare and we do our best to make it up the guests or give alternative options. I believe I sent you a personal email regarding this review in hopes of making it up to you. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend, and we were very impressed. The hotel is modern and very clean, and the staff is excellent. Diana at the front desk was very helpful and extremely courteous. The location is perfect, across the street from the pier and a two minute walk to the third street promenade with many shops and restaurants. The hotel does not have room service, which is actually not necessary because of the location. Now we are spoiled... next time we are in Santa Monica this is where we want to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbsotiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
nbsotiri,

Thank you for providing viewers with a glimpse of your stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our great location, clean appointed rooms and exceptional staff. I will pass along your praise to Dallana as she will be excited to hear how she made all the difference during your stay. We are pleased to know how spoiled and pampered you felt during your time at Shore. Please join us again soon to experience more of our five star culture. Thank you again and we will see you soon!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night. Location is excellent and decor is modern. Hotel close to the beach and shopping areas. However, the hotel is lacking a restaurant and has no lounge. No where to have breakfast. Room clean but quite small.
I must say that staff were excellent and very nice to deal with and I am happy with the way they addressed our concerns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
M2266,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. I am glad to hear how accommodating and pleasant you found our staff to be during your stay. However I am disappointed to know we lacked to provide you with all the amenities you desired. We do have Blue Plate Taco on site for lunch and dinner, offer a coffee/ pastry bar for our guests as a breakfast option and have an in room dining option for breakfast, lunch and dinner. I apologize if we failed to inform you of these options during your stay as it is our responsibility. I invite you back again to enjoy our great employees and also to try our dining options. Thank you again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My fiance and I had just got engaged, and we wanted to celebrate by spending a night at the beach. After doing some research, we decided that The Shore was going to be our romantic getaway!

Upon arrival we were blown away by the stunning architecture and the beautiful lobby. Not only did they have an early check in available...Lindzee even gave us a complimentary upgrade! She was so warm and welcoming, and was nice enough to set up a dinner reservation for us as well. We were given a cold glass of champagne to take up the room, and Joel helped us with our bags. The room was perfect, and the ocean view was absolutely breathtaking (I definitely recommend the rooms right in the front of the hotel).

The Shore is clean, modern, luxurious....and yet you're still at the beach within walking distance to everything! And the staff was so welcoming and helpful, we felt right at home. Our only complaint is that we were only able to stay one night. This hotel is a must try, and worth every penny. We will definitely be back! Thank you Shore Hotel for making our engagement so special!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms in the very front, the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyKswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
MissyKswartz,

We are honored that we were able to play a part in your engagement celebration! On behalf of the entire Shore Hotel team, I’d like to say, ‘Congratulations!’ Also, thank you so much for the wonderful review. Our Guest Services team sets out to go above and beyond for each guest insuring complete guest satisfaction. Knowing we were able to do this with you is a true testament to our team’s commitment in making every guest’s Shore Hotel experience a memorable one. I will certainly pass along your praise to all of them, especially Lindsy and Joel. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night after a long haul flight from New Zealand. It was a great experience - we were upgraded to a suite which was very quiet with a lovely comfortable bed and lots of space to relax in. We had a view out over neighbouring apartments to the pier. A late lunch at the blue plate was tasty and reasonably priced. The hotel is very close to 3rd promenade and we had a delicious dinner at Tender Greens ( highly recommended!)
The shower/ bathroom are lovely with good water pressure. We will definitely return!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suzynelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Suzynelson,

Thank you so much for your review! We are thrilled we were able to give you comfortable accommodations after your long haul from New Zealand! Providing comfort and relaxation is a must when traveling, so being able to do this for you is a great accomplishment. Also, I’m thrilled we were able to upgrade you to a suite. They are double the size of our standard rooms and certainly allow for even more comfort! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,558 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
996 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#12 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,502 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing