We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here for 9 nights on our 4th visit to Santa Monica, we had a fantastic time and could not fault this hotel. It's location is first class, elevated position means you are a 2 minute walk from the Pier/beach and 3rd Street Promenade shopping.
We chose to upgrade to an Ocean View room at check-in which meant we could enjoy a fabulous outlook.
The staff were excellent, being polite and helpful when needed, excellent service without dramas, very-much in keeping was a relaxing vacation. We will definitely return for another visit and this hotel will be the first that we look to book with.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

AndrewR,

On behalf of the entire staff, I would like to thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled we were able to give you an ‘outstanding’ experience. Our talented group of hoteliers set out to create a memorable stay for every guest. As you noticed, being polite and helpful can truly make all the difference. Also, I am glad you were able to upgrade to one of our breathtaking ocean view rooms. Having an amazing location right above the beach certainly makes for a stunning view! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,005 - 2,011 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Only stayed for 2 nights as it was part of a round the world trip but have to say it was a Highlight of my trip.

From check-in Stevie and her colleagues are some of the most helpful reception staff I've encountered.

The rooms are excellent, not over the top in decoration - they don't need to be and the Aveda products in the shower is an excellent touch.

The fact that this hotel has won awards for its Environmental policy speaks volumes and it shows that all members of staff are very proud of it.

So pleased to have stayed at this little gem of a Hotel and cannot wait to visit again !

Room Tip: Rooms facing the coast line will obviously offer a nice view ... but the room I had towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Andrew T,

We are thrilled we were able to play a part in your trip around the world! Also, thank you so much for writing such an amazing review. Our Guest Services team is comprised of amazing hoteliers that truly care about each guest’s happiness. Their dedication to providing excellent service without the stiffness generally associated with Four Diamond properties is truly remarkable. Also, our Gold LEED certification is something we take great pride in for we know we are helping save our environment. I am thrilled you were able to see the pride exuding from the entire team. I will pass along your praise to all of them, especially Stevie. Thanks again and we hope to see you very soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

In April my wife and myself spent 10 days at the Shore Hotel. I had just left UCLA after a dramatic heart incident at the L.A. Airport. The staff were most helpful in downloading documents and helping us organise flights back to Australia. The position in Santa Monica is ideal with easy access to the Pier, shops and eateries. The staff at the front desk were most helpful and easy to approach.

Room Tip: Room 411 was an excellent room with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pryan132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Pryan13,

Providing top notch service and going above and beyond for each guest has been our goal since opening. Knowing we succeeded in doing so with you is truly astonishing. Also, being a boutique property, we have the honor of getting to know our guests on a more personal level. Your husband and you definitely earned a special place in our hearts and we are overjoyed your situation ended on a positive note. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Location on Ocean Ave but for a modern hotel it did not have any wow factors. The rooms are clean and tidy and functional an added bonus was that our room had access to a communal garden area which made the room seem larger and at night gas heaters were lit which was a nice touch.

We could access 2nd street through the back of the hotel which was a bonus not having to walk through to the lobby and back around the block. Worth taking this short cut to buy coffee and a bite in the morning at $5 for a pastry in the Lobby I thought that was a little rich.

Room Tip: Rooms with access to the small garden was a nice touch and for the location it was very quiet in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Tracy P,

Thank you for your review. First, I would like to apologize that we were not able to ‘wow’ you as we have with so many other guests. Anything less than extraordinary is simply not enough. On a more positive note, thank you for your kind words on our unbeatable location and comfort. We designed the garden in building B to give our guests a quiet sanctuary to be able to relax and escape from the stresses of everyday life. Knowing you were able to enjoy that area is definitely rewarding. Thanks again and we hope you give us a another chance to ‘wow’ you.

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over spring break with our 3 children. The positives are the location and the newness of the hotel. We loved the location, right across from the Santa Monica Pier and walking to tons of shopping and restaurants. This is a new hotel and it seems they haven't worked out all of the kinks. We had booked 2 adjoining rooms well in advance but when we arrived they had us in 2 rooms down the hall from each other and the rooms weren't ready. This was unacceptable as we were traveling with children! They took our cell number and told us they would call when the could find us our rooms. After waiting for a long time we finally checked back. They couldn't find us adjoining rooms but they could at least get us in rooms next to each other. At this point only one of the rooms was available but we took it. We had been traveling all day and were exhausted. It took over an hour to get into the second room. The rooms are very nice, new and clean though our view was not good. Other issues we ran into during our stay: the store in the lobby is never open, there is no breakfast available onsite, they charged us for parking on both of our rooms even though we had one car, there was only ever one person at the front desk so there was always a line. I did get an email from the manager apologizing for our issues and offering a very minimal credit. I was amazed when we didn't get the credit and I had to follow up with him. He no longer works there so another manager emailed me back. We'll see if I ever get that credit!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Travelerwithkids,

Thank you for your most recent review. You are correct that we are a newer hotel and are still growing each day, finding ways to improve constantly. Our team is committed to excellence and we appreciate your patience as we set out to create a flawless environment for our guests.

In regards to a few mentions in your review, I apologize your expectations were not met. Unfortunately our hotel does not guarantee adjoining rooms and again I apologize if you were misinformed during the time you made the booking as adjoining rooms are a request and not a guarantee. Our team always makes the effort to honor all requests and majority of the time we can but for this particular request we regret to know our team could not honor the request for your family with adjoining rooms. In our industry sometimes there are unforeseen incidences that occur which can prevent requests from being honored. At our hotel, if we could not match a request we will do anything possible to help find other solutions such as rooms right next door to each other which we were able to do for your family. I do understand how one can confuse requests from guarantees when booking a room and I completely understand your frustration.

Also, we do have a breakfast bar on site in the morning from 7 am - 11:30 am with fresh coffee and pastries daily and with all the close restaurants near by we have many great recommendations within a few minutes walk one of which gives our hotel guests 10% off. We also offer in room dining for breakfast, lunch or dinner and if we were unable to inform you about these options I apologize.

You also mentioned about a credit from the hotel. I am not sure what was offered to you from a previous manager but I would like to rectify this problem and officially invite you back to experience the true nature of our staff and hotel. We value all of our guests and are very displeased to know we did not creating an inviting environment during your stay. I will personally contact your account so we can further discuss your concerns and also find a time for you and your family to return, making sure all expectations are met. Thank you again for the review and I look forward to continuing our quest to make you a believer of Shore Hotel culture.

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thank you Shore Hotel for merging environmental awareness and chic design. We loved seeing the beautiful hotel monogram recreated in tile on the bottom of the pool and turned into a pattern as wallpaper. The glass wall lobby lounge framing killer ocean views is brilliant an we appreciated the little details in our ground floor room like ample space for our sundries in the bath and a bright, fresh sleeping space.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisarhodeisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Lisarhodeisland,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you were able to appreciate our environmental awareness. We are truly honored to be the only LEED Gold Certified hotel in Santa Monica and do our best to give back to this amazing city. Along with our LEED certification, our hotel has also been awarded numerous hospitality design and architecture awards. As you noticed, the aesthetics and design of our hotel are simply remarkable. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during April and its a great hotel. So close to 3rd street promenade shops and the water is at your door step. The reason I gave the rooms a 4 was due to there size, they were very small for USA standards but well appointed and maintained

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EKandBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

EKandBK,

Knowing you are a seasoned contributor on Trip Advisor our team is proud to know we met all your expectations during your recent stay with us, dispute the size of our rooms. Our team and majority of our guests agree that the location of our property is prime allowing guests with access to everything Santa Monica has to offer at the foot of our door. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels to the area. Please join us again soon, we look forward to your return!

Joseph Heywood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
426 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $362 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing