We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Hotel!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT Hotel!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My first time staying at the Shore and I will be back...... exclellent service, great modern architecture, fun staff, stellar views, comfortable matresses, and the some of the best restaurants in SOCAL within a short walk...Ivey's, Noku, Season 52 to name drop a few. Celebrities everywhere btw.

The water in SOCAL is a bit of a problem and that the only suggestion I would have for the Shore. The water pressure in the rainheads is dismal, and it took me 30 minutes to get some of my shampoo out of my hair.

I'll mention Stevie and Randall as great reps for the Shore. They went way beyond the call, and it was evident they are proud to work and serve others at The Shore. Hope tp see you guys again soon!

Room Tip: anything facing Santa Monica Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Melissas104,

Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Tennessee. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie and Randall who have been with us since our opening and are great ambassadors of our Shore brand. We are pleased to hear you will be returning at which point the same levels of passionate and personable service will greet you!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    687
    240
    85
    62
See reviews for
999
795
119
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is one of the best for visiting Santa Monica-Venice-Santa Barbara-Los Angeles Area.

A magnificent place that blends the small-hotel charm and service with the chic-upscale sensation of an architecturally interesting place with nice amenities.

First thing that called our attention was that after completing the short check-in process, the lady that was taking care of us walked out from behind the front desk to have a better vis-à-vis contact and hand our room keys. A first and a most desirable detail that many places (hotels and else) could emulate.
This kind of service prevailed during our whole stay and is the main reason to back our strong recommendation for you to go there. ¡Some nights we came back with bags from shopping and the staff took them to our room so we could go straight to dinner!
Even though they made a little mistake with the final bill statement, they promptly solved it, which gave us the impression that they are not perfect but just have an honest will to please the customer in a readily way. Welcome and congrats!

We could summarize that the Shore Hotel has two main advantages and one drawback:
1) Location. It is incredibly good, just in the left corner of the same block is the entrance to Santa Monica Pier. A closer hotel is impossible. Also, if you just walk to the right and then two blocks to the right again you will be in the 3rd. street promenade; an All-Californian place with live music in the streets, big-blitz-stores and small local interesting stores, nice places, brand places, everything you can imagine for a nicest stroll among interesting people.
2) Comfort. Even though rooms are a bit small (not a real concern) the whole place is nice, with 3 elevators that eliminate the Las Vegas-style distances from room-to-elevator and an interesting arrangement inside the room like having the shower surrounded by glass (don't worry there is a motorized "modesty curtain" as they graciously call it)
The place is very clean and with good taste in decor and architecture. It counts with very practical elements as a back-street exit/entrance that puts you steps away from the bike rental center and the 3rd. street promenade.
3) Drawback: Price. Not much to say. It is a little expensive, still it is worth the money. Compared to Shutters or Casa del Mar, the Shore Hotel has a better location that does not force you to take your car or catch a cab to get to Farmer's Market, 3rd. Street promenade, and shopping centers/dinner places.


If you are interested in some information about your leisure visit to Santa Monica/LA, mainly with kids keep on reading:

1. Stay at Santa Monica. Even if you plan to visit Hollywood, Knott's and Disney, the Getty Center and all the obligated LA attractions, stay next to the beach: It is nicer and it always give you the option to walk in the Pier, breathe fresh air and take a look at the not so glamorous as Hollywood but still Californian surf and beach culture.

2. Hollywood. Walking, looking at the "floor stars", witnessing the Graumans Theater is a thing that you must do. It will take more time than what you think, 2 hours minimum. A good idea of you are driving is to get the closer to the area and park in public parking lots that are around there. The regular fee is $10 for the day or fraction. Much better than trying to find a spot in the street and paying the parkmeter. Once you finish your walking go to the Disney Soda Fountain for and ice-cream or something more robust, you’ll like it.

3. Getty Center. One thing: Visit it during daytime hours. For some strange reason the garden is not lighted during the evening, so even when the place closes at 22:00 hours it is better to be there during daylight time. Don't miss it; just the architecture is worth the trip but then, the artistic content is remarkable. Fit for all family. Nice restaurants there, more than your usual museum/library coffee shop, if you arrange your schedule to have lunch or early dinner there is a good idea

4. Griffith Observatory. A MUST with or without kids. Take time to pay attention, read and enjoy the exhibits. Attend at least one film of the ones presented at the observatory. Rule number one before attending: Learn what a Foucault Pendulum is, what it stands for and what does it mean. Why? Because it is the first thing that will greet you when entering the building, and lots of people are there trying to decipher what it is. The parking lot of the observatory is small and easily gets crowded but even when you will read elsewhere that you may park in the ascending route keep on driving until you reach the formal parking. This is because the street over there is very steep and walking even a small distance may be tough.

5. Beverly Hills. A visit to LA or even to California without being in the 90210 Zip Code is incomplete. Try Nate and Al's (414 North Beverly Drive) and BY ALL MEANS have the pastrami sandwich in egg bread, whatever you do, don't skip this. There is a public parking place right in front of the street.

6. You will read elsewhere about Disney, Knott's Berry Farm, Universal Studios and all that. Just a cautionary note: If you are attending Knott's Berry Farm because of Snoopy or because one of your kids loves Snoopy just don't go. The "Snoopy" area is VERY limited. Can you imagine that inside Knott's Berry Farm ("The Snoopy Park") they give out stuffed Mickey Mouse dolls instead of Snoopy in the Arcades and shoot-and-win challenges? A little disappointing.

7. Bicycling along the coast. You may like bikes or not. You may be an experienced rider or not, but you HAVE to ride from Santa Monica to Venice in a rented bike. Take the cruisers, not the "hybrids" (more comfortable a cruiser by far and it gives the "local" feelin') You will witness the changes of scenery from Santa Monica and its nice Pier to the "hip" Venice things with lots of hobos sleeping here and there and mainly the skate park where young and old (literally!) do wonderful skateboarding. "Medicinal" marijuana, clairvoyants, and t-shirts stores abound. Important in Venice, take time to see the canals. They might be sorrow, or romantic but anyway is worth paying a visit there, after all you do not have houses with a front canoe or kayak everywhere. From Santa Monica to Venice (or back) you can stop at Shutters Hotel to have breakfast/lunch (for an astronomical amount of money) but it is absolutely worth, and it will give you the glittery Californian early meal experience –the opposite from Venice- The ride back and forth takes about two hours. Not all the
time pedaling it is almost completely flat and any person with even a mediocre physical condition can do it. The best place to rent a bike is "BIKE CENTER" just behind the Shore Hotel.

8. If you are driving, you will be tempted to go from Santa Monica to Santa Barbara. CAUTION: Don’t do it. The stretch from Santa Monica to Malibu and Santa Barbara is not that scenic. The only see that you will be able to watch is the back of houses that are in the beach, but you don’t see the ocean. Besides, traffic from south to north is heavy and it has many stoplights (¡Stoplights in a Highway!)
Just in case you venture yourself, have lunch or dinner at Marmalade Café and ask for Ahi covered in sesame ¡delicious!

So that is it, don't forget to find out about the Foucault Pendulum, take a sweater (don't forget to check out the weather forecast, the area is cool) and enjoy! Have a nice trip.

Room Tip: If you don't get an "Ocean View" room you can still go for "Partial Ocean View&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank David_oli_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
David_oli_san,

Thank you for your detailed review and for choosing Shore Hotel. We are delighted you noticed our personable touches such as walking keys around our front desk and are elated the levels of legendary service continued throughout your experience with us. Thank you for sharing tips for our Trip Advisor readers as well regarding the area and various attractions. We hope to see you again soon the next time your travels from Mexico bring you to Santa Monica!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

The Shore hotel is conveniently located opposite Santa Monica pier - the views from some of the rooms look out over the Pacific Ocean and at night the hotel looks impressive. Our family stayed for 3 nights on a holiday from Australia so we had 4 suitcases and found our double room to be quite small for the number of people and bags we had. We also had a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the lane way and several buildings which we found to be a little noisy in the mornings. When I mentioned this to the lady at the front desk on check out, she very kindly credited our bill 3 nights valet parking.
On the plus side, the hotel is new, clean and vibrant and the pool area is quite nice even if a bit small. I also liked the free WiFi and free coffee in the room which was a nice touch. The service was excellent except for the housekeeping as we ran out of tissues and toilet paper and had to request extra as it seemed they only left just enough for 1 day.
Some people might think this hotel is expensive but I think it's reasonable given the premium location and accessibility to everything in the area. I'd consider staying here again perhaps next time if I didn't have a family or look at getting 2 rooms.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank 3644jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
3644jv,
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us on your holiday from Australia. We are honored we were able to play host to you and your family. Also, thank you so much for writing such a favorable review. Our free Wi-Fi, coffee and heated swimming pool are just a few of the amenities we proudly offer our guests. We are thrilled you were able to enjoy all of them!

At The Shore Hotel, we aim to please all types of guests with all different types of lodging needs. Our Junior Suites and Suites would have probably been a better option for you due to the larger size of the room. They can accommodate larger groups more comfortably and I know families definitely like having more room for the kids and extra suitcases. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASTORIA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My first time staying in Santa Monica and probably one of the best hotel expeiences of my life. The service was great! Everyone greated us with a smile. The architecture is amazing. The location is perfect. The rooms are just too cool. The view at sunset from our hotel room was beyond picture perfect. Totally worth it having a room facing the beautiful Santa Monica Beach. The concierge was a huge help with hard to get dinner reservations. I can't wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHRISTIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
CHRISTIAN M,

Thank you so much for your review. The fact that we were able to produce one of the best hotel experiences of your life is beyond rewarding. Our goal since opening has been to go above and beyond, creating an ‘experience’ rather than a typical hotel stay. Being able to provide guests with a location that cannot be beat, a stunning design and top notch service has simply become our standard. I will proudly pass along your praise to the entire staff for they will be thrilled they achieved this great accomplishment. Thanks again for such an outstanding review and we hope to see you soon!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotels often look good on the Internet but disappoint when you actually see them for real. The Shore really lives up to expectations. The staff are friendly and very efficient, the rooms are great and the location is superb. Ok, so the pool is a bit small but it's really well done and there is so much to see in the area, the pool is just an added bonus to relax in before dinner. Would be great to have a restaurant serving breakfast, but you get a discount at Jinky's around the corner- and it is excellent too. Parking is really expensive, but otherwise it's 5 stars all round. Oh, by the way, the champagne at check in is a really nice touch!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pageylfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Pageylfc,

Thank you for your review and for choosing the Four Diamond, LEED Gold, Shore Hotel! We are delighted we lived up to your expectations in regards to our legendary service levels we aim to provide, our unbeatable location and that you enjoyed your champagne arrival. We hope to see you again in the very near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a well designed, environmentally conscious and comfortable hotel. Whoever does the hiring should be congratulated as the hotel staff was all nice people, very friendly and courteous . Nice touches like a champagne drink when we arrived and availability of pastries/coffee in the morning and free wifi. Our bartender went out of his way to make sure we felt comfortable (heater, side table, another drink) with our drinks on the patio. Great location right across from the beach and pier! Well worth the little extra cost.... I just hope there is room available if I go back, because it seems a little undiscovered now!

Room Tip: Spring for at least a partial ocean view, full ocean view would be amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Tom G,

During our pre-opening our Shore brand was built around providing a uniquely personable guest experience second to none that provided a refreshing escape from the mundane norm many have come to accept in hospitality. The key component in succeeding in doing so is our team of truly passionate hoteliers that take pride in every interaction they have and in the honor of creating lifelong memories for our guests. I am extremely grateful daily to have such talent and enthusiasm on our team whom has been together since our opening in October of 2011. We thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again in the very near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Quogue, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I really struggled on the "stars" for this hotel. I will break up our stay to Pros and Cons:
Pros: Upon arrival, I was greeted with a welcoming staff and Valet service. The lobby is open, clean and spacious. The location of this hotel is perfect. You are able to walk to everything..shopping, restaurants as well as the Pier. This is a must..there is limited parking in the area and much traffic. Being able to walk was superb! Since the hotel is fairly new, the room was nicely decorated and had a great modern touch! Even though the outside was noisy, our sliders did a good enough job blocking out the noise. Throughout my stay the staff was great and very helpful!

Cons: This hotel is very expensive! The rooms are very small. We were a family of 3 and had our 4th family member came with us, I would have had to get 2 rooms. We stayed for 5 nights and had 3 suitcases. It was a struggle to find space for them. The bathroom/shower has a glass wall into the main room. Even though there was a privacy shade that rolled down, I did not feel it was enough privacy for a family. The shower floor is not good for children, It was extremely slippery for myself and I had to assist my 12 year old get in and out. The beds were very comfortable, however, I found the pillows to have a musty old smell. The bathroom towels too had a musty smell as if they were not properly cleaned. My biggest issue was with housekeeping. Even though the rooms was cleaned daily, it did not appear clean. Powder remnants remained on the bathroom floor. There was no replenishing of tissues, shampoo and toilet paper. On our second day, after returning to our room from being out all day, we noticed the sliders were open and our safe was unlocked( nothing was taken from our room or safe). We called down to the front desk and security was sent to our room. Security said housekeeping must have left The door open and would have someone from engineer stop by the room to look at the safe. No one came to our room the next day, therefore we were then forced to bring out valuables with us in our rented car. This experience left my family feeling uneasy during the rest of our stay. Upon checkout, the hotels computers were rebooting and there i was unable to receive a final bill. I was ensured I would get it as soon as the computers were up and running...well its a day and half and not bill. I don't think I would stay at this location on my next trip back to California.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Theresa M,

Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from New York and for your review! We are delighted you found our passionate team of hoteliers to be personable and exceptional in their customer service levels. We aim to provide an affordable Four Diamond experience in comparison to our competition and I think you will find that in the rates in which we offer. That being said our service levels should never be compromised below the high expectations we hold ourselves to daily and I have shared your comments with my Housekeeping Manager for immediate rectification as this is definitely not the norm nor acceptable. I have also contacted your Trip Advisor account so I can personally ensure you receive your folio immediately. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to New York and assure you the same personable service levels will greet you upon your return!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,541 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,455 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing