We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crisp, Clean, Refreshing & Respectful”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crisp, Clean, Refreshing & Respectful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Be patient...it's going to take a while to describe how impressed I am with this hotel! And I can't give it 5 stars because I didn't try out the pool (gorgeous) or food (Blue Plate Taco) YET...

Location: Perfect right downtown Santa Monica across from the ocean and Santa Monica Pier. Giving it a 94 "walkers paradise" score. See below.

Walking Distance: RIght across from the ocean, you can literally wake up and see the Pier, go to sleep with the moons reflection off the water.
Easy to walk to shopping at Santa Monica Place and 3rd Street Promenade. As well as numerous food, fitness, entertainment, bar options... whatever you want.
Here's the walkers score online with a 94/100. See what's close www.walkscore.com/score/1515-ocean-ave-santa-monica-ca-90401

Atmosphere: A variety of people stay and work here so there's a laid back yet upscale vibe. I think anyone can feel comfortable and safe here. Where it's Business trip or a vacay... check it out. It's not really a spring break party place, thankfully, so lets keep it that way, crisp, clean and respectful-which actually sums up the Shore perfectly.

Rooms: The most comfortable bed I've ever slept in. I could have moved in and stayed there... I think I actually ask. ;) Seriously... Room has everything you need, want and actually surprises you with everything it has to offer.
The green sustainability amenities are so cool, the lights have sensors-turning off when you aren't there. The air conditioner turns off when the patio door is open. I love this, finally somewhere helping the environment. The bathroom is huge and the open shower keeps the fluidity of the room moving. The cleanliness was spectacular. Impressive spacing and design. Whoever put this place together deserves an award. Having an ocean front patio should be something you go for, with a breathtaking view of the ocean at sunset, along with the pier, it'll make you fall in love with Santa Monica.

Customer Service: From the front desk, valet, management or even random people around the hotel, EVERYONE i was in contact with was super nice, helpful, down to earth and seemed to be genuinely focused on each individual guest. They also seemed to enjoy there jobs, you could tell...and it clearly makes all the difference-it can actually make or break your day and change your mood. Plus it's not annoying fake attentiveness which is refreshing.

Outside Design: Other than the ocean, it steals the show. The blue lighting on the outside open frame with a killer pool with fire lamps or whatever they are, surrounding it. You'll want to tell people you stayed there. And actually writing this makes me realize I need to go back, the pool area is sexy and I need to experience it.

Inside Design: Open, a lot of natural lighting, it's modern but not scary-overly sharp edges modern. I think it's comfortable yet energetic. It also opened up my awareness of sustainability in buildings a lot... brain boost.

Parking: There's valet, a few options for street parking and parking buildings all around Santa Monica... Just ask the front desk pricing and determine what's best for you depending on the length of your stay.

Sustainability: It's the first LEED hotel I've stayed in but I was blown away. I think it's genius and hope all new & renovating hotels and residence go towards this. It's actually a big deal so read more about it on their website. Fascinating if you ask me. http://www.shorehotel.com/sustainability.php

I feel like I'm forgetting something so I might have to update this...I know this is a little overboard, maybe you don't care about half of this but if you want the short and sweet version... stay at the shore in Santa Monica if you want your experience to be top notch.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room. You won't be disappointed, the sunsets are killer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Misty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
MistyCali,

Thank you from all of us at Shore Hotel for your detailed review and for providing pictures of your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your time and praise of our passionate team of talented hoteliers. As a collective team we vigorously aim to create a personalized guest experience centered on providing genuinely amicable customer service and we are delighted we were able to do so during your time with us. We hope to have you back so we can earn that extra star should you have the time to try our state of the art pool and Blue Plate Taco restaurant. Thank you once again for your review!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,661
    674
    236
    82
    57
See reviews for
971
776
114
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (728)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

The price is a little high but it is defiantly worth it. Its so nice to see hotels are doing something for the enivorment. I loved how nice it is. the blue light thats on at night put me to sleep instantly!! I loved how relaxing it made me.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kandiXkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
kandiXkat,

We aim to create a personable guest service experience that provides a refreshing escape from life’s daily stresses and are ecstatic we succeeded in doing so during your time with us. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had reservation for my europien Family from Europe. The Hotel is excellent located sparking clean, well organized. The quality of the hotel worker is polite, knowledge and helpfull. The hotel is new with all of the high class of comfort. The service is excellent, knowledge people all with help and good personality. I checked back on the Ocen Avenue all of the hotel and price range. This hotel was the best of the best. The head supervisor really organized the quality of the worker to please the guest.

So... I just say Thank you. Klara Room 458

Room Tip: All of them is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Klara B,

On behalf of the entire staff at The Shore Hotel I would like to thank you for such an amazing review. I can personally say that everyone on our Guest Services team enjoyed your daily visits through the lobby while picking up your family. As you noticed, our team is made up of a charming and friendly staff that truly takes the time to get to know each guest. The intimacy of being a boutique property allows us to create a uniquely personable experience unlike the surrounding larger hotels. Thank you so much for your review and we hope to see you soon (feel free to visit us at any time)!

Jim Surace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, awesome location....greeted with champagne after long drive....what more can you ask? Cool and mondern and great views....would definately recomend and stay again. Everything you could ask for from a cali seasdie hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dalaz,

We appreciate your praise regarding our amicable team of passionate hoteliers and are delighted you had a memorable experience. We hope to have the honor of serving you again here at the Four Diamond, Shore Hotel in the very near future.

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Had a great experience at The Shore Hotel last week. This is the second time I have stayed at this location and was originally recommended by my company's travel service. The entire staff was friendly and the receptionist Stevie remembered that I had been there a short time back based on my company profile. She took extra time to recommend dinner locations and upgraded my room. I will be recommending this hotel to other employees while traveling to Santa Monica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlakeKostka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Larry443,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words and gracious comments provide viewers with essential feedback regarding our property and staff. We appreciate you taking the time to address your recent experience with us. Stevie is truly an asset to our team and we will make sure to pass along your praise to her. We are honored to know you will be recommending our property to other employees of yours. Please join us again soon as we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
costaricatourtaker
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My brother and I stayed at Shore Hotel in the first week of March.

What an amazing location. Just a block from third street promenade and lobby opens on to Ocean Avenue.

Super helpful and accommodating front desk staff.

There was a lady by the name of "Stevie" who was just fantastic. Took all the time and patience answering some of our questions and other guests. Seen a lot of front desk personnel in my life and she was really one of the best and most caring and welcoming and ensured we had a magnificent stay.

Modern rooms. Comfortable beds. Very quiet triple paned windows.

Room Tip: Had both ocean view but switched to garden view...extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costaricatourtaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Costaricatourtaker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While we compete with the larger chains in the city we realized the key to our success would be providing our guests with a personable guest experience second to none. I am fortunate to have a team of immensely passionate and talented hoteliers that take pride in creating lifelong memories for our valued guests. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie, who has been with us since day one, and our entire team. We hope to see you again soon!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night and had an amazing stay!! The beds are so comfortable that we did not want to get out of bed the next morning. We also had the ocean view room which is very beautiful and worth it! The shower was another favorite...love how the shower head comes out of the ceiling and you get to enjoy the ocean view at the same time. Thanks to the staff for making my stay great. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazycaligrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
crazycaligrl,

Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit to Santa Monica. We appreciate your excellent feedback and hope to see you again in the very near future at which point I can assure you the same legendary experience will await.

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing