We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nothing Bad but Nothing Great New Modern Hotel”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I lived in Santa Monica for over 25 years before moving out of state. We return often and have stayed at almost all the good hotels in the area. This is a good one but nothing distinguishes this hotel from others. The rooms are small and very modern. with an almost cold feel. Rooms in the front of the hotel have a lot of street noise. The hotel is only four floors high in the front and the view from the rooms on the second floor don't clear the trees although you can get an in between ocean view which is nice. Avoid room 214 and adjacent rooms since they are over the adjoining Blue Plate Taco restaurant and the room has a restaurant residue smell. BTW, this restaurant is very good and fun. The parking is the biggest drawback. There is no front door valet. The valet is in the large garage parking structure underneath the hotel and doesn't add much if anything compared with self parking at $30 v $35/night. The parking exit leads to an alley that joins very busy Colorado Ave which can be impossible to get into. The staff are very nice and guests tend to be in their 20s-40s. Try the nearby historic Georgian Hotel as an alternative but slightly older crowd. Much better valet parking.

Room Tip: Avoid front of hotel rooms because of noise and rooms over restaurant because of smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Rooms at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

TravelingBruin,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Wyoming. As Santa Monica’s newest and only Four Diamond, LEED Gold certified property we set out to create a legendarily personable guest experience second to none and we appreciate your perfect rating in regards to our service. We take feedback such as yours on our Trip Advisor very seriously and an average experience will never be acceptable to any of our team of passionate hoteliers here at the Shore.

We seek to implement change immediately as a result of the constructive feedback our guests provide such as yours and I am proud to announce effective 3/5/13 Shore Hotel will be moving to valet parking only for our guests located at our hotel entrance on Ocean Avenue. As you allude to this will make for an improved parking arrival experience and also will allow our guests to utilize our state of the art valet departure lounge in our garage when they are ready to depart.

We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you experience this improvement and to have you back with us the next time you visit Santa Monica and we thank you for your review.

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,077 - 2,083 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Greeted warmly by Valet, and check in was smooth, with a bonus welcome champagne for me and my colleague. Reception gave me a partial ocean view, an upgrade to what i had reserved and it was very much appreciated as a nice gesture. Rooms were very comfortable, beds really nice and bathrooms a must see with the glass shower overlooking room! Dont worry, theres an automatic privacy screen at the flip of a switch! Location was superb across from beach and i took advantage of an early morning run on the beach path. Shopping right behind the hotel, everything you can possibly need. Only complaint was being woken up at 3am by an obviously disturbed man on the street, yelling and rambling on for what seemed an eternity ( realistically, probably 30 mins of cursing, screaming, etc.) most definitely woke anyone staying in the front rooms. Homelessness is certainly not swept off the streets here as in other parts of the country, and reminds us of this major problem in the US. But I digress..... The Shore Hotel was great, Definitely will return.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Matt F,

Thank you so much for your review. On behalf of the entire Shore Hotel Team, I would like to thank you for your kind words. Our Guest Services staff is a guest-devoted team that will do everything in their means to create an amazing experience. Offering champagne at check in is a gesture we kindly extend to each guest to make them aware of our appreciation for them. I’m thrilled we were able to upgrade you to one of our partial ocean rooms. The view of the Pacific Ocean from our hotel is truly breathtaking. Also, as you noticed, the location simply cannot be beat. Whether you’re enjoying a run on the beach or a shopping spree on The Third Street Promenade, everything is just blocks away. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Jim Surace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and loved it. Rooms are clean and new. Location rocks. Price is reasonable. The pool is nice and heated. Promenade is right there and pier as well. We had partial ocean view which had a legit view. Bagels and coffee in the lobby was a nice touch..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NiskyTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

NiskyTime,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our Four Diamond property. We appreciate the compliments on our new coffee bar in our lobby. Thank you for your review and please join us again soon in the near future!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

It's a little difficult to appreciate a hotel that is across from the Pacific Ocean, on a road lined with palms, and filled with fitness and creative folk. It's certainly designed to be outdoors and you tend not to want to come inside. Location does tend to influence my choice of accommodation, and for pleasure purposes, this was well sited to the pier, the beach, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are well appointed although the balcony was a little on the small side. The bathroom was spacious and transparent - some nice electronic blinds to play with while wearing the comfy bathrobes. WiFi free and fast so you can tell everyone you're on the beach or down by the pool with a cocktail and the funky blue firelight before popping into Blue Plate Taco for a tasty bite (reservations advised). Bit surprised that there is no restaurant service in the hotel itself but The Georgian which is a short stroll away has a beautiful veranda to dine from and an excellent menu with service from very attentive staff. And it would be remiss not to acknowledge the friendly staff of the Shore Hotel, courteous, helpful and great ambassadors for Santa Monica. I felt I more than received value for money and was a good introduction into an aspect of Californian living.
PS It's a quick 30 minute drive from LAX and parking is not too bad

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovinglife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Lovinglife83,

Thank you for visiting the Shore Hotel during your travels from Suva. We appreciate your detailed review and I will be sure to pass along your praise to our entire team of passionate hoteliers who will be delighted to hear they created a memorable experience for you. We look forward to seeing you the next time your travels bring you to beautiful Santa Monica and thank you for your review!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location on Ocean Ave. Very nice room and bath with nice balconies and very clean. Very thick windows so it's very quiet. Spend the money on the premier room that faces the beach. Only a few short blocks from the pier and also from 3rd Street Promenade for restaurants galore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calif-Family4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Calif-Family4,

We appreciate you choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Northern California. We are pleased to hear you noticed our state of the art sound resistant windows and balcony doors that create a true escape from the hustle and bustle of the city. We thank you for sharing your experience with us!

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Can't beat the location. The pier is just opposite across from the main road. It has view of the pacific ocean and stunning sunsets. Albeit separated by a main road and the palm trees. 5 min walk from Third Avenue Promenade - great shopping. Blue Taco, a taco bar/restaurant serves great tacos with good variety at reasonably prices and impressive service. The hotel and the rooms are nice and modern.

The negatives - However i find the room somehow cold no matter what I did with the climate control. When we needed hot water, the staff told us to boil it from the coffee maker in the room. This poses 2 problems (i) too little water as the capacity is small (ii) you get stale coffee taste in your hot water. I cannot see why the hotel cannot just deliver us a flask of hot water - surely that is not asking for too much? I also take exception that the front desk lied to us when we checked in. We were given a smaller room. Room 401 to be exact. I know that as a fact as I checked against the floor plan displayed on my room door. When i checked with front desk, they lied and told me all the rooms were of same size. Well i got the picture of the plan to prove it. That was just not proper nor profession. So I got a smaller room for the same price. I let it pass as we were there for only a night but still it left a bad taste to an otherwise nicely located and anointed hotel.

Would I come back to this place? Not if I can find another nice hotel in similar location, and there are a few.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those stack with numbers ending 11, 12, 14, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33. High floor. 4th is be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Navigator22,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your compliments regarding our central location and new LEED Gold certified property. We take great pride in the legendary guest experience our talented team of hoteliers provides that has been the source of over 500 positive reviews in our short existence. Subsequently I can assure our readers we would never mislead our guests, which would in turn create a disappointing experience that is never acceptable to any of us here at the Shore. To clarify some inconsistencies all of our rooms are indeed the same size with the exception of our suites and will have varying views depending on the room type that was booked. That being said we take full accountability anytime we fall short of our firm goals of providing a personable guest experience second to none and we would greatly appreciate the honor of winning your business back.

Dieter Schmitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Six family members arrived on Valentine's Day for a trip to watch my nephew play baseball at Pepperdine University. We were greeted by a friendly front desk in a clean, modern lobby. After our initial check-in, the front desk offered us one free glass of champagne (though I'm not sure if that is standard practice or just because of the holiday). The hotel staff was quite helpful with directions and suggestions for things to do and see. There is a parking lot underneath the hotel and it was easily accessed from the hotel elevator. My family had two ocean-view rooms (rooms 308 & 310). They overlooked the pool area below and were angled sufficiently to see Santa Monica Pier and the ocean perfectly. The view from our rooms was tremendous. We used the onsite Business Center to print our boarding passes for our return flight. The process was quite easy and self-explanatory. The rooms themselves were modern-looking with VERY comfortable beds and pillows. The shower had a "rain" type shower head from above, which was nice enough, but the water pressure wasn't spectacular. I don't have very much experience to know if that is typical of California hotels or if this was unusual. It did the job though, so that's something. The cleaning staff seemed to perform well as we encountered no in-room issues associated with their service.

The only complaint I will make is that on Friday night there were some people down in the pool area being awfully loud until at least 2am. It was a beautiful night out and we kept our patio screen open rather than turning on the air-conditioning. I was surprised that no one on the hotel staff requested that the hotel patrons restrain themselves. The same night the hotel had a passerby who was shouting "God Is Good" for 10 minutes at about 3am. Yikes!

I should also note that the Shre considers itself a "green" hotel and indeed you have the option of re-using towels, if reasonable, or you can request fresh towels each day by simply leaving your used towels on the floor. (as an example)

This is a very nice hotel and I'd stay here again as it is close to everything - Santa Monica Pier, the 3rd Street Promenade, the beaches, dining, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Patrick G,
We are thrilled we were able to play host to you during your travels from the Midwest. Also, thank you so much for writing such a great review. As you noticed, our Guest Services team is comprised of amazing hoteliers that are dedicated to making each guest’s experience a truly memorable one. We know that being ‘friendly’ can certainly make all the difference in the world. Secondly, I would like to apologize for the noise issues you had to deal with late at night. This inconveniences you described with late night guests are definitely not the norm, for we also have an amazing Security team that is on patrol 24 hours to ensure guest safety and security at all times. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,740 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,661 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
425 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $362 - $671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing