We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential - almost there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“So much potential - almost there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fabulous location - the best I saw in Santa Monica. The hotel was lovely - clean, techhy, well decorated, comfortable. They need to work out a few kinks with customer service at the front desk - not the personal attention one would expect at a fine boutique hotel. BUT - give it a try.

Also, the photo shown doesn't do it justice. Much better in reality. The Blue Taco restaurant next door was very good too.

Nice touch was complimentary glass of champagne while checking in.

Room Tip: We splurged for ocean front but it looked like the partial ocean view rooms facing the pool still wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleNanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
SeattleNanc,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Seeing that you are a Senior Contributor, we really appreciate all your great feedback. Also, the fact that you rated us so highly is really an honor. The Shore Hotel was designed to be visually astonishing with comfortable living. I noticed with your description, we definitely succeeded in providing both! Additionally, we are glad you enjoyed your complimentary glass of champagne. We are truly thankful for each guest and it is our way of welcoming them right from the start. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,666
    675
    236
    82
    57
See reviews for
973
777
115
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in late January and whilst the weather was rainy it did not deter from a fantastic hotel and destination. We experienced a warm welcome and wonderful modern room with comfortable beds overlooking the ocean. Everyone very friendly especially our Receptionist on checkin in afternoon of 25 Jan a wonderful guy who lost no patience with my numerous questions. The hotel is the best location opposite the Pier and a short walk to the promenade. Regarding meals we found numerous options but the favourite was to have pre dinner drink on the veranda of Georgian Hotel and dinner at Sushi Roku so amazing we returned twice! Loved the WIFI and THX so much for the late checkout! Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: Ocean View! rooms are more compact than other hotels but does not detract form all other great featu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MQR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
MQR,
On behalf of everyone at The Shore Hotel I would like to thank you for such a wonderful review. The fact that you said we delivered excellence is truly astonishing and something we always aim to achieve. Every member of the amazing staff is dedicated to going above and beyond for each guest. As you noticed the simplicity of friendliness in a staff definitely makes all the difference! Also, describing our location as ‘the best’ is certainly spot-on! We are just steps from several amazing restaurants and shops and also just across the road from the famous Santa Monica Pier. Thanks again for the amazing review and you are welcome for the late checkout! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

a really welcoming hotel , pleasant surroundings with excellent rooms and VERY friendly and helpful staff - Jonathan and Cash in particular. It had been 15 years since i last stayed in santa Monica and i was pleasantly surprised by this new hotel. It is bound to become a landmark and a must stay place in this terrific resort

Room Tip: go for a front facing room. the rooms to the rear are over a small garden area and nothing to get e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricky109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Ricky009,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. On behalf of our staff, we appreciate the gracious comments and favorable review. We are ecstatic to hear how wonderful your time was while staying with us. We will pass along your praise to Jonathon and Cash as they will be glad to hear how they provided exceptional service. Please join us again soon and thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your time in Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is perfect for a lot of different kind of travelers. It's so close to the pier, beach, shops, restaurants. Whatever you want to experience in Santa Monica, this is a great hotel.

I work in the hotel business and got away for a one night stay-cation. Great service, great product, and very comfortable and QUIET! Amazing sound proofing... we couldn't hear a thing.

This is a new hotel, so they've used the latest hotel technology. Very impressed.

Thank you to Bobby and the whole team.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
FineF00die,
We appreciate your review and are honored to receive such high rankings from a fellow hotelier. We hope to see you again in the very near future and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved this little boutique hotel. Had a wonderful view of the water and pier. Right in the heart of the action . Only complaint was the size of the rooms, more like the rooms in Europe . Overall a great place to stay with lots of green amenities .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tami T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Tami T,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your pictures on our Trip Advisor during your visit from Alaska. We appreciate your review and hope to see you in the very near future!

Dieter Schmitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

After checking out of another Santa Monica hotel we looked around and Derek assisted us tremendously in getting a great room. Love the architecture. Quite simply a geat place to stay and I have advised our travel agent to recommend the hotel in future. Well done guys!.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike000_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Mike000_13,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and providing viewers with insight regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed all that Shore Hotel as to offer, especially our exceptional staff and great architecture. We will pass along your praise to Derek as he will be thrilled to hear from you. Thank you for recommending us to potential guests who would enjoy the Shore Culture. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overall, a fantastic hotel. It does seem to be trying just a bit too hard to be "green" but perhaps I am being a bit cynical. It is a great hotel in its own right and doesn't need the "labelling".

As the hotel is quite new, it does have a bit of a "not quite finished" feel to some of the public spaces. The rooms are superb and don't suffer from the same problem. I would imagine that it will mature very well in the 6 to 12 months following our visit.

The building is sort of U shaped. We had a sea facing room in the bottom of the U which is set back a bit from Ocean Avenue behind the pool. These rooms are probably quieter than the the rooms right on Ocean Ave.

The pool and "outdoor lounge area" have a very nice feel to them and the area is reasonably quiet and private despite facing directly onto Ocean Avenue.

The hotel is our new favourite in Santa Monica and we will be staying there whenever we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aphrican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Aphrican,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the kind words regarding our hotel and all the great amenities offered. We agree that being a newer property we still have some growing to do and we are assure that with time our hotel will only become stronger and more established as a front runner in Santa Monica. Our team is proud to know our hotel is your favorite location in the area and we look forward to your return soon. Thank you for staying with us during your travels to Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing