We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and arty in the center of Santa Monica with 2 min walk to the beach and shopping center!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stockholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean and arty in the center of Santa Monica with 2 min walk to the beach and shopping center!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The location of Shore hotel is just fabulous! We stayed in the very quiet room of 321 with view of the poll and a bit of the sea and palm tree park in front of it. Randall, the really excellent porter (?) helped us with our bags and showed us the tecnicals in the room and offered to get us some ice while just being very low key and friendly (he was a good start to our stay). Everything in the hotell is clean. The pool was heated but we did t go Swimming - december this year was rather cold. I wish the hotell would have served breakfast but they do not have a restaurant facility. The excellent staff at the front desk recommended us to try Jinkys (just around the corner - and we tried that and IHOP during our stay - se separate rewiews). The rooms and reception are open, airy and arty:ish. So was the pool area. Unfortunatley we didnt try either the gym our jogging on the beautiful park walk above the beach (on the other side of the street - but would love to come again and do so). The spoy IS uncomromized the best in SM as it is located over a full block just between the park overlooking the santa monica pier, beach and pch (you dont hear the traffic from the pch) on one side and on the back (there is a guest entrance here) you are just across the road from tSanta Monica place shopping center which is really really nice and worth a visit. I would definitley stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Drottning-Dala,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We definitely agree that our location is prime, providing all that Santa Monica has to offer within just a short walk. We are centrally located between the pier, beach and all the shopping of Santa Monica. Although we don’t serve breakfast on property there are several great breakfast restaurants within a minute’s walk and as another amenity we do offer the option of in room dining which we can pick up from many local restaurants and deliver to your room for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Our team of professional hoteliers make the effort to provide exceeded guest services and we are glad to know Randall did just that with you. Like all our staff, he is very attentive and will do whatever it takes to ensure each guest is comfortable and can enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels to Santa Monica. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    687
    240
    85
    62
See reviews for
999
795
119
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Shore Hotel is simply grand. From the beautiful amenities (glassed-in pool and jacuzzi facing the Pier), to the stunning rooms (such plush beds!), everything about Shore Hotel was a breeze - easy and convenient in every way. The hotel is well-situated - right across the street from the beach and Pier, and steps from great restaurants and Promenade shopping. The decor is modern but cozy, and the staff was top-notch. Randall, the staff member who assisted w the booking, did a superb job of arranging the accommodations and really made our vacation all play and zero work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Yasmin V,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels to Santa Monica. Your review regarding our stunning rooms, top-notch amenities and prestigious service is greatly appreciated. We will make sure to honor Randall for his amazing service as we are glad to know he could make all the difference in your stay. Please join us again soon, we look forward to your return. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I'm not in the habit of writing reviews, but I stumbled upon the Shore Hotel in a fantastic location directly across from Santa Monica Pier / Beach and only steps away from everything. This is a residence that anyone Traveling to Santa Monica should know about.... Upon arrival I was greeted by a member of staff I came to learn is named Stevie, she treated guests like an old friend, yet in a very professional and courteous manner, taking a genuine interest in my travel plans, offering fantastic advice on dining, shopping, touring and everything I wanted to know about Santa Monica / LA area. Rather than feeling like a burden in having to ask about the area Stevie offered a broad brief, asked all the right questions and paid particular attention to the topics that I expressed interest in!
After the best check in I have ever encountered the room itself was fantastic, balcony overlooking the beach, spacious, spotless, modern and stylish all come to mind when thinking of my stay at the Shore Hotel. This boutique property with a great Mexican bar / Restaraunt, exceptional service and the best location in Santa Monica is a gem that could teach the major chain hotels many lessons on what travelers want while abroad! Thanks again Stevie and the crew at Shore!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viccouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Viccouple 1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the kind words and gracious comments regarding our hotel. Our team prides themselves in providing exceptional service which is second to none in the area, we are glad to know we did just that during your time here. Stevie is definitely an asset to our team and we will be sure to pass along your praise as she will be happy to hear from you. Each of our employees make the effort daily to construct a unique experience for every guest which is created by getting to know each individual and truly understand what will make their stay with us special. Thank you again for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels to Santa Monica. Please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan, italy
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Brand new hotel right across the road from the Santa Monica pier and close to the shopping district. The apartments are note very large, but well appointed; someone could disagree with the choice of a see-through shower between the room and the bathroom. Large garage in the basement, no food available whatsoever, good gym. Not bad overall.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
lucaerrante,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Italy. We wanted our guests to have the ability to see our breath taking ocean views from anywhere in our spacious rooms however we do supply the option of a privacy shade which can be lowered should privacy be desired. We are proud to offer our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco, as an onsite dining option for our guests for lunch and dinner. We thank you for your kind review and hope to see you the next time you visit beautiful Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

My company has a corporate relationship with The Shore Hotel and I've stayed there 12-15 times now since March of this year. I really enjoy the hotel, the location, the amenities, rooms. It's a modernly comfortable feel good experience every time. Guest Services is some of the best I've come across especially Stevie who's helped me check-in, check-out among being of help with anything I asked about, she's especially cool, friendly and makes the experience memorable and fun. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Santa Monica or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coryshelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
coryshelton,
Repeat guests such as yourself are greatly appreciated and valued by our entire team here at Shore Hotel and we thank you for your support and loyalty. I will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie and our entire Guest Service team. As our Director I am honored to have such a passionate and talented team of hoteliers that are genuinely invested in creating memorable experiences for our guests. We all look forward to your return and thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Modern, clean and well staffed. However, no breakfast provided and the lighting switching in the romms was not worthy of a modern build hotel. Good thing that there is a back door with a short, 100 yard, route to Jinky's Cafe who serve a very American breakfast. A missed opportunity for the owners to be the best on the strip. Suspect they don't really understand what a great hotel should offer. It's now just a very smart clean overnight hostel with a great frontage. I'd use it again now that I kn ow where to get a good breakfast!

Room Tip: The hotel is two blocks joined by a skybridge and only the front block has the real ocean views. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TatsfieldPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
TatsfieldPoole,
Thank you for your king words regarding our immaculate property and passionate staff. While we do not have on site breakfast options we are happy to bring breakfast from Jinky’s Cafe to our valued guests. We hope to see you again in the near future and assure you the same uncompromisingly high level of customer service and personable guest experience will greet you in every interaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

As a regular visitor to Santa Monica, you know that most of the hotels have seen better days. Still, there are no 5-star plus amenities available and you really wonder when they wake up and attract the buying potential that comes to this area. Miami Beach has slept a long way through, too but boy, there's movement there!
The Shore Hotel is brand new, has an A1 location, has the benefit of a big sized garage that is below and yet missed the chance to make a difference. It is so frustrating to see newly built places with no passion, bad concepts and even some elementary constructual mistakes.
Now, don't get me wrong, the place is not really bad but it's just a shame to miss this opportunity - big shame!
I will not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i-love-zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
i-love-zermatt,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Switzerland. We are proud to be Santa Monica’s only Four Diamond, LEED Gold property as well as being the newest brand new property in the city, opening a little over a year ago. We aim to match our beautiful location and building with a personalized level of passionate Five Star customer service second to none that creates a fresh escape from the mundane norm many have come to accept. I would love to speak with you about your experience with us so I can gain specifics as to how we fell short. Given the team of talented hoteliers I am lucky enough to have anything short of an brilliant experience here at the Shore will never be acceptable to any of us on our team. I look forward to speaking with you so that we can ensure your next visit rings only with tones of excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,540 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
961 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,453 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing