We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel very clean”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Builth Wells, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great hotel very clean”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Read the reviews before I came and it did not disappoint
We were missed one day room service and we recieved apology complimentry
Wine chocolates nice touch
Housekeeping staff all staff really nice sorry to leave

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Icesteel,
Thank you for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear our hotel met your expectations and ranked highly in your eyes. On behalf of our staff we again apologize for overlooking your room one of the days. We are glad to hear our staff was able to make it up to you with a nice amenity and that it did not spoil your stay. Please join us again soon and thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your time in Santa Monica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    708
    248
    88
    65
See reviews for
1,051
807
121
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Shore for one night in Nov 2012, on the night we became engaged. It was a great stay...extremely modern, classy, and clean hotel. Great service, staff, and amenities. The view of the ocean from the lobby and pool is one of the best in the area. The room was great, a partial ocean view with king bed, modern bathroom with Aveda products, and extremely clean. The bed was extremely comfortable. I have used many fitness facilities, and this on was in the top tier of those, both clean and providing a variety of equipment. The entire hotel is very safe, since you cannot access any of the guest floors by elevator without a hotel key. Excellent location...the 3rd Street mall and Prominade are right around the corner, and the boardwalk down to the beach and Santa Monica pier are just across the street. A 5-10 minute drive to Malibu. Exceeded our expectations. Looking forward to staying again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mop335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Maurice335,
We are thrilled we were able to be a part of your special day and thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. Knowing that we exceeded your expectations is truly gratifying. We have an amazing team of hoteliers that truly go above and beyond to ensure complete guest satisfaction. I know they all will be truly honored and appreciative of your review. Also, we could not be happier that you took full advantage of our amenities. As you saw with the gym, we provide state of the art facilities and products. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again (hopefully for your honeymoon)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Shore Hotel is wonderful. Location is great. Right on Ocean Ave. a very short walk to the Santa Monica pier and the beach.
We arrived early and there was no problem checking in. The staff is friendly and efficient.
The Hotel is beautiful, from the public areas to the room. The room is on the smaller size but it was very comfortable and again, beautiful. We had a full on ocean view which was great. The beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was large and well supplied. The glass bathroom and shower are really nice. If I had any complaint it would be a few more outlets for charging all of the electronics, but thats a really minor concern. Television is large with a nice selection of channels, but with the beach steps away who really cares about T.V. ? Nice balconey. Although we had a room that was on the Ocean avenue side at night it was very vey quiet. The pool area is also very nice, with a large whirlpool spa. There is a complete exercise room where you can get a full workout. Nice business center as well. Free, fast wifi throughout the property is a real plus. The entire hotel is kept spotless, no, really spotless.
There really is nothing to complain about. Maybe a coffee option in the mornings in the lobby so you could enjoy the wonderful pool area while family sleeps in, but I'm seaching for any downside and its hard. Location, Location, Location. Beautiful design. Very comfortable. Attentive staff. Very clean. And a great value. I would return to this hotel anytime I could.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fbhfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Fbhfour,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Shore Hotel, your review is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear how wonderful your visit was during your time at our hotel. As a Four Diamond property, we make every effort to maintain prestigious grounds and to provide top amenities that contribute to a friendly stay. In your review, you touch on several key attributes that makes our hotel truly special and we thank you for that. Our staff works extremely hard each day to ensure every guest has the privilege to experience all our features and also experience the caring nature of our team, we are glad to know you able to appreciate each aspect. Thank you again for choosing Shore Hotel and please join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This place can't get any better.

1. Clean beyond clean
2. Friendliest staff ever
3. Perfect location
4. Gorgeous rooms
5. Perfect gym

It would be nice to have a restaurant there, but hey! There are a million places to eat in the viscinity! Forget about struggling which room. Who spends daytime in the room at the beach??Stop whining about the location of the tv, etc! Come on people!

It's so refreshing to have the staff say hello and smile.


We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boobot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph H, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Braxton23,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a favorable review about your recent stay with us. Your welcoming comments regarding our friendly staff, clean rooms, great gym and perfect location are a few of the features that helps create a friendly environment and an enjoyable stay. Our staff is willing to answer any questions one may have about the surrounding area and we do apologize if you were not informed about our onsite restaurant, Blue Plate Taco. Please join us again soon to once again enjoy all the features reflected in your review and to also try our great restaurant. We look forward to your return and thank you for choosing Shore Hotel as your place to stay when visiting Santa Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel recently. We had a hard time deciding which room to reserve, so I thought I would write this review to help others.

To be clear for everyone, our room was the Partial Ocean View Junior Suite with two queen beds. This type of room is located in the corner on the inside of the U. All of these types of rooms are located in this corner, if I heard the manager correctly. The room itself was nice, but my only dislike about this corner suite was that the balcony was very cramped. Since it's in the corner, the balcony is cornered two, and it was very tight to move around in. And only one seating position had a good view. The other seating position had it's view limited by the wall. And if someone got up, they could barely get by. This suite might have been larger than a regular room, but if I go to this hotel again, and I would have no reason not too, I'll get a regular room, or the full ocaen view.

As far as the rest of the hotel, great. Great hot tub too.

Room Tip: Avoid the Partial Ocean View Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blazin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Blazin65,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are thrilled we were able to host you and your friend all the way from Alabama for an enjoyable Santa Monica experience! Our Junior Suites do offer a larger accommodation which definitely is more comfortable for families. The seating area not only provides extra lounging space, but also a pull out sofa just in case you need three beds. Due to the fact that it was just two of you and the view was of high importance, one of our ‘Ocean Premiere’ rooms probably would have been a better fit. It gives a full view of the ocean from any angle in your room and is simply breathtaking. You definitely will have to come back and try out one of those rooms! Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I must admit, my first stay at the Shore this summer was a little disappointing. I felt the staff was aloof, and for the price of the room, I expect a little more. Since then, I have stayed 2 additional times my stays were excellent! The entire team was pleasant and courteous. The rooms and hotel are hip and beautiful. I absolutely love this place and will continue to stay here when in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MnJ_102007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
MnJ_102007,
Thank you for your review and for being a valued repeat guest here at Shore Hotel. I am delighted after speaking together we were able to have you back with us and that we earned your much appreciated praise and loyalty via our personable guest experience. We are honored we are now your choice destination in LA and our entire team looks forward to your return which we hope is in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

As everyone says, this is a new, hip, modern, chic hotel right across the highway from the beach and very near the pier. The bathroom rainfall shower is one of those best hotel experiences ever and one you won't forget. The pool area was a comfortable and happening place for a quick dip or just to hang out and relax. The staff was very helpful, friendly and efficient. For all of these reasons and more, it's easy to understand why this hotel is rated number 1 on Tripadvisor at this time.

But I'm mainly writing about the junior suite with a partial ocean view, which we booked for our 3-day stay. The reason for the "partial" view is because the junior suites are tucked into the corners of the U-shaped building which faces the beach. And the view is actually quite good once you step out onto the small L-shaped balcony. Because your room is tucked into the corner of the building though, there is only one small window and a single glass paneled door in the corner of the room. The sofa area itself is a small alcove, a little dark and not really "user" friendly as relating to the location of the main bedroom part of the room. For instance, there would be no way to watch t.v. from the sofa area. Kind of hard to explain but just keep in mind that we booked the room for the extra space but ended up not using the sofa alcove area at all. And if you were thinking of using it as a private sleeping space, that would not work either as it it just an alcove, part of the main room,. Would not book the junior suite again but otherwise, loved this place and hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patcee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Patcee,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your visit from Sonoma County. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our amazing rainfall showers and various other state of the art complimentary amenities we are delighted to offer to our guests. I will be sure to pass along your praise to our team of passionate hoteliers who take great pride in the guest experience we provide and in creating a personable escape from outside stresses. We would love to have you back with us in the future and will be sure to find the exact room type you are looking for during your next stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback and detailed review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,571 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
600 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,556 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing