We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Terrace BC Canada
2 reviews
“Highly recommend!!”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great location! Very modern and comfortable. Free wifi.....I hate paying for wifi!! All staff very friendly and helpful. Will definately be back!!

Room Tip: recommend a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susieq917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Services Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Susieq917, Thank you so much for your review! We are more than thrilled you had such a great stay! Wi-Fi is one of our amenities that we gladly offer our guests free of charge and we are glad you took advantage of it. I will also pass along your praise to our staff and I know they will be very pleased they were able to make your stay enjoyable. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,706
    687
    240
    85
    62
See reviews for
999
795
119
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (742)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The Shore is new and modern and very nicely set up, we got a good deal on a garden view room, which was upgraded to a partial ocean view with balcony upon arrival which was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful and accommodating, especially Derek and Stevie. The room was new and clean and quite spacious, with complimentary wifi, and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. I agree with previous comments re some information in the room or in the foyer re local attractions, restaurants, transport, etc would have been helpful.

The location is terrific, in front of the pier, a couple of streets from the Third Street Promenade, lots of restaurants and cafes and shops nearby, all within easy walking of the Shore.

If we ever travel to LA again, we will definitely stay at The Shore.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyColly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
MollyColly, Thank you so much for taking time to share about your experience at The Shore Hotel. And, we are more than thrilled that it was an experience that will bring you back in the future! As you saw, the location is unbeatable, the rooms are beyond comfortable, and our staff is extremely accommodating. I will certainly make sure to pass along your praise to Derek and Stevie, for they are shining examples of what we strive for; excellence! Can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Shore was a terrific treat and surprise! I have not stayed in Santa Monica for some time, but reserved a room here after reading the reviews. I'm very glad I did! They have done a beautiful job with the renovation...room was top notch, location unbeatable, amenities wonderful, staff friendly and helpful, and I felt vey chic just walking into the lobby! The room was very peaceful (on the "garden" side) with fountain, bed was super comfy, balcony really nice, housekeeping staff super efficient, and the lobby is gorgeous. My cab driver from the airport insisted on carrying my bags in for me, I think just to see the hotel for himself! Super stay, a 100% recommendation! In fact, I got home to Montana and immediately looked for a reason to return to LA so I could stay at the Shore with my sweetie! I'll be back in 6 weeks and can't wait!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, check out Garden facing rooms. I'm not usually a fan of the first floor, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank montanalovevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Montanalovevacation, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are ecstatic that your return to Santa Monica was with us! That’s great that your cab driver wanted to check out our lobby! It certainly is eye catching and definitely attracts the best of them. I will pass along your praise to our staff. From front desk to housekeeping we certainly are a top notch team. Also, I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed the garden view room. We take great pride in every room. Can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wow! We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Very modern style and gorgeous at night. Definitely the BEST location of all the hotels near the Santa Monica pier (just across the street). I booked a "city view" room and enjoyed overlooking the "action" from the 2nd floor. On a budget, it was well worth saving the extra $$, altho' it could get a little noisy at night.

The hotel service was incredible. Agree with another reviewer that it was 5-star treatment all the way. The room was very clean.

There is a McDonalds around the corner, which is convenient if traveling with kids. It is also across the street from an excellent restaurant, The Lobster, for a delicious meal. The glass shower was interesting... it's actually pretty and makes the room look much bigger when the shade is up. Electric shade allows for privacy. Complimentary WiFi worked fine for me.

Only tip would be... when leaving the hotel, turn RIGHT on Ocean Ave. to get to 3rd St. Nothing to the LEFT and can get a little scary that direction. Agree with another reviewer that something in the room about local attractions, restaurants, shopping, etc. would have been great. Had to rely on mobile internet to get any local information.

Self-parking was expensive at $30 but parking garage felt safe and there were plenty of available spaces.

Price was right for the quality of the service, excellent location and the beautiful property. I would go back to Santa Monica just to stay here again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you so much wanderluster44! We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review! We're very pleased to know that you enjoyed our modern design, superb location and second to none service. This brand-new LEED certified building is beautiful on its own but we pride ourselves in providing excellent service that proves to be the icing on the cake. Your praises will be passed along to our team for sure. We will also inform housekeeping of your satisfaction with the cleanliness of your room as they also take great pride in ensuring our guests' stay is the absolute best! We really hope you have another chance to experience Shore Hotel and we look forward to your return. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My Fiance and I recently stayed at the Shore Hotel in Santa Monica and it was spectacular. We were initially assigned a room on the first floor in the second building with no view but when we approached the front desk, a representative named Jim was more than willing to help. For a fraction of the cost, we were upgraded to room #414 (top floor with full unobstructed 180 degree ocean view). The room was spectacular, all the creature comforts you can think of including a pretty neat modern glass shower. The sunsets were spectacular on the balcony and we had a view of the Santa Monica Pier as well. This hotel is located within a 2 minute walk of the Santa Monica Pier and right around the corner from 3rd Street Promanade. The location and value is truly unbeatable and we would love to stay there again very soon!

Room Tip: Anything with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
K N, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to Shore Hotel! We pride ourselves in ensuring each guest enjoys their "Shore Experience" and it pleases us to know that we have succeeded in doing so during your stay! We're so happy to know that Jim was able to offer you an upgrade so that you could experience the breathtaking ocean views! The sunsets are simply wonderful! We get a similar view while at the front desk in our beautiful glass covered lobby! We are also delighted to hear that you also enjoyed our convenient location and was able to take advantage of it all while you were here. We hope you do have an opportunity to return and thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The hotel is a 2 minute walk away from the pier and the third promenade where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants and shops. It really is ideally situated and there is no need to hire a car as there is plenty to do in Santa Monica.
The rooms were very spacious, clean and modern. They were much larger than most hotels and had great views of the garden and the ocean. The external door to the balcony was sound proofed and there was no noise during the night.
The pool and hot tub, as well as the gym, were clean and open long hours. There were also plenty of sun loungers around the pool, with towels provided.
The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The Shore the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in and I am already planning a return trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your review Hannah E! We are so excited to learn that not only did you enjoy Shore Hotel and its amenities but that our phenomenal staff provided you with excellent service! Just as you mentioned, and many of our previous guests, our location can't be beat!Guests rarely have to move their cars from the garage as one can simply walk to all of Santa Monica's attractions. We're so happy you had a chance to experience our state-of-the-art fitness center and lovely heated swimming pool. Our sound-proof balcony doors provide guests with the option to keep street noise out and coziness in! We thank you so much again and anxiously await your upcoming return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

What a great hotel! The first night we stayed in a city view room. The next 2 nights we decided to upgrade to an ocean view room which overlooked the pool and faced the ocean. The location is terrific! Walking distance to the Pier, restaurants, Santa Monica Place Mall, & Third Street Promenade. The hotel and rooms were immaculate...and we're picky about cleanliness! The room is on the smaller side but the location and cleanliness definitely outweighed the size of the room. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMT1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Hello etc 13 and thank you so much for posting a review! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Shore Hotel and our location! As you mentioned, we are right in the center of everything that IS Santa Monica! Our beautiful ocean view rooms gives guests the opportunity to experience breathtaking views and we are so happy to know that we were able to upgrade you the last days of your stay. Our housekeeping department and their director are dedicated to creating a wonderful lasting impression by providing guests with immaculate rooms and your praises will surely be passed along. Thank you so much again and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,541 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,455 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing