We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
nuclear_rikku
1 review
“Love this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We love Santa Monica and saw this hotel before it was open. Upon investigation, we love that it is a LEED hotel as well. The rooms were pricey and the rooms were a bit smaller than other hotels, but the bathroom and the view were uncompromising. The staff were all friendly and accomodating, the pool and the workout room just lovely. The grand opening rate was okay and when booked directly with the hotel, they also threw in some comps. The pier was super close and therefore so was the beach. The mall and promenade also a stone's throw away. Awesome location!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuclear_rikku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
nuclear_rikku I’m so glad you loved our hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. The view and location are truly unbelievable and I’m glad you noticed. Thank you also for your kind regards to our friendly staff. Our team’s goal is to go above and beyond to make each guest feel welcome and I’m glad they did that with you. Hope to see you soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,634
    667
    236
    81
    57
See reviews for
954
770
112
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (719)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Beautiful new modern hotel in great location.Walking distance to anything from movie theatre to grocery store.Friendly staff upon arriving giving us suggestions on places to visit.Bright modern clean room with great view(check out the dissappearing shower curtain!)The pool area is great for both adults and kids.Cant wait to go back with my grandaughter.....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clairedelune92064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim S, Guest Service Supervisor at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
clairedelune92064 Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review. I’m so glad your first visit to Santa Monica was with us! Our team really tries to create a memorable experience for each guest and I’m certainly glad you noticed. We can’t wait for you to come back and have your granddaughter enjoy our wonderful heated pool just as you did. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

The Shore hotel was the most expensive of our trip. Santa Monica is an expensive place to stay anywhere. Pluses are the location , newness, pool area and decor.

Minuses are: price, rooms are small compared to other hotels in US, car parking is expensive and with no driveway valet,(choose self park which is cheaper) no bath in the bathroom and no food or bar on site. If any of these things are of importance to you then you may wish to go elsewhere.
If you want a nice up market hotel in Santa Monica and you can get a good price for the Shore then it is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Dieter Schmitz at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2012
Rinnia,
Thank you for choosing Shore Hotel during your travels from Sydney! We appreciate all of your wonderful compliments regarding our building and location. We hope to have you back in the near future as we continue to build the Shore Hotel Experience as we gain our restaurant and bar in June!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2012

Stayed here mid dec 2011 on my visit to California from the UK and found it very clean, modern and the staff friendly and welcoming. Even the security guard went out of his way to find us a local restaurant. The rooms were spacious and our room had the 'cheeky shower curtain'. We had no faults to report when housekeeping came to check that all was ok. Location for Santa Monica couldn't be better and only a leisurely stroll to Venice beach. my only negative comment goes for all American hotels - please get kettles in the rooms, so us English can make ourselves a proper cup of tea. I would happily return to this hotel

Room Tip: We got a deal to upgrade to a sea view- always worth asking if you feel it's worth a little extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
PaulineT, we really appreciate your taking the time to write a review! As you have mentioned, our location is right in the heart of it all! Minutes from Venice Beach, Malibu and around the corner from every shop, restaurant and of course the world famous Santa Monica Pier across the street! It makes for a truly convenient stay as most guests never even pull their car out of the garage. We take great pride in providing our guests with top-notch service and it doesn't just begin and end with our guest services team, but each and every employee here at Shore Hotel and I am delighted that you had a chance to experience it. Your suggestion about the kettles is a great one. Each suggestion and/or feedback is taken into consideration and I will certainly bring it up at our next meeting. We cannot wait to have you back and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have visited Santa Monica several times but this was our first stay at The Shore and it will not be our last. Loved the zen feel and look of the hotel, the cool set up of the room and of course the great location,near the beach, shops and restaurants.

Service was warm, friendly and helpful - enjoyed a great experience.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RespectTheTruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
RespectTheTruth,
As you allude to we aim to create a truly personable experience here at Shore Hotel and are delighted we were able to do so during your time spent with us. Our central location, amicable staff, and our beautiful brand new property have quickly become the choice destination in Santa Monica and this is an honor we take great pride in as a collective team. We love hearing from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Our entire team eagerly awaits your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

I love the beach community Santa Monica and often recommend staying here when visiting L.A. (Los Angeles). Even if you plan on crisscrossing the city to see all the more or less worthwhile attractions (Hollywood, Universal Studios, Downtown, etc), Santa Monica is still the ideal place to begin and end a day's long journeys in traffic.

Santa Monica has the some of L.A.'s cleanest air, friendly locals and there are plenty of nice cafés, bars and restaurants and really, really good shopping here. And of course, this is where you'll enjoy the gorgeous Santa Monica Beach – literally spearheaded by the classic amusement park on Santa Monica Pier.

Up until recently, Santa Monica only had a few reasonably good hotels. Most of them large and corporate (boring), some of them complete dives that should be avoided (dirty, run down and expensive).

The Shore Hotel opened late last year and represents exactly the type of small hotel I love staying at. Fresh, modern, thoughtfully designed and decorated - making sure to put function before form. The Shore is aesthetically pleasing without imposing too many design statements or over-the-top architectural och interior features.

The Shore has fully equipped, standard sized guest rooms (our double room had two double beds), a beautiful, heated courtyard pool with an adjacent hot tub and a small, but sufficient exercise facility. If you're staying in one of the ocean view rooms, you'll enjoy an amazing view of the Pacific.

Staff are friendly and helpful in a casual, yet professional way. In a few weeks (Feb 2012) the restaurant will open. Can't wait to return to try it out (and the then available room service).

Room rates were reasonable ($220/night through Booking.com) and there is both valet and self-serviced parking in the building.

+/-

+ Exterior and interior
+ Beds/pillows
+ In-room workspace
+ Staff
+ Rates
+ Location
+ Heated outdoor pool
+ Elevator voice pronounces Lobby, "Labby". Very funny.

- Parking fee: $30/24hrs (not funny).
- Slow WiFi.
- Shower's water pressure (way to low in room 205).

I travel a lot and stay at a lot of different types of hotels all over the world. The Shore offers a really good hotel experience that I can highly recommend. Look forward to my next visit to the always lovely Santa Monica.

Room Tip: For a great view of Santa Monica and the beautiful Pacific Ocean, choose a room high up and close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nichelle N, Assistant Front Office Manager at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Joakimraboff, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay! I'm so happy to hear that Shore Hotel is the type of hotel you love staying at and we hope that you will continue to do so. We can't wait for our restaurant which is still on the way but coming very, very soon. Ginsler has designed a hotel that we are very proud of and glad that you also found it very functional. We make every effort to provide each guest with an experience unlike any other and to hear that you had some trouble with wi-fi and the water pressure in you room are issues that we can quickly remedy. In keeping with our LEED certification, our "rainshowers" do provide a rainfall effect but if the pressure seemed lower than normal we definitely could have serviced that for you. Our parking rates are competitively set based on other options in Santa Monica along with a brand new and secure underground garage that is accessible 24 hrs a day. I too thoroughly enjoy the "elevator voice" and it makes me smile each time I hear it; very humurous that you noticed it.Thank you again and please come back to visit us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

My wife and I loved our stay at this hotel. The location is fantastic. The Santa Monica Pier is just across the street and the views of the ocean are spectacular. The woman who checked us in was very friendly and very knowledgeable about some of the best sights to see in the area. Our room was modern, comfortable and clean. The pool area was very nice and the water was warm. I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
Rick B,
Thank you for your review! We here at Shore Hotel take great pride in providing our guests with a uniquely personable guest experience far from the mundane hotel norm that many have come to accept. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us from our pool to our guest services team. We greatly look forward to your return visit with us and thank you once again for sharing your experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#14 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,315 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Property: Shore Hotel
Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property. Shore Hotel is pleased to announce the recent opening of our poolside bar as well as the much anticipated opening of our restaurant, Blue Plate Taco on September 23rd, 2012. Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing