We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, snuggled amongst bars, restaurants and shopping & BEACH!”
Review of Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shore Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Hotel was modern and pool/jacuzzi was perfectly heated! Hotel staff was friendly and accommodating - Stevie at the front desk was super friendly and personable! Will definitely plan for another girls weekend and have Shore Hotel as our crashing pad :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Lorig A,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our amazing pool and jacussi area as well as our central location. We will be sure to pass along your praise to Stevie as well who will be very pleased to hear your feedback. As a team we are very proud to provide personable service and to have personalities that create a lasting impression for our valued guests. We aim to create an escape from the day’s stresses and if even only for a night to provide you with service levels that create a truly enjoyable experience. We are honored to be your host during your girl’s weekend and look forward to hosting the next one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,026)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,588 - 2,594 of 3,026 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stayed at the Shore Hotel last weekend for just one night for my birthday and it was amazing. We had the best person helping us check in, Stevie Austin. She was helpful and charming. Really nice to be greeted with a great personality. Helped start my stay off on the right note!

The hotel was beautiful as well. Great lobby and an amazing pool especially at night! The rooms have a great layout and the decor is perfect. Can't beat the location either! Easy to get to the resturaunts and shopping etc.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mplescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

mplescia,
Thank you for letting be your host during your birthday celebration! We love hearing Stevie was able to get your birthday party going with her service during your arrivals. We are very proud to provide uniquely personable service that is purely genuine and are happy we accomplished that during your stay. Our pool has become quite the attraction both during the day and at night with our neon blue lighting. We hope we can celebrate your birthday next year here at Shore Hotel and thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Can't get a better location in Santa Monica; walk to Pier, Promenade, great shops & restaurants. Hotel is chic without being stuffy. We had our 7 year old with us and didn't feel at all uncomfortable. Rooms are large and comfortable, staff was genuinely nice and helpful, hotel is well appointed and beautiful.

Room Tip: We had a "garden view" room which was very quiet and we still had an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

eatapper,
Our entire team thanks you for your review and is so happy to hear your comments. From our pre-opening onwards we had a vision of providing personable service that was a refreshing escape from the mundane forced hotel norm many have grown accustomed to. Your comments serve as a good measuring stick that we are succeeding in doing so and we thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Ocean view across from Santa Monica Pier was delightful both day and night! Staff is well trained and provided excellent service. Room was cozy. Parking was easy. Within Walking distance to 3rd St. Prominade...great shopping,excellent dining & street performers!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pkbrokken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Pkbrokken,
Thank you for your review. We are honored to hear our team provided service excellence throughout your stay as we treat every guest interaction we have with the utmost level of respect, dedication and passion. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Situated in between Santa Monica Pier and Third Street Promenade on Ocean Avenue, the Shore Hotel offers comfortable rooms and terrific views. The only problem with our stay was the noise coming from the major street which awoke us very early. The view was Santa Monica but the noise was New York City. The rooms are not very spacious but the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom nicely decorated. The price of the room was not as expensive as the hotels on the other side of the Pier (Shutters, Loews, etc.) but the rooms are comparable. We came here to celebrate our anniversary and will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EncinoJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

EncinoJason,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our ocean front location central to the best shops and restaurants Santa Monica has to offer. We are honored you choose us as your host for your anniversary and hope we can repeat the same for years to come. Thank you once again for your review and congratulations on the anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed in November for 9 days, Great Hotel, comfortable beds, great view if you have a ocean view room, free web accesss, the staff are all fantastic and the girls on reception are more than helpful plus it was a pleasure to talk with them, a special mention is a must for James from concierge as he just adds that liitle bit of character that makes you feel very welcome to the Hotel:).
Room rates I feel are on the high side however I suppose that will be sorted based on supply and demand, parking is also very expensive at the Hotel however we found cheaper overnight parking just down the road.
Keep up the great work and we will be back on our next trip to the USA.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Weluvt0travel2,
We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your 9 nights with us here at Shore Hotel. We are pleased to offer complimentary wireless to our valued guests. Our entire passionate team thanks you for your kind words. We will be sure to pass along your praise to James as well. We are very proud of the personable genuine personalities we have here to provide our guests with a unique experience second to none. We are honored we will be your choice destination during your next visit to Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon 'tour' of the USA. We chose it based on location and weren't expecting much as it had only been open 3 weeks- boy were we delighted!
Hotel staff from front desk to bellhop to housekeeping were exceptionally friendly, helpful, courteous and NICE.
Rooms are lovely-clean, comfortable with the facilities you'd expect, plus a glass walled bathroom! Thankfully the privacy screen button was pointed out to us. It was a bit chilly to use the hotel pool but we'll be back. Other reviews have criticized the hotel parking prices- there is a perfectly safe car park behind the hotel as an alternative. The only thing I'd suggest to improve is the directional signage to elevators (we got lost!) and to provide an information folder/booklet for families/guests with places to visit in the area. We really enjoyed our stay here and will return in the new year.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madamep1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DieterSchmitz, Director of Guest Services at Shore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2011

Madamep1975,
Thank you for your review and your amazing picture of our pool area. We are honored we were a stop on your honeymoon tour. While we are brand new as you mentioned we made sure our service levels and entire team were ready the second we opened our doors to provide a guest experience like none other and are delighted we accomplished this during your stay. We greatly appreciate your suggestions and can assure you they have been acted upon. We hope to see you next year and for many anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
Palihouse Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
426 reviews
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#6 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Hotel

Address: 1515 Ocean Avenue, Santa Monica, CA 90401-2118
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range: $360 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of legendary 5 star customer service and breath taking ocean views Shore Hotel celebrated our soft opening in early October of 2011 and are proud to be Santa Monica's first and only upscale boutique Gold LEED certified property.Shore Hotel is located on Ocean Avenue in Santa Monica, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier, 3rd Street Promenade, and the city’s popular beaches and shopping districts. Shore Hotel is the newest addition to the coastline—a Gold LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certified property that offers eco-friendly accommodations with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean. Gensler Architecture conceived the Shore Hotel’s California modern design, which features 164 stylishly appointed rooms dressed in beach shades of teal and orange and outfitted with custom-made Teak wood furniture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing