We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!”

Sweet Rose Creamery
Ranked #7 of 34 Dessert in Santa Monica
Description: At Sweet Rose Creamery we make small batches of hand-crafted ice cream in our kitchen in Santa Monica. We use only the best ingredients we can get our hands on including organic milk and cream from Clover Farms, organic eggs from Chino Valley Ranchers, fresh fruit and nuts from our favorite famers at the Santa Monica Farmers' Market and more. Our kitchen is 100% GMO free and kosher certified.
Restaurant details
Description: At Sweet Rose Creamery we make small batches of hand-crafted ice cream in our kitchen in Santa Monica. We use only the best ingredients we can get our hands on including organic milk and cream from Clover Farms, organic eggs from Chino Valley Ranchers, fresh fruit and nuts from our favorite famers at the Santa Monica Farmers' Market and more. Our kitchen is 100% GMO free and kosher certified.
Picton
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Checked out the Brentwood Country mart, great place for lunch and I was told I had to try Sweet Rose ice cream.....no kidding. The lemon ice cream was delicious, the vanilla shake heavenly, the rocky road soooooo good and the chocolate ice cream yummy. Oh yes did I mention Ben Affleck was there with his wife? Didn't really recognize them but I guess they eat it frequently. It's okay though the ice cream was better than celeb watching!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Sublime ice cream!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

A trip to Sweet Rose was our reward after a long drive back from Santa Barbara. This time, I had the mint chip with butterscotch sauce (don't judge; try it!), and my husband had vanilla and salted caramel. All were absolute perfection: creamy, not overly sweet; like gelato, but not nearly as heavy-feeling. They have chocolate waffle cones, if that's your thing, and the ice cream sandwiches (earl gray on vanilla wafers) are a must.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGirlNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Really fabulous homemade ice cream”
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for really creamy homemade ice cream then this is the place. Some really unusual flavored coupled with some of the classics. The salted caramel flavor is killer. A bit pricey but you get what you pay for. The staff for the most part was really friendly but the big fellow who waited on us feb 4 evening just didn't want to be there and talked on the phone and made a hot fudge Sunday with basically no fudge and no nuts. Last night the wait staff was incredibly nice so go figure. Brentwood country mart is cute so it's worth the short wait in line

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chowdog65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“High Quality Ingredients With Equally High Prices”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I love ice cream. Always have. Always will. And when it is handmade on site, I am overjoyed.
That said, it should be noted that you need deep pockets if you want to be a regular customer.
Unusual flavors that appeal to adult palates, it is definitely not for kiddies. It's small, narrow and the only seating is outside. Servers are friendly, helpful and allow you to sample flavors before you buy.
I'm sure I will return when I am in the neighborhood, which is once a month.. But I won't make a special trip to buy their ice cream.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cuppajoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladybugthepug
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place deserves more love!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found this delightful ice cream shop after much searching on the internet. It was fantastic. My husband had the Bacon sundae, which literally had candied bacon on it and I had an ice cream sandwich. I also sampled some of their numerous toppings, many of which were yummy and not run of the mill - think salted walnut crumble and pecan brittle. Be prepared to wait, but it's totally worth it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybugthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Rose Creamery also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Sweet Rose Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing