We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood”

Santa Monica Seafood
Ranked #44 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Highland, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
298 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Okay we are Marylanders and we fancy we know a thing or two about good seafood but wow this place was great. It is both a market and a restaurant and the array of beautiful stuff is impressive.
we had a scrumptious tuna tartare with a sort of chip and trout and seafood pasta dish. I'm being a little bleary for being less than descriptive but it has capers, garlic clams, scallops, shrimp, calamari and was yummy. Best place we have eaten in Cali this trip

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RuffleScruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    67
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood reasonably priced”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I love seafood. It is so easy to tell good produce and the combination of a fishmonger with a cafe is just great. It shows confidence in the product and the product here is good. We ate oysters, cooked mussels, calamari, whole cracked Dungeness crab all knocked it all back with a Pinot Grigio. The only criticism I could have is the wait for a table, but when food is this fresh waiting is not a problem.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyS1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Texas
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Sleek seafood market/small restaurant right on Wilshire. Staff at the wonderful Hotel Ambrose recommended this place for lunch and it was a home run! The seating is limited but we ate a very late lunch and were quickly accommodated - imagine there could be a wait at peak times. Brisk, efficient service, great menu - our salads were absolutely wonderful - freshest seafood and the usual perfect California produce made for memorable salads. This is one place I will return to on our next trip to LA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kauaiinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went to the Santa Monica Seafood restaurant this week with family.

For those that do not know the restaurant, it is part working shop and part restaurant. But do not be put off by this as the food is great.

The service was excellent (our waiter was called David) and after choosing our meal, we asked him to choose a suitable wine, which was great.

The food was excellent and the service matched.

Will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Casual Atmosphere”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

2/3 fish market, 1/3 restaurant. The seafood is super fresh. The cioppino is great! Lots of great restaurants. I return to this one each time I am visiting the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ankehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing