We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Monica Seafood

Santa Monica Seafood
Ranked #43 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
North Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Sleek seafood market/small restaurant right on Wilshire. Staff at the wonderful Hotel Ambrose recommended this place for lunch and it was a home run! The seating is limited but we ate a very late lunch and were quickly accommodated - imagine there could be a wait at peak times. Brisk, efficient service, great menu - our salads were absolutely wonderful - freshest seafood and the usual perfect California produce made for memorable salads. This is one place I will return to on our next trip to LA.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kauaiinmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    65
    12
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

We went to the Santa Monica Seafood restaurant this week with family.

For those that do not know the restaurant, it is part working shop and part restaurant. But do not be put off by this as the food is great.

The service was excellent (our waiter was called David) and after choosing our meal, we asked him to choose a suitable wine, which was great.

The food was excellent and the service matched.

Will return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadauk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Casual Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

2/3 fish market, 1/3 restaurant. The seafood is super fresh. The cioppino is great! Lots of great restaurants. I return to this one each time I am visiting the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ankehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fresh Seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

It did not look like a restaurant, at first I thought it was a seafood market that sells specialty items. Then we saw the crowded tables with delicious food. The crab cakes were delicious. I really enjoy all the dishes; sea bass and scallops!

We sat near the windows and it was nice to look out the sunny street! It felt like we had a little extra room among the crowded restaurant and market place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank slma12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable, delicious seafood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Found restaurant by mistake. We were headed towards Huckleberry's, and walked right by SMS. Menu was extensive, not overly expensive. Smoked salmon salad and Fish Ñ' Chips was great. Service just OK. We'll
Definitely go back.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing