We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want fish? Here you go”

Santa Monica Seafood
Ranked #44 of 691 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $32
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You want fish? Here you go”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I tend to have the chowder. Really excellent and nourishing. My colleagues are more adventurous but everything I see looks extremely appetising.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    67
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Near the Beach”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you make it to Santa Monica for the beach or Pier go a little out of your way and have dinner here. We had a large party which they handled with no issues. Service was fantastic and the food matched.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank McWilliams29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“It's all about the oysters”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My husband and I love traveling around for great oysters. The best by far at Santa Monica Seafood were the Beausoleil. The Kusshi and the Kumamoto were amazing too. We shared the mushroom ravioli as an entrée - delicious! Glad we shared because it was very rich. For dessert, I highly recommend the salted caramel ice cream sandwich. It is a bit difficult to get into the restaurant at peak times since they don't accept reservations, but the bar is first-come first-served so we lurked until someone got up and only waited about 10 or 15 minutes. It still would have been worth the 45 minute wait for a table, though. We really enjoyed sitting at the bar, as the other patrons were friendly and made some great recommendations that we tried and then passed on to the next people. The staff were very friendly and attentive. I hope to be in Santa Monica again, and if so will most definitely be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashlie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh, great quality seafood”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch there a couple of days back. The food was great, you can see the quality products they put it.

I was impressed with the service as well.

Portions are for one person and prices are not that cheap .

I liked it and will come back!

Helpful?
Thank ragdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Prices Up, Quality Down, Attitude as Bad as Ever”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

That sums up this week's lunch at what used to be one of my favorite places. Long ago I decided I could put up with the obnoxious hosting attitude (including no reservations, no table until the entire party arrives and tables assigned according to favorite patrons) because of the amazing quality of the freshest fish. And we still shop here for fish to bring home. But not only have the prices gone up yet again on the menu, but the quality has gone down. The swordfish in the swordfish sliders was room temperature at best, the wrong chowder came out (and when the correct chowder arrived my lunch companion declared it unimpressive) and I had to ask multiple times for iced tea to be refilled. I think we're now on a break.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fantasticv0yage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Monica Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Santa Monica Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing