We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but worth it?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 5, 2009

My fiance and I visited this hotel last month and had a very nice stay. It's an expensive hotel so the experience is very nice, but you are certainly paying for what you get!

As far as the physical quality, it is very nice, modern and clean. The view from our room was excellent although we didn't get a good view of the ocean until mid-afternoon due to the fog. We once walked down to the beach, but its not a walk right out the back of the hotel... you actually have to walk around the hotel to get to the beach...

The linens were wonderful though, and the bathroom was exceptional! We were also very satifsfied with the location. Only a few blocks away from a major and every extensive shopping district with high-end and medium-end shopping. The Santa Monica pier is also just a few blocks away and a very beautiful park as well.

We used room-service several times and it was average delivery time and very expensively priced for what you get. Juice was especially expensive for what you get. My fiance thought the food was very tasty though and personally recommends the sandwiches.

We were less than satisfied with the service though during our experience. We were disappointed with the fact that we were essentially forced to use the vallet parking. This meant we had to pay $20 a day whether we left the hotel or not. We were also frustrated with the fact that after we paid for wireless internet in our room, we would have had to pay additionally to use the computer in the business center. Usually, this wouldn't be that frustrating, but we needed to print our boarding passes and didn't have a printer in our room, obviously. We saw a sign in the business center that the front desk could print boarding passes so we went downstairs only to find that they couldn't help us out because we had already checked in to the airline online... If we had not checked in already they could have accomodated us.

Lastly, we noticed that since we were members of the preferred club with the hotel through a family member that booked the tickets for us, we got better service than average. I'd hate to imagine what it would have been like had we not had that privledge...

All-in-all, very nice but very, very expensive...

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmart84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,605)
There are newer reviews for Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,997 - 2,003 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2009

The location, almost on the beach next to the Santa Monica pier, is a privileged one. The service received from the staff was excellent, the facilites and amenities were great, they really helped make the meeting a success.

However, there's always something... the rooms were nothing to really write home about insofar as accommodations, for the high price; we're really being charged for location. One annoying thing about the room was a confusing, overcomplicated clock-radio unit that I could never figure how to set or tune (good thing I bring my own travel set). But what really was a major miss was in the bathroom -- it's evidently an elder/disabled-friendly set up with lots of handrails, BUT there was much visible rust-staining from the mounting hardware (see photo). That is something that should be trivial to prevent (just a little CLR every so often, and maybe change the hardware every so often) and is not expected in a high-end property. Price level and annoying lack of attention-to-detail prevent it from getting a 5, or from being recommended to someone paying out of their own pocket.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRDelirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We arrived at the Loews after a long flight from the UK and a rather interesting drive from the Airport. We were tired and a bit grumpy but the greeting from valet parking guys, bell hops and reception staff were so friendly we know we had chosen the right place to stay. Everything about the hotel was lovely, location was great, close to everything in Santa Monica and a great base for our first visit to LA. There was a minor hiccup with the billing but this was sorted very quickly and efficiently. I would definitely chose the Loews for my next visit to Santa Monica which I hope will be very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamsin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Very nice hotel. Room was clean and the staff were so helpful! Hospitality is so important and this place had it.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
1  Thank mysneaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Loews for the last 4 nights of our honeymoon and it made an extremely relaxing end to our two week trip. The service was top notch right from the start when we were upgraded to a suite due to the inconvenience of a conference going on at the same time as we were there. The swimming pool has a great ocean view and the gym was extremely well equipped with excellent classes. The $10 fee per day for using the gym was waived for us. i'm not sure if this is normal practice for guests, but I would have been alittle miffed to have been charged to use the hotel's gym, which is advertised as an attraction of the hotel. Parking is expensive at $30 a night, and it does seem that there are various extra charges, so worth taking these into account when you're budgeting your trip. Decent coffee was provided in the rooms free of charge. Little details betray this hotels 4* status as oppose to 5*, for example, TV in bathroom not working, old light fitting etc, but having received 3 nights for the price of 4, this was great value and we hugely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ASN82London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We just returned for Santa Monica and had the best experience at the Loews in Santa Monica. It was a combined work and late Birthday getaway trip and the front desk was so gracious, helpful, pleasant, and accommodating; simply amazing and this really set the tone for our entire stay. When checking in they must have noticed on my drivers license that is was just my Birthday and upgraded us 2 categories and even sent a bottle of champagne to our room. The room was great, spacious and a great view of the ocean. The bellman was awesome, used our last name and every time he saw us during our stay remembered us by name! The bar and outside by the fire pits had a great happy hour and wonderful staff. We ate one night at the hotel restaurant and was actually surprised on how good it was and how reasonably priced.
The hotel itself, the guest rooms, the hotel staff, and amazing location made this just the perfect hotel stay. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flycarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

I stayed a weekend here even though I live only 10 miles away, I wanted a relaxing weekend on the beach. While is was relaxing everything from the room to parking was overpriced and not really worth the over expense.
The location is great one reviewer said its not on the beach but its the closest hotel to the beach you just cross a tiny road that never has traffic on it then you can walk to the beach or pier. You close enough to hear the waves crashing and people screaming on the roller coaster on the pier.
The bed is super comfy sheats are sooooooooo soft.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeachGuy805818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,893 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,586 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
973 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,629 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $404 - $739 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing