We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, beautiful views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a room facing the beach, the view was gorgeous! We could even see the massive ferris wheel on the pier. The balcony was not as I envisioned. There was enough room for two people to stand!! The rooms were small. However I would stay here again. This is the type of location where activities keep your days busy, and the location was perfect. The restaurant was great, Barbara was a wonderful waitress and the fish tacos were out of this world!! Lobby was nice, pool was great, you had to cross a little street to get to the beach but it was an easy walk. Beach is wonderful and there is a 60 mile path that leads to other beaches. Plan on spending at least a few days here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparty80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Sparty80,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate your compliments to our property and our restaurant – so happy you liked the fish tacos as much as we do! We’re sorry to hear that your room size was not to your expectations, however, we are happy to hear you had a good experience overall. We value your feedback and do hope that you will return to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel soon.

Sincerely,
James Lemon


Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,305 - 1,311 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Lauren, Dustin and Cortez gave us excellent customer service. They were genuine in their concern for us and went above and beyond. I will definitely recommend Loews at Santa Monica in California again and again. I will be using their exemplary customer service as an example of great customer service.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Marchelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear Marchelle H.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you found our service staff helpful and had such a good experience. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews.

Sincerely,
James Lemon


Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This has by far been one of the best hotels I have been to in a while. Its because they focus on you, everyone says hello and ask you how you are doing. The Loews family cares about my stay and they are dedicated to making my stay an enjoyable one. I will continue to stay at the loews hotel in the future.. I will be raving about this awesome customer service for a long time.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelDhuntsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Dear AngelDhuntsgirl,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for recognizing the service you received from our hotel, and we hope you will return to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,
James Lemon


Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at Loews for a week in January 2014 with our 4 kids and us 2 adults We booked 6 months ahead from New Zealand as this was part of a month long Holiday in the states. We couldn't get 6 of us in 1 room so ordered 2 rooms side by side or interconnecting if poss. No guarantees were given but i had my travel agent request it and i also requested it by email to Loews twice , the 2nd time only a week before we arrived. Anyhow we arrived and found our rooms were on different floors and at complete diff ends of the hotel and the Hotel was full so they couldn't change it. This was disappointing as we had a lot of shared luggage and we were for ever having to each send the kids to the other room to get things we were sharing. Apart from this it is a great hotel in a great location with above average service. The rooms are bit tired and could do with an upgrade soon.

Room Tip: beach front with a balcony are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddandfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear ddandfamily2013,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us in detail. We are pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable.

We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request for interconnecting rooms but relieved to hear you had a good visit despite this. We are glad that you found our hotel and our service to your liking and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

James Lemon


Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is nice, next to the beach and 20 minutes from the airport. That is about al that is special about this hotel. Service is not very special, some staff is really unfriendly. It can just not be that the guest is nicer to the staff than vice versa. The rooms are outdated and need re-furnishing. They do have a nice bar however. The swimming pool overlooking the beach is also nice. I was in this place because of a business event but I would not chose it for a private vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor with either sea and/or poolview. Other rooms are close to a busy str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Middelburg,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel’s pool, bar and location.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the service you received and the furnishings, as this is clearly not the standard we wish to present. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate manager and we hope that you will stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to address the issues of concern.

Sincerely,
Jamie Lemon

Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed a stay at this hotel during early January, and we recommend this resort. Beautiful pool area with lovely view of the beach and famous Santa Monica pier. Good service, nice room, great place to relax!

Room Tip: Corner room with a view of the pier is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear pjb75,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so happy that you found our hotel and its services enjoyable and relaxing and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,


James Lemon
Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and was not disappointed. Our room overlooked the beach and Santa Monica Pier.
Location was perfect. Walking distance to main shopping malls, bus service, restaurants and of course Santa Monica Pier. Near the pier you can hire a bike and ride down to Venice Beach which is something you should see.
You can catch the bus along Santa Monica Boulevard tell the driver you wish to get off as close and possible to the Walk of Fame. Hotel staff were wonderful room clean would definitely stay at this hotel again. Some of the balconies are a bit small but the sunsets are awesome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Knox-j-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,911 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $422 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing