We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel on the beach”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We enjoyed a stay at this hotel during early January, and we recommend this resort. Beautiful pool area with lovely view of the beach and famous Santa Monica pier. Good service, nice room, great place to relax!

Room Tip: Corner room with a view of the pier is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjb75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear pjb75,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are so happy that you found our hotel and its services enjoyable and relaxing and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Sincerely,


James Lemon
Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    752
    365
    183
    137
See reviews for
938
651
98
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel and was not disappointed. Our room overlooked the beach and Santa Monica Pier.
Location was perfect. Walking distance to main shopping malls, bus service, restaurants and of course Santa Monica Pier. Near the pier you can hire a bike and ride down to Venice Beach which is something you should see.
You can catch the bus along Santa Monica Boulevard tell the driver you wish to get off as close and possible to the Walk of Fame. Hotel staff were wonderful room clean would definitely stay at this hotel again. Some of the balconies are a bit small but the sunsets are awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knox-j-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, ON
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

It started off great, check in was smooth. Than I arrived to my room, which wasn't as clean as I hoped. As well I had a direct view into the motel next door...which led less to be desired. I called down and was told there were no more rooms, but he could put me in a double bed suite and move me to an ocean view the next night. If I were to stay here again, I would ONLY book ocean view rooms. The others aren't as nice, especially the bathrooms. The pool and fireside cocktails also didn't go smoothy. I went down to read a book and have a glass of wine after a long day of travel. I had to ask for a menu, then asked for a server....then waited over 25 minutes for my wine. I gave up and left. The location is wonderful, the pool is pretty, ocean view rooms were great and front desk service was VERY well done. Overall they made up for the few hiccups.

Room Tip: Ocean View Only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My mom, sister and I stayed here for a week over 4th of July. The hotel was beautiful, clean and had a great location. It was expensive but everything is in that area. The rooms were a good size and clean. We enjoyed riding bikes to Venice Beach from the bike rental right by the pier. Hotel felt safe and was not overly big and overwhelming. Would go back again!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsonMerritt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear JohnsonMerritt,

Thank you for choosing to spend your 4th of July holiday with us and thank you for sharing your experience.

We are glad that you found our hotel and its grounds to your liking and very much hope that you will visit us again in the future.


Sincerely,

James Lemon
Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed at the Loews for business for two nights in January 12-14. California had been experiencing a warm spell and as a result spectacular weather and time to be by the beach. Landed late at night and check in was quick and easy. Woke up the next morning and went for a run on the beach, proximity and ease of getting to the beach was great. Had the breakfast at the restaurant on the 4th floor and the resto had a great selection of healthy and not so healthy fare. Opted for the huevos rancheros and in typical American style the portions were huge. Meal was very tasty. Enjoyed a conference call by the pool in the sunshine, where even though there were kids I was able to find a quiet corner. In the evening the concierge recommended a great French Asian fusion resto in Venice (we were tired of the SM strip) which while a tad on the expensive side was excellent. Check out and valet parking especially smooth.

Why not 5 stars, I was in one of the rooms on the 8th floor facing Ocean Ave which I assume is the older end of the building and there was a slight smell of backed up toilet which disappeared within the hour, but what a stink.

Otherwise, great hotel to stay at in SM, I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanna1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear joanna1971,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us in detail. We are pleased to hear most aspects of your stay went smoothly and were enjoyable.

We apologize for the plumbing issue but relieved to hear it was quickly resolved. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our pool and proximity to the beach and that you found your meal tasty and we sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to even better serve you.

Sincerely,


James Lemon
Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

First 3 days there we called to get cold water in bathroom fixed ,they would fix only to go cold again ,finally moved to another room only to have safe not working or no hair dryer ,another ph call .Two beds in both our rooms were meant to be queen beds but only had doubles ,you are really paying for location and pool which are fantastic but it needs to fix up the little problems .Costs a lot to stay there and they management need to get on top of these problems or we were just unlucky

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Craig G,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us in detail. We are very sorry to hear of your experiences at our hotel, as clearly this is not the standard we wish to present. We are glad that you found our pool and location to your liking and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Should you return, please feel free to contact any of our managers for personal assurance that your next stay will be comfortable.

Sincerely,


James Lemon
Executive Assistant Manager
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed in a luxury king room - beach front on a lower floor. While the view of the beach below the 4th floor is obscured by trees and telephone wires, it was still quite beautiful. I also liked the corner room - windows that open from both directions (north and west). I did have an option when I booked to pay for a higher floor guarantee, but the trade off for being able to use stairs and not the elevator was okay with me. The pool area was very nice (a lot more chairs than in the pics), excellent gym, and great beach access (private path right out the first floor door.

The service was phenomenal. Everyone from the pool servers to the front desk to room service and valet addressed me by name. Very responsive and super helpful.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great - above the 4th floor for unobstructed beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,811 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,561 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing