We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Service EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Service EVER”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I just checked into Loews and there is no denying the hotel is beautiful. The service, however, is so atrocious I don't even know what to say. The guy at the front desk did not say a word when I walked up to check in. No "Welcome to Loews" not even a "Hello". I started by introducing myself and letting him know I was there to check in and still... Nothing. No words, no eye contact nothing. I asked how much it would be to upgrade my room and his answer was a straight, blunt "there are no rooms available" - I find it hard to believe there was not ONE room available in this whole resort - Plus I would have paid a lot of money for a room upgrade - Wow! He handed me the key to my room, still, NOT SAYING ANYTHING and pointed to the closest lift. I still had a lot of questions like, y'know, is there WiFi, WHAT FLOOR DO I GO TO? I was left to figure all of this out myself. Now, I get to me room, I just paid $53 for terrible Wifi, but the most disappointing thing of all is that there is no ocean view as I was promised when I initially booked. Let me just say that if you're gonna book with Loews, I hope you don't mind really, really bad service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoewsSantaMonica, General Manager at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear ReviewUs,

Thank you for providing us with your impression of service. Please rest assured that your experience at arrival will be thoroughly investigated. To say that I am disappointed is an understatement. Each and every team member is accountable for service delivery, and clearly we failed you on your recent stay with us. I hope you will accept my sincere apology and would ask you to contact me if your travels bring you back to Southern California in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    731
    355
    180
    135
See reviews for
908
630
96
366
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loews is generally a nice hotel, and the Santa Monica hotel is no exception. Very accommodating staff for early arrivals and late check outs. The location is great with countless restaurants, bars, and shops within easy walking distance. The rooms were nice, but the only down side is that the noise from the pool area seems to be magnified due to the design.
No complaints, and would return here on my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AM173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely hotel in great location.
Rooms - Can be a little cramped by US standards but well fitted out and clean.
Bar area and restaurants are good with friendly and helpful staff.
Being right on the beach you cannot beat the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robsalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel location is very good but not many of the rooms actually look straight out onto the Pacific .Room amenities good but reception tried to bill us for the mini bar which we did not use, and we were not the only ones. Only had buffet breakfast in hotel which as expected was over priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool or pier view at rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I also found the walls paper thin and the noise of couples nextdoor annoying so used earplugs....the food was great but the wine by the glass tasted vinegary as if the bottle had been open for a few days and the top not screwed back on properly. You get a mixed clientelle of single businessmen at meetings and conferences as well as meeting guests in the lift in their wet bathing suits and pool towels. The staff seemed out of their depth but the location was so good with stunning views it made up for the more 3 star feel of the hotel. There are no beach towels or beach umbrella's/loungers provided. Bring your own toiletries. Our tv reception was fuzzy and I was only given a put you up bed for my son who is broad shouldered and 5'9" tall.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I purposely choose the Loews hotel as I wanted to stay at the least once in the family-owned chain (the chain is only present in North America). It will be probably the first and last experience before a while.

The property is well maintained but lack charm and personality. Staff is very inexperienced for a 5 star hotel and does not offer much value. Interestingly enough, the hotel charges wifi fee in the room ($10 per day – while the room rate was $600+) – it seems that the management did not understand that we moved to the Internet age – like having a shower with paying water…
As in most Santa Monica hotels, the pool is tiny – but as European – I would have expected some “beach” services… nothing ! No a towel at the beach level, not a shower before entering back the hotel, not a chair or an umbrella on the beach – no bar for a drink – while the beach is in front of the hotel. It seems that Loews does not want you to use the beach while the hotel is named Santa Monica Beach Hotel…
Net, net – great location, great asset, poor management

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baodai999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Loews in Santa Monica is in a perfect location. However, for the price that you pay, it would be nice not to hear the next door neighbors. The thudding went on and on. Guess I could have banged on the wall, but did not want to stop their fun.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Pier. Absolutely delightful during the nighttime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,745 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing