We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$479
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
$388
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Viceroy Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
$531
$396
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$679
$579
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$342
$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$423
$373
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$822
$515
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shutters on the Beach(Santa Monica)
$778
$740
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,785)
Filter reviews
2,785 results
Traveler rating
1,229
817
398
194
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,229
817
398
194
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitpool deckmuscle beachocean viewsanta monica beachferris wheelgreat poolbeautiful hotelper dayvalet parkingamazing locationthird street promenadelos angelesfew blocksvinepierconcierge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,614 - 1,619 of 2,785 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The locaztion is perfect. This boutique style property is more private, intimate and exclusive then most in the vicinity.

The rooms are mostly ocean view with balconies and terraces that overlook the famous Santa Monica Pier! The pool area is packed, nice gym and spa. Wonderful lobby bar and worthwhile happy hour with terrific sushi) . Lowes loves dogs and the rooms are well appointed with enough outdoor space for the dogs too stretch out too.
Perfect Beachfront location with bike and jogger path access.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the small side and romantic for two but get a suite is the kids are coming too.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jpresskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is disappointing when expectations are not met due to the lack of an investment. I think of Loews as very good operators with great locations and I generally think of them as a premium hotel. They recently updated the outside but inside the rooms were tired with stained carpet. They charge for using the gym and WiFi. I wish they would not do that. I mean wouldn't we feel better if the room was nice and they charged us ten buck more a night for the room but then let us use the gym and WiFi. That would feel better. Poor thinking. The staff at the front desk are good and courteous. The pier is convenient and the beach is nice.

Room Tip: Get a view or stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jlane1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a week while helping run a company conference at the hotel. The staff was excellent, the location is incredible (short walking distance to the Santa Monica Pier) and the food service was very very good. I was routinely surprised by the hotel's willingness to accommodate us. Nice bar and pool areas and a good fitness center too!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We booked in to this hotel when we 'escaped' from the London in West Hollywood. It was Saturday night and the hotel was very busy. However, the reception staff could not have been more helpful. We arrived early and had to wait from 1.30 to 4.00 to check in. That was not their fault. We were early. Despite this, they compensated us for the wait by paying for our dinner. In the morning, we asked for a late checkout as we were taking a night flight. They could not do this but paid for breakfast. Neither of these did they have to do but it left us feeling very positive. Just one warning. At 8am we watched people putting towels on the prime recliners by the pool and then disappearing. Very selfish and very annoying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suzimill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall a nice hotel with good rooms and a great location. Tried the sushi at the Ocean & Vine restaurant which I wouldn't recommend. The hotel charges for wifi access on a per device basis so if you have a laptop + iPad + 2 phones = $48 per day. SCAM!!!! The hotel had a seminar/convention on so from about 7 am I could hear a 100 people at my front door.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pankhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews