We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the first time, Tripadvisor misled me!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“For the first time, Tripadvisor misled me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

Based on Tripadvisor comments, we stayed at Le Merigot, next door to Loew's. I don't get it. While Le Merigot was perfectly acceptable, for only a very few dollars more, we could have stayed at Loew's, which seems FAR nicer. For one, Merigot doesn't have a view of the water from any public area, unlike the Loew's which has fabulous views from the lobby and the pool. The public areas themselves are also much nicer. I checked out a room (for our next stay!), and the rooms seem comparable, except Loew's offers balconies and double sinks. (The flourescent lighting is prevalent throughout California, probably at Shutters too.)

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank martas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    712
    344
    175
    131
See reviews for
861
607
93
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2008

Just returned from a pleasant stay at this upscale hotel. We had a spotless, comfy room on the 8th floor with a partial ocean view and everything we needed.Tasty breakfast in a nice restaurant overlooking the ocean. Great staff, especially the concierge who was very helpful. Excellent location right on the pier and all the shopping you want at walking distance. Perfect for us!

  • Liked — location, comfy room and bed
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alsace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2008

My children and I stayed at the Lowes Santa Monica for 4 nights in February. Our rooms were ready, next to each other, and had cookies and milk waiting for us when we checked in. The bellman was great, as was the front desk staff. Housekeeping noticed that I was going through Kleenex pretty fast (had a cold) and thoughtfully left an extra box for me. All the staff were great, room service was reasonably tasty, the location convenient to the pier, the beach, the main drag of Santa Monica. Nice check-in gifts for kids. The bad parts, though, really got to me. The carpet on the 6th floor appeared to have extensive water damage and a terribly moldy smell. We were in non-smoking rooms--but had to walk through smoking to get to the elevator. Ugh. The carpet in my room was stained and ruined, some of the upholstered furniture stained(big huge off color blotches--ewwww!), and the bathroom felt like a Holiday Inn upgrade and I expected something nicer. The in-room coffee pot didn't work. The rooms are a good size and well equipped, but the dinginess got to me after a day. Too, every light bulb in the rooms is florescent, and while I applaud the enviro component, the constant yellow cast reminded me a of bug zapper and began to really get to me because the room felt dark and cheap and gross. I didn't think the rooms would bother me that much because I knew we'd be gone all day. Wrong! Next time, I'd splurge for Shutters.....

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff
  • Disliked — Poorly maintained rooms and some public spaces
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyFromAllOver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Loews Santa Monica Hotel in california. We actually won the holiday so we were very apprehensive about the whole holiday but from the time we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. On checking in we were given an upgrade from partial ocean view to full ocean view, our room was of a very high standard with everything we could have asked for. We couldn't have wished for anything more, the views from our room were amazing overlooking the Pacific Ocean.The hotel is just a short stroll to local shops, bars and restaurants. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a holiday to remember, we certainly did,.We brought home with us to the UK many happy memories. Once again thankyou to everyone at the Loews for giving us a very special holday to remember!

  • Liked — It was luxury from the moment we arrived.
  • Disliked — Fees to park the car
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gillsmith2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2008

My family and I stayed here for one night in early January 2008 after an all night flight from New Zealand. I had requested connecting rooms (king connecting to doubles) and we stayed in rooms 818 and 820. Despite the fact that the hotel was about half-full when we arrived in the late morning, the front desk was unable to get us into our rooms right away, so they let us use a different room to store our suitcases and change clothes in order to be able to use the swimming pool and spa area. Despite the overcast skies and cool weather, the pool was terrific. It's quite large and nicely heated. The adjacent hot tub was great, too! The spa has nice locker rooms and is well equipped. Despite my confirmed request for ocean view rooms, the rooms we were given were peakaboo ocean view. I grew up in nearby Pacific Palisades and was hoping to have rooms with views that looked north up the coastline towards Malibu, but we were too jetlagged to haggle once we finally got to our rooms. We had a nice lunch in the hotel's restaurant, but service was pretty slow. If you valet park a car there, they'll charge you $30 which I thought was pretty steep. There are two unusual bronze statues at the hotel, one in the front entrance of a guy holding a surfboard. There's another one at the pool of a young woman in a lounge chair. I later learned they are the son and daughter of the hotel's owner, which I thought was really quite strange. This hotel has great access to Santa Monica and the beach, but it was quite stormy when we stayed there, and just wanted to recuperate from our overseas flight before heading home. I only had two complaints about this property: the closet door in one of the rooms was cracked and hopelessly off track. And after I checked out, I checked my Visa account online to verify the hotel's charges and it seems they were adding a separate (and incorrect) extra charge that I had to dispute with their accounting department. That left a sour taste in my mouth. But overall, this is an upscale hotel in a nice location and I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable rooms and a good view (that could have been better)
  • Disliked — Billing dispute after checkout
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingManVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, Ca
Level Contributor
108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

The Loew`s Hotel in Santa Monica is a lovely hotel on a wonderful beach. The staff was very efficient and friendly and everything was spotless. I just have to say that for the price paid, our room was ordinary, something like you`d expect at the motel across the street. We were very disappointed in the room itself. It was so small that the coffee machine and ice bucket had to be stacked on top of the television cabinet.

It just seems to me that when you pay more than $500 a night for a room, the mattress and pillows should be softer, the view a bit more spectacular (we had an ocean view, but from just above the street, you couldn`t see much) and the bathroom lots larger.

Maybe because we asked for an extra day on our stay, they thought we were desperate. But since the hotel seemed nearly empty, did they actually think that we were this desperate? No next time for the Loew`s.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ukiahdds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2007

I have read some of the reviews of the Hotel and people seem to either love it or hate it . Sadly I'm in the unfortunate category of feeling ripped off after travelling for some months and this hotel was the only one that had this effect.

Don't get me wrong I love Santa Monica and it's people (except Bubba Gump), the location, the beach, the local scene, even the shopping... all great. But......

The management and staff at the Hotel I found to be lazy, disinterested and at times just rude. When you couple this with high rates (and a nice $50.00 a night govt tax on top which was not explained) we were not happy with our stay.

Other little things mad it less than average for a hotel of this size and name. Internet was charged at excessive rates with the irony of being able to pick up the free wireless connection from the hotel next door (which we couldn't use because we obviously weren't guests.

What I did find was excellent was the Houskeeping staff, friendly and hard working. Sadly they weren't supported by their front desk and management.

Final verdict stay at Shutters if you're looking for a good Hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The Management
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,468 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing