We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,946)
Filter reviews
2,946 results
Traveler rating
1,320
854
416
201
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,320
854
416
201
155
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fire pit pool deck muscle beach ocean view santa monica beach ferris wheel beautiful hotel great pool valet parking amazing location third street promenade los angeles few blocks vine pier concierge poolside
Filter
Updating list...
1,854 - 1,859 of 2,946 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I feel a little mean giving this hotel an average score, there was nothing wrong with it, many positives, but just didn't wow me.
Ok positives:
Location
Pool area - chilled water by the pool a plus
Free wifi in the foyer
Helpful concierge
Good housekeeping
Chilled lemonade in foyer
Use of shower facilities (after checkout)in the spa before leaving for lax! Wonderful

Not so positive points:
Price - yes you get a great location, clean & tidy hotel but I did expect more
Check in service: fairly ho-hum, nothing exceptional, not overly friendly, felt like the staff at checkin were judging us based on our luggage.
There's a lack of cafes or convenience stores close to the hotel
No negotiation for late check out - however this was made up for by the above point regarding spa facilities.
breakfast coffee & bagels - well over priced & not even toasted!

Conclusion: in Santa Monica it seems that your paying for the location/proximity to the beach. This hotel has that. It's clean & tidy, well maintained. It ticks a lot of boxes

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Enough is already said about the location; it is excellent.
The hotel itself: indeedf a beautiful lobby, we had a room on the 2nd floor (below reception) but still some view on the beach, just above "normal" street level (i would not have liked the 1st floor...).
Since we are not spending our days in our room, this was not a problem at all.
The pool is very (too) small. Good sunbeds, little shade (parasols pulled away for guests having lunch).
We had a problem with the taxi taking us to the airport (he overcharged the flat rate of 30 dollars) and we have notified the hotel about it. They offered their apologies and would track down the driver with the data I gave them. So, if you want to go to LAX aiorport, do not take Independant S.M. cabs. Hiopefully the hotel will stop working with them.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchTravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Not sure about American Standard but we didnt feel special and like in a upper class hotel. The check-in was very very friendly but the rooms were rather disappointing. Windows not insulated so you can hear street noise, aircon noise etc.. Nothing special for the price paid... Wifi not complimentary, no water, hygiene so so. This hotel would properly need a management change to get back to his old fame.

Room tip: no street side and not the side to the other hotel wing because of AC noise
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank germantravel78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This would be an ok hotel, if it wasn't so expensive. Everything about it is very average, except the well above average price. The rooms are average, the pool is very crowded, the service was indifferent, the ocean views are limited.

The picture of the pool attracted me the hotel. But given the tight confines around the pool, and the huge crowding, the reality of the pool area is not nearly as nice as portrayed in the picture.

The restaurant was closed for repairs while I was there, leaving the limited bar menu as the only food on the property for dinner. Management didn't seem particularly concerned about this, and didn't even offer to serve the full dinner menu in the bar. In my opinion it's unreasonable to charge the price for a full service hotel, and fail to offer one of the most basic services. They could have definitely worked around the repairs to offer a better solution, or at least a discount or other gesture.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlinextralight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband has stayed here several times and really enjoys the large corner suite #444. When our stay was booked, he requested the same suite which comes with a very high price tag in my opinion. When we checked in, we were told our suite was not available for the first of our 5 nights because the current occupants had decided to stay an additional night. Apparently there is only one suite like the one booked. We were given a smaller but very nice King suite on the 5th floor which seemed to be an appropriate value for the amenities. I would have been content to keep it because we had a good view of the beach and the pool but my hubby wanted the big suite so we were told it would be available the following morning. It actually wasn't available until after 4:00PM and we had to keep checking with the front desk as we went about our daily activities so we would know when our luggage had been transferred. Not a big deal but at the price we were paying for the room, they weren't overly concerned about the timing or the inconvenience to us. Both rooms were nice but not crazy, jump on the bed because its so elegant - nice. The lobby and common areas of this hotel are lovely - much more so than the rooms we stayed in. The pool is a decent size and was very clean. The whirlpool was too crowded to be enjoyable. The place was packed until late in the evening. An unexpected pleasure is the fire pit torch things around the pool but there are only 2 or 3 so good luck getting a seat around one. Everyone wanted to sit there and sit there and sit there. Me too!
The spa was average to just above average. I got a facial which was great and a massage which was good. Pluses for the big suite - great view of the Pier and Muscle Beach. From our corner, you couldn't see the pool but it was private. The suite had 2 very nice bathrooms and was well appointed with a full size dining table for those late night snacks, living room with large tv, king bedroom with tv and seating. Very comfortable. I gave it a 3 because it really is expensive and the room switcheroo was aggravating. Maybe a 3 1/2 would be more fair.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank historyknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews