We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NForkLI
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All around pretty good”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Nice location for a 3 day jaunt to the LA area. We used as jumping off point for PCH, Rodeo dr, hollywood, Santa Barbara. Beach is nice, walk to pier, tons of people watching right out the back door. Pool area is cramped, but they have maximized the space...finding lounge chairs can be tough at times. Plenty of towels and they have fire pits at night with cockail tables, nice. Room was ok and i would stay standard by all measures. Breakfast in the hotel is pretty expensive. I would skip eating there, but def do the cocktails for sunset and eve before heading out for dinner. Staff was always friendly and helpful. We rented bikes and rode down to venice and marina del mar. Its not that far and a good way to catch some local flavor. Bikes were kind of junky. Really cool that the concierge had boogy boards for the kids (first come,first served).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 37Summit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    752
    365
    183
    137
See reviews for
938
651
98
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on a business trip. My room was a superior king with no sea view.
Check in was efficient with very friendly and helpful receptionist. I just love the vibe in this hotel, not at all stuffy, laid back yet extremely professional.

My room - bed was extremely comfortable. Large TV, plus small tv in the bathroom. Double sink with separate area for toilet and bath. The the bath was dated and the only thing in the room that let it down. Toiletries were good quality and plentiful. There is a coffee pod machine in the room with coffee, tea & hot chocolate, takeaway cups are supplied. Mini bar had a great choice but hugely expensive.

The pool area had such a great atmosphere day and night. Service is fabulous and the staff work incredibly hard.

The pool is pretty narrow. The area has been designed so well with towels and water by the poolside, fire pits which were great to sit by at night with a drink. Large lounging areas to chill and the view is fantastic. This is not a quiet pool area, music is played but for me just added to a great atmosphere.

Don't leave without having a drink at far end of the lobby whilst watching the sunset- fabulous.

There is lemonade in reception which was great when I returned hot and tired to the hotel each day. A very nice touch.

There is also a grab and go area in the lobby with Starbucks coffee etc

You might have guessed I loved this hotel. Location, friendliness, comfort & convenience- it had it all for me. I haven't mentioned cost- everything v pricey, but with a location like this I just enjoyed the experience!

Can't wait to return with my family - thank you loewes.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coco40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, Ca.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while on a quick trip to LA. The room is clean, bed comfy and the size adequate.The staff is warm and welcoming. We were upgraded to a room with an ocean view. All the Loews hotels I have stayed in are wonderful. The location is perfect. A short walk to the beach. The beautiful Santa Monica beach. Love the beach? This place is for you. There is a bike rental place in front of the hotel. It is such a blast to cruise up and down the beautiful California coast on a bike path. Stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macWalnutCreek_Ca_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel was very nice, wonderful lobby, nice selection of dining, great location right on the beach, alongside other very nice hotels like Shutters. I'd say the quick and easy access to the beach is the biggest selling point, and the view from the oceanfront rooms are fantastic, was happy waking up every day and staring out to the ocean. Loews' staff members were wonderful, someone was always saying hello, smiling, or asked how the day was going. valet team was very nice as well. the ocean deluxe view room was nice and spacious, decor could be a little more updated, only issue was the bathroom, the tub was stained and so were the tiles, balcony was tiny too. concierge were fantastic, look for Michael, he knows about it all and is most helpful! The pool area was awesome as well, could get very crowded at times so get there early if you want a seat. they have cool bonfires at night too! bar area was nice, out of the two bartenders we had one was great and attentive, the other girl seemed like she could care less which turned me off. a guest asked for a specific type of wine, they didn't so she stated to her colleague that she would just lie and say it was what he ordered, i surely hope she didn't do that! other than that i would recommend the property, a bit pricey but if you're in santa monica, most places will be. aside from shutters, loews is top. close to the pier, few blocks from the promenade, great great location, and close to a lot of things. we went jogging, shopping, swimming, people exercise outside all the time, very cool, chill environment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda-Kristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

we have stayed in Santa Monica many times but never until recently the Loews. I got a great rate for a 4 star hotel! The reason this hotel is more outstanding than most of the other Santa Monica Oceanside hotels is it is ON the beach... no walking across a busy street it is right there!! Service is great, rooms are large and comfortable. food was good. great shops minutes away. perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is pretty located on the beach; the views from the rooms are amazing. We were lucky that they upgraded us to a room with a beach/Santa Monica Pier view. The location is great and only a couple of minutes to Santa Monica pier and great shopping. I would stay there again. They serve starbucks inside the hotel lobby which is convenient for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winelover3004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

The uninterrupted view of beach and pier from the 4th level pool balconi is great. Inside of the hotel is kept clean and well maintained. The atmosphere is that of beach resort enough to be relaxed. STARBACS is inside.

Helpful?
Thank Takehiko K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,811 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,553 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
920 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,561 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing