We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel right on the beach, but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had the pleasure to stay at Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel for a total of 6 nights in July 2012 during our extensive west-coast trip. We arrived directly from Las Vegas and having stayed there at the Mandarin Oriental I was little bit afraid about what to expect from the Loews. First of all I have to admit that in terms of service-attitude and friendliness the Loews deserves a decent 5 star rating. Everybody was very friendly, attentive and helpful. A minor issue regarding a room change was handled very professional and to my satisfaction. But keep in mind that the Loews Santa Monica is definitely not a "luxury" or "grand hotel". In my opinion it is a decent 4 star beach hotel. Therefore I have to say that the location right on Muscle Beach and Santa Monica Pier is terrific. In terms of the rooms you should not expect to much. The rooms are clean and decent, not more and not less. Housekeeping did a great job to clean and remake the room. Nevertheless you will notice the "heavy turnover" in the guest rooms. Since the good rooms are seldom unsold you will notice spots and stains as well as dents in the wall. I would absolutely recommend a room facing either the pool or the Pacific Ocean and Santa Monica Pier. With the pool-view rooms you will have at least partial sea-view. If you end up in a cheaper room facing either Ocean Avenue or the narrow alleys around the sides this hotel "sucks"! But be prepared to pay "big bucks" for theses premium rooms. Needles to say that the Mandarin in Las Vegas was much cheaper than the rate we payed at the Loews. Valet parking (36$) and breakfast easily ad some additional 100 $ per night. Be prepared for this and enjoy the beach and the atmosphere or score a good deal on the room rates.

Room Tip: Book a room facing either the pool or the Pacific Ocean and Santa Monica Pier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,646 - 1,652 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights: paid $415 a night- $36 parking per day.
The place is not cheap: well located close to the pier.
Lobby and staff are nice and helpful.
Room is not great: stains on carpet and bathroom very basic for a grand hotel.
Overall impression: overrated for the price compared to similar hotels that offer nicer accomodation.
NOTE: there is a road to cross to access the beach and the water is dirty because it is close to the pier.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in July 2012. Our stay came at the end of an extensive 2700 mile trip around California, Arizona, and Nevada so we were quite tired and in need of a "crash out". We stayed for four nIghts. we booked via the Internet from the UK.. The booking process was slick and trouble free, staff were very helpful and we received a good rate.
Our room was brilliant with a sea view and a very good patio balcony. The room was kept very clean by the room staff. The hotel facilities were excellent although prices were very expensive. This wasn't a problem as there are many very good restaurants within easy walking distance. I note that some visitors complain that the hotel is not "on the beach" Such comments are irrelevant as they are well aware of this when they book! It's not a problem as the beach is only a minute or two walk away from the hotel.
We did experience a problem with very high noise levels one evening due to a function in the hotel. Following a complaint, (whilst the noise levels were not reduced) the matter was resolved by a manager offering a 50% reduction in the room rate to compensate for our inconvenience.
The hotel location is excellent, within easy walking distance of major shopping areas including restaurants and bars, the local pier is worth visiting and there are excellent walks along the beach with many places to stop for coffee and reasonably priced food. Venice Beach is within reasonable walking distance and is "interesting" to say the least!
Overall we had an excellent stay at the hotel. We would certainly recommend the hotel for its location, facilities, quality of the hotel in general. We would most certainly stay there again.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Wonderful location with a luxurious feel a shame the service was very slow with staff not really caring one way or the other. The bathroom was good with a nice deep bath but the beds were so small looking more like king singles than queen doubles. on the plus side it is in a great spot very handy to shopping, the pier and a very nice view but did expect more especially with the cost of a stay as it was a treat for us.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susie63255325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at the Lowes for six nights celebrating our 36th wedding anniversary, this was our final stop on the journey down HW1 from San Francisco.
We chose this hotel as we had stayed in the Lowes in Miami, so we knew what service to expect and we were not dissapointed.
Our room was not ready at around 3pm but our luggage was taken off us and stored away while we were shown to the excellent bar area to have a drink while we waited. We were not kept long and it was worth the wait, the room was as we wanted a high floor 7th with a magificent view of the famouse pier and beach area.

I had booked an evening meal that night in the hotels " Ocean & Vine" retaurant and what a meal, my wife quoted as possibly the best meal she has eaten.
We were so pleased that we booked again for the Staurday night, the meal again was first class. The only down side of the night was that a wedding reception was being held in the hotel and our table was in the runway from the reception to the rest rooms, not the best when trying to relax in fine dining. Senior Management take note!

The hotels position is first class within easy walking distance of the pier, third street shops etc and beaches, I agree Santa Monica beach is first class and why try the others along the coast as we did.
The sunsets from the hotels outdoor seating area are magificent and well worth enjoying with a drink in the evening.

The staff are first class throughout and work very hard to make your vacation as perfect as possible. Expensive Yes!
Would I return?
Definately.

Room Tip: High Floor above 4th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Number5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Even though we had glitches -- our room still wasn't ready when we checked in at 7 pm, for example -- the staff was sympathetic and eager to please. They gave us credit at their restaurant and then a fruit basket when we had another issue. Yes, the restaurant is overpriced, as is the valet parking. The pool is noisy and crowded, but the beach is a very short walk across a small street. The room is pleasant enough, but the partial ocean view made up for any of its shortcomings. We didn't book here originally -- ended up moving from another nearby hotel during our stay in Santa Monica -- but would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbomoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

I stayed at the Loews this past June. It's in a great spot right on the beach and next to the pier. Most things were within walking distance. Def do NOT take a cab, it was so expensive. We were probably better off renting a car but we started taking the bus around, it was cheap, clean and everyone was nice. Our room was on the 1st floor with a balcony, more like a patio. It wasn't that great of a view since the wall was blocking most of the view, a little disappointing considering the money you spend but no big deal I guess. Our pillows were terrible! This is my only real complaint. They have a pool, and an outside patio with fire pits which was awesome. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast, food was blah, not good not bad, and a little expensive for breakfast. Everyone we encountered who worked there was very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if others had a balcony, but if you pay more and end up on the 1st floor with a bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InEffect1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,911 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,598 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
977 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,100 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $422 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing