We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel and location, right on the beach. We had a room with pool and ocean view, very clean and amazing views. The hotel is just off the beach, just cross the narrow road (no traffic) and you're on the sand. Santa Monica pier is visible from hotel and within walking distance. Centrally located near restaurants and shops. Also great home base for an LA vacation.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    742
    360
    182
    135
See reviews for
921
644
96
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

As others say, this is a great location-- almost on the beach but not quite. As far as the rooms and interiors, kind of disappointing and dated. This place used to be hip and trendy, but now I'd put Shutters and Viceroy ahead of it. This felt like it could be any old Sheraton.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mpolatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley City, North Dakota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I managed to get the room for just under $300 on a travel website, which is still expensive but this hotel is luxurious, as close to the ocean as you'll get in Santa Monica, and has nice views.

I had never seen the ocean before this trip to Santa Monica, and I felt like I was staying at a wonderful beachfront resort - which I basically was.

I probably will not go back based on price, but if I could find a reduced price room I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: All rooms will have an ocean view, but the rooms on the higher floors will be quieter and you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great stay here, really loved the swimming pool outdoor area overlooking the beach and the breakfast was one of the best. The lobby is mega impressive but the room was a massive disappointment. It was overlooking the road and I know the hotel was busy but it was no excuse for the size of the room which was one of the smallest I have seen in America (apart from South Beach, Miami).
This hotel had a real buzz and you never waited more than 5 minutes for a cab at the front. Staff were really friendly and the main areas were shining clean, marble floor to ceiling and all metal polished to within an inch of its life. Concierge was amazing.
Location is great, 2 minutes to beach, 5 minutes to pier, 15 minutes to Venice and 30 minutes to Marina Del Rey. The boulevard is a short walk away.
Overall I had a brilliant stay, didnt really spend too long in the room so not a major issue but if I was booking I would certainly ask for one overlooking the Ocean and avoid those on the road (although I have to say that the noise was minimal)

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

In my humble opinion there is no better place to stay in LA than down at Santa Monica at Loews is a good alternative. The rooms were ok size and ok standard. I’ve heard that the rooms facing the street can be quite noisy so I requested a pool facing the ocean. I did not get this, but I did get a room facing the pool and even if the view was just ok it was nice and quiet. Walking to the pier will take you about 5 minutes and walking to 3rd street promenade (the shopping street) about 10 minutes.

The breakfast is nice. I did the buffet every day and there is a good selection and a chef that can make you eggs and omelets. The gym is also good with a big selection of modern equipment. It will cost you, but if you enter into their loyalty club you will get free wifi and access to the gym (there is no membership fee)

My favorite activity at Santa Monica is just to walk along the beach. A great “hike” would be to walk from the hotel along the beach boardwalk up to Venice and just continue until you come to Marina Del Ray. This is a one hour walk ++ and I usually end up at Cheesecake Factory at Marina Del Ray for some nice food and drinks. It’s also nice to sit by the pool looking at the view of the ocean and Santa Monica Pier.

Room Tip: Facing the ocean or the pool and a bit high up would be my best tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PerfectStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

All we needed was a hotel convenient to visit our daughter in Marina Del Rey. But WOW! Amazing room. Awesome amenities. And a wonderful staff...beginning with Randy at the Front Desk who set the bar high. Michael, the bellperson delivered (our luggage) literally and figuratively. As did Jose when it was time to depart. And Fernando on the drive might be this hotel's greatest ambassador. HUGE kudos to Nicole Young who assisted with our reservation. Worth mentioning is the terrific water pressure in the generous walk-in shower. But the highlight was eats and drinks on the terrace with a panoramic ocean view. Already we're looking forward to a return trip to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel! Okay, and to see our daughter.

Room Tip: From the outside looking in, there doesn't appear to be a bad one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
169 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This property has a killer view of the Pacific and the Santa Monica Pier from its pool and restaurant area. That alone puts it way up on the totem pole. The rooms are nicely sized, as are the bathrooms. The decor of the rooms is nothing spectacular, but common areas are airy and bright. I found the staff to be very accommodating, including one person straightening up the lobby who noticed that I was carrying an empty coffee cup and offered to take it off my hands. Good proactive service, in my view. Overall: A+ for view, common area, pool and restaurant. Solid A for service. Room Decor was a B. I recommend this property, though, and I think most people would be impressed with the overall quality of the stay.

Room Tip: They have rooms in the south wing which have very spacious decks with fantastic views. It's wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnEGraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,781 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
910 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,538 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing