We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location and Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Location and Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

Location was great being close to the Pier. Better yet the pool and balcony seating outside had a perfect view of Muscle Beach which is very entertaining to watch. Outdoor fire pits on the balcony was very nice as well. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Only minus to the hotel is its one and only sundry and gift shop that is VERY lacking in goods and VERY overpriced, more then the usual high fee and small selection. The bar was ok for some basics but anything extra was not possible like an Appletini. They just don't have more offerings then your basic drinks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triskel Bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    712
    344
    175
    131
See reviews for
862
607
93
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

If you want to relax, be treated like royalty, relax and have fun - STAY AT THE LOEWS HOTEL IN SANTA MONICA!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank funindasun60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We chose the Loews Santa Monica for a girlfriend get-away in May and so glad we did. We booked a partial ocean view room via the Loews website. Our flight was arriving several hours prior to check-in and we were only hoping they could store our bags so we could start our sight seeing. To our surprise, our room was ready and were assured we would enjoy the view. Not only did we receive a full ocean view room, we also had a perfect view of the Santa Monica Pier! After jumping up and down in excitement for several minutes, we finally inspected our room. I like when reviewers sum everything up with Pro's & Con's so here it is:

Pro's:
Location - direct access to the pacific ocean, in walking dist. to many sight seeing areas
Views - the hotel has several great areas to relax. Loved the fire pits
Clean & Quiet - Room was clean and common areas well kept
Staff - Polite, anticipates your needs
Beds - Very comfortable, nice down pillows
Food - Good pool side food & service (didn't eat at hotel restaurant)
Coffee - Loved the Kuerig coffee maker and complimentary coffee in the room
Easy & Accurate check out

Con's:
Small bathroom vanity area, single sink
Poor lighting in room
Tiny gift shop and almost no sundries
Parking is valet at $30/day

Other tips: You really need a car if you want to see LA & other attractions not in the Santa Monica area . Public transportation is slow and not geared towards tourist like other cities such as Orlando. Also, the cheesy TMZ tour was a blast! All in all, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Join YouFirst Club, may get you an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBlueEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

This was a lovely hotel to stay at. Travelling from AUS this was our first time to Santa Monica this hotel was a little more expensive than others, however, the views and the location were worth paying the extra for. We booked a Grand Patio King Room (with 2 double beds). The room's aren't especially big, although this was made up for by having the larger balcony (we had 2 adults and 2 children in the room), some rooms only have a smaller 'step onto' balcony. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for the bigger balcony. The pool is in a great spot over looking the beach. We spent three afternoons by the pool with friends and family and the service on each occasion was really good and the food was great for both kids and adults. The kids loved the pool! The Concierge on our visit was very helpful. Being a first time visitor the location was important. The Shopping Mall and the Santa Monica Pier were both easy short walks (around 10 minutes). Venice Beach is also within walking distance (20 - 30 mins) and a great stroll along the beach front. (Bike hire available near hotel). Room service with the setting up of our meal was great! I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy15A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

I booked a luxury room at this hotel for 3 nights based on pictures and room description onthe hotels website. Luxury it certainly wasn't!! Stains on the carpet, dust & dirty generally. Complained immediatly to be told what a wonderful view I had. Indeed I did. The view inside the room however, was less than savory! I am a seasoned traveller & do know the menaing of luxury rooms. Shame this hotel doesn't. I staying only 1 night being fleeing instead of the pre-booked 3.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Josiejo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

Whenever in LA I always try to stay at Loews in Santa Monica. It is a great hotel in great location. Due to a problem that happened in the past this particular stay was on the house and the management made a clear effort to make my stay as pleasurable and perfect as possible. The one bedroom suite with ocean view was very nice. In short this is a great place and I have never been discouraged from staying there by occasional problems with the front desk staff. On this occasion all services went beyond my expectations and I was extremely pleased with my stay. But regardless of what kind of service you experience, I recommend the hotel for its atmosphere, comfort and overall feel that I think is very unique. With regard to more practical information all rooms are equipped with plasma screen TVs and beds could not be more comfortable. I always sleep well at this Hotel. The Hotel is closely located to all the Santa Monica attractions and has an easy access to the beach. It is great for business as well as for leisure and I will be happy to return there whenever I can.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kolya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2011

Great location. VERY pet friendly. Walking distance to everything at the beach and nearby good restaurants. Parking a bit pricey but not extravagantly so. If want to be on the strand in a nice location this is the place. Hotel staff is friendly and professional. Rooms are nicely appointed and have killer views. Only negative is it's somewhat loud and noisy at night at the beach near the pier.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Santa Monica
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel

Property: Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Address: 1700 Ocean Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#4 Spa Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Pacific Ocean with the thriving Santa Monica city on one side and the sands of legendary Muscle Beach on the other, the Four-Diamond Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel is a beachfront retreat offering dramatic views of the Pacific Ocean and beyond. Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel has become the first luxury hotel in Santa Monica to receive the Santa Monica Green Business Certification. Offered through a partnership between The City of Santa Monica, Santa Monica Convention and Visitors Bureau, Santa Monica Chamber of Commerce and Sustainable Works, the certification program honors businesses that have taken measurable steps to incorporate sustainable practices into their operations. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Ocean & Vine offers the option to dine fireside or outdoors on a spacious patio while enjoying breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean and world-famous Santa Monica Pier. Ocean & Vine's contemporary California farm-to-table cuisine showcases thoughtful interpretations of the familiar favorites. Recently named one of the "Best Hotel Spas" by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler for the second year in a row, Ocean Spa & Fitness offers an array of supremely-relaxing services. From Heated Lava Shell massages to age-defying facials, the eco-friendly Ocean Spa will keep you feeling relaxed...Naturally. An expansive fitness center features state-of-the-art cardio equipment with iPod docking stations and personal televisions. Guests may also take advantage of the full service salon. World-class biking, surfing, dining and shopping are right outside the hotel's door. Offering convenient access to everything Santa Monica has to offer, the hotel is just blocks away from the Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade and the new Santa Monica Place mall. Muscle Beach's 26-mile paved strand offers the ideal setting to bike or blade. Santa Monica also boasts rich cultural history with an abundance of museums and theaters. Working with one of the hotel's Les Clefs d'Or certified Concierges puts all this and more at each guest's fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Monica Loews

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing