We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beers & Burgers”
Review of Umami Burger

Umami Burger
Ranked #28 of 689 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Beers & Burgers”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A fine selection of beers accompanies a small yet satisfying selection of burgers. Can get a little pricey, but if you are in a large group it's worth it. The burgers are full of flavor!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    90
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great burgers, with a bit of a twist”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Umami does not have one of those something for everyone menus - it's basically burgers (although you can get vegetarian and non-beef ones), with interesting topping variations. We shared the truffle burger and the hatch burger (with cheese and chilies) and both were perfectly done with the right ratio of (potato) bun to meat. The butter lettuce and kale caesar is a nice accompaniment, slightly healthier than the very tasty looking tempura onions, which we didn't sample. A nice selection of beers as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good and original”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I had an Umami burger and shared some sweet potatoes and truffle thin fries - it was delicious!
Only bad point is how LOUD the place is inside. We were sitting at a small table yet could barely hear each other.
I would go back because the food was very good and I'd like to try some other burgers but I'll ask to sit on the terrace next time, where you don't get so much echo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
393 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Difficult to Find, Well Worth the Effort”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to the Santa Monica Umami Burger. The address on the website is 500 Broadway. All we could find there was a Fred Segal. We went in and asked a clerk who directed us to the back of the store. There are no signs saying Umami Burger, just a restaurant. Apparently everyone else knew how to find the place as it was packed with a 45 minute wait.
The wait was worth it.
I had the local specialty burger - a perfectly grilled special blend burger with oxtail meat and truffle cheese. Without a doubt the best gourmet beef burger I have ever devoured. My wife had the Umamai Burger consisting of the same special meat blend, shiitake mushrooms, carmelized onions, roasted tomato and parmesan crisp which was also spectacular. We both shared fried pickle spears and sweet potato fries with house made ketchup and house made hot sauce and both left extremely satisfied.
I am not sure how well the other L.A. area Umami Burgers are marked, but it is well worth the effort seeking one out.
Should we return to the L.A. area, we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jcstich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What did we miss?”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife got sick from her awful hamburger. I had the Ahi burger and it was disgusting.
I thought I was in Europe when my Diet Coke came in an 8 oz bottle.
Loud, noisy and not the cleanest place.
And like everything else in LA- overpriced
I would never go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oriolesdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

 

Been to Umami Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing