We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the Hype! A really memorable Burger.”
Review of Umami Burger

Umami Burger
Ranked #29 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lives up to the Hype! A really memorable Burger.”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My mouth is sort of watering remembering how good this burger was. It's rare that things live up to their huge hype but Umami really does. It's just an unbelievably yummy burger. I had the classic Umami burger and I absolutely loved the parmesan crisp on the burger, it added so much deliciousness. The bun was not an afterthought either, it's like a brioche-type. This burger was seriously bursting with flavour, I don't know how they do it! The fries were good and I really liked the dips they came with. Overall, I loved the food at Umami.

We had to wait a long time for a table on a Saturday afternoon (understandable) and the servers were kind of aloof and distracted (not understandable). Customer service could use a boost.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Senoritamua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    90
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went last night and was intent on ordering the Umami burger based on previous reviews. The waitress suggested that her two favorite were the Truffle burger and the Hatch chili burger so we went with her recommendations. Both burgers were excellent. Juicy, medium rare with wonderful flavor throughout. The Hatch chili was our favorite of the two but both were very enjoyable. Onion rings and sweet potato fries were also both very good (but not as memorable as the burger itself). Definitely worth the 30 minute wait.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the hype”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Had to wait 20 minutes for first available for one. Staff seemed clueless with open tables everywhere. It's really loud. Food finally came out cold. Fries werent even warm. The burger was small, luke warm and forgettable. There are a lot better out there than this burger place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dick Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Definetly one of the best burgers I have had. My 12 year old even went for a second one. Great friendly service. This place tough to find as it is not exactly on broadway but it is in the Fred Segal store in the back. Apparently Fred wants no other names on his buildings which is nuts as this Umami would be a draw for the over priced stuff in his stores. I give 5 stars out sparingly but Umami gets one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Umazing burger in Santa Monica!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Surprisingly close to the Pier, Umami is worlds apart in quality and experience. If you are looking for a great burger in a place with atmosphere, visit this restaurant. The Truffle burger was well balanced with a kick of flavor and the kids loved their burgers which were cooked medium well, but still juicy and delicious. Nice touches like quirky soda brands, desserts etc. set this place apart. We almost ate on the boardwalk but are so glad we took the time to look them up on Tripadvisor. Instead of just eating, we had an experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VegasSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Burger also viewed

 
 

Been to Umami Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing