We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food patchy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food patchy service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Longitude Restaurant:
While the food was quite tasty, the service was fair to poor. The soup course was presented crusty on top as though it had been waiting around for some time for a waiter to pick it up, although it was tasty. This evening - Mardi Gras - the restaurant was fairly quiet, though they had spent a few dollars on cheap beads and plastic headwear. I had to say everything twice to the waitstaff as the music was too loud. My soup and main course were presented simultaneously so that the latter would be cold by the time I'd finished the first course. I asked why and was told that the kitchen was very busy - not evidenced by bums on seats, perhaps a lot of carnival activity in the guest rooms this evening? Anyway I'd rather have my food hot and have to wait a few minutes more, so I sent it back - always a risk, but when it came back it was hot and tasty, and hopefully without any additives! I was asked if I would like dessert, I said I would take a look, after leaving me a starter and main course menu and rushing off, the waiter returned 10 minutes later to see what I wanted - "well nothing on here" I replied, no apology given he started to tell me what they had, hard to take it in with the volume of the music, so I asked again for a menu, it had three items, but there were two specials I was told, one of which was included in the three on the menu! Bewildered, I was! Perhaps he was a new guy - if so he needs a little more supervision. I ordered the Creme Brûlée mentioning I hoped it would be hot on the top, he nodded in agreement. It arrived cold, no hot melted sugar topping and as a tart, "Not a traditional Creme brûlée" I said - no he agreed but I'd like, it I was assured. It was ok but I'd been looking forward to a Creme brûlée and this wasn't one.
Room:
Bed was too hard for me. I realize I am a delicate flower and have my "Sleep #" bed set at 20 at home otherwise I feel like I've been sleeping on the sidewalk. I realize it us difficult for hotels - but we are not all the same. Shoe shops have worked this out, they don't ask what style would you like your size 9s in? We come in differing shapes and sizes, and so beds too are not all fine for all. Some Raddison hotels have caught on but mostly it is a hard bed or sleep in the chair of maybe your car for more comfort. I take an air bed with me but maids often can't adjust and it was sitting on top of the made-up bed when I return to my room.
Otherwise clean roomy and unremarkable, small bathroom with low output shower- well it's drought conditions, so expectable. An 8oz bottle of water free (to share) or $5 for a liter and a coffee maker were the extent of the refreshments. The usual TV with no guide to what is on and an outdated channel listing, with some spotty reception - the norm for hotels. Handy bedside chest of drawers incorporating two 110v outlets most useful for travellers' (sorry, both Robert E Lee and I think traveller has 2 Ls) electronic needs. Bed for two - chairs for one! I shouldn't complain but I guess they are out to make money not impress guests. Maybe I'll try another hotel next time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank reglay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Reglay,

First and foremost, I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. I am reviewing your feedback with our food and beverage service and culinary teams to identify any areas of breakdown in your experience. We take our service standards very highly and will review any areas of training that we should focus on in the future. Our Starwood bedding product is one of our highest compliments we receive and if you request additional firmness to your bed, we have the ability to firm the bed up as many guests enjoy our "fluffy" bedding package. Additionally, we provide minibar service upon request and include minibars in our guest suites. Thank you again for your business and we will review your comments and make the necessary adjustments for the future.

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    432
    181
    52
    28
See reviews for
355
314
48
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Last month I stayed at the Le Méridien hotel in Santa Monica -- my stay was fantastic, the service in the hotel was excellent, especially Lily & Haley from the food & beverage department, the location was great, and my room and an amazing view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Daniel W,

Thank you very much for the positive comments about your recent stay at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. I will share your remarks and recognize Lily and Haley accordingly. You identified a couple of key items that our guests comment about frequently: excellent service, location, and amazing views. i would like to say thank you for your business and we hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I took my husband here for a quick getaway to celebrate his birthday. It's one of his favorite places in the LA area and I love it too. What made the stay extra special was the wonderful care we received from front desk clerk. DJ who helped to arrange a special toast/dessert for my husband. It was the icing on the cake of a fabulous weekend. Kudos to the entire staff and a special nod to DJ.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2014Wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear J2014Wong,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel recently. Your comment regarding "extra special" care is truly what we strive to achieve daily for our guests. I will share your positive comments with DJ and recognize him accordingly. These "quick getaways" are so special and ensuring memories are created forever is something that can never be taken for granted. We hope you will visit your favorite place in the LA area soon and have a wonderful 2014!

Sincerely,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was looking forward to staying here as it's a Starwood hotel supposedly recently renovated - I was disappointed: the staff at check-in were excellent as was the young lady serving at the bar in the evening. However the room itself [on a preferred guest level] was drab - the bathroom was clean but not in the least bit luxurious - not what I was hoping for at $450 per night! Breakfast was good but again pricey - everything gives the impression that they cater for business people who will be expensing all their costs to their employer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Lynneewilliams,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent visit to our property. Your positive comments regarding the front office team and lounge team will be shared with them and recognized for their service excellence. They do an outstanding job of taking care of our guests each and every day. Your attention to details with positive comments regarding cleanliness and food quality are a significant part of the guest experience at LMDSM. Thank you for choosing our hotel for your visit to Santa Monica and have a great 2014!

Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was easy walking distance to downtown Santa Monica, the pier, 3rd street promenade and was on the bus route to LAX (not something easy to learn).

Had good breakfast at a reasonable price, with decent espresso coffee which after a week in New York was long overdue!

We'll equipped rooms with plenty of space. Room internet was $15 a day which is a bite pricey but that is my only complaint.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Paul C -

Thank you very much for the comments regarding the hotel and your recent visit. Your comments regarding our location are "spot on" as our locations gives us great access to all the great points of interest in Santa Monica. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our espresso as we have master baristas trained directly through our Illy partnership and this is very important for our business travelers. We appreciate your business and hope you will visit us again at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica.

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Grand Cayman
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Lily made my day. All my luggage got lost by airline long line at rental car and I was sour. She made it better with a smile and some honest personality. I will never stay anywhere else in SoCal. She's thebomb.com and on top of that the rooms are good and it's close to the beach.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KJDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear KJDA-

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your recent visit to our hotel. It truly sounds as if you experienced one of those travel nightmares prior to arrival. Your kind words about Lily and how she can take a bad day and turn it into smiles and peace truly represents her empathy talent that shows our guests how much she cares about them. I will share your comments with Lily and recognize her accordingly. Thank you for choosing Le Meridien during your visit and we hope you will visit us again in 2014!

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Our experience wasn't as positive as the other reviewers. We are Starwood Gold members and usually have great experinces with the service/staff. Not here. Patrice checked us in and was so unfriendly and not helpful with our room request. Secondly, we called down for a taxi to be there at a specific time and the person I spoke with (?) said they would take care of it. No one ever called one and we were 20 minutes late for our dinner reservation. The porter's outside said they don't have phones there. The rooms were nice - not Le Meridien standards, but fine. We used points, otherwise; we would have stayed somewhere else. Wouldn't stay there again because of the service - even with points.

Room Tip: The Ocean Views are lovely - definitely splurge if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DSMTravel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear DSMTravel91,

First and foremost, thank you very much for sharing your comments about your recent stay at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. Your feedback on your check-in will be shared and training executed accordingly to ensure we exceed the expectations our guests come to know from Le Meridien. I will personally follow up on the other issues you experienced with a taxi request. Your room tip about the "views are lovely", as you can see Malibu to Catalina Island on clear days and guests are "wowed" when they see the Santa Monica sunsets. We hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Santa Monica and please reach out directly if you would like to discuss any additional items.

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,215 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Property: Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Address: 530 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1223 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions include: Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. There is a guest amenity fee per night which includes: premium high speed wifi for unlimited amount of devices, four hour bicycle usage for any overnight guests, welcome drink upon arrival, daily newspaper, wellness classes offered 3x per week, Illy coffee offered in the lobby, guestroom, or Zest Kitchen (specialty coffees), local calls, and a house car service offering dropoffs and pickups within three miles of the hotel until 9PM daily. Complimentary valet parking for all overnight guests is included with 24 hour usage and unlimited access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing