We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The first two of four nights we spent at this hotel were enjoyable-nice beds, clean, great views, however our good experiences at the hotel were overshadowed on New Years Eve. We were in town with a tour group for the Rose Bowl and paid the top dollar amount to stay at this hotel over the other local options. The hotel was mostly full with people from our group. Our bus was leaving to the bowl Jan 1 (New Years Day) at 5 am for a very long day of the parade and game so we wanted to get to bed at a decent time (along with the other 90% of the hotel who had to do the same thing) . New Years Eve my family and I returned back to the hotel after our dinner and came up to our 9th floor rooms (top floor below penthouse) to the floor shaking and music blasting. We had expected noise due to it being New Years, but nothing like what we heard. I am 23 years old and a recent college grad so it takes a lot of noise and disturbance for me to complain, let alone write this review. Upon getting back to our rooms we found a note that had been put under our door after we left for dinner (sometime after 7pm) informing us there would be noise tonight due to a party the hotel was throwing in the penthouse. (Not a private party, meaning the hotel was making money at our expense off of people who weren’t even staying there). I went down to the desk and asked to speak to a manager due to the fact that even with earplugs it was so loud we couldn't even think about sleeping. After talking to the manager (Haley Kruse, Front Office Supervisor) for 15 minutes he told us there were no rooms available to move to and we would have to just deal with it, offering no solutions. Due to his inability to help us in any way, we asked to move hotels/speak with our tour leaders. Upon saying that, he said in fact if he could get approval, (he was the manager so what approval do you need?) they could move us a few floors below but we would have to pack and move all of our stuff to the new room then check out/re check in. At this point it was 11 pm and we were getting up in 4 hours. The 9th floor is the nicest floor with the best views and I told him we were not packing up and moving all of our stuff as this was their problem, not ours. After wasting precious sleeping time negotiating, my parents ended up taking one of the rooms and I stayed on the 9th floor, where I got a terrible night sleep before the most important day of our whole trip. After giving my parents a room, the manager left, yes, literally left to go home, without saying anything regarding our other room. Overall, I am disappointed at the hotel staff for 1) not informing guests until the night of the party when it was too late to make other arrangements and 2) for not handling the problem they created by not being accommodating to tired and upset guests. With our group filling most of the hotel and how much we were paying you would think they would want to make a good impression for return visits. You can stay at a nice hotel with a good location and amenities pretty much anywhere else in Santa Monica-it's the service you pay for, and you hope that when things happen, especially at nice hotels, that they will fix it. I would highly recommend staying at one of the other nice hotels in Santa Monica where your needs will be addressed and met.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Jessica S,

Thank you for the feedback about your experience at the hotel. I appreciate the open discussion and your time on the phone today to review these opportunities so that we can be better with the larger groups and NYE events running together. Congratulations on the Rose Bowl victory and we hope to see you again next year. Please reach out if you are ever in the area so we can show you the wonderful experiences that our team can create for our guests.

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,351 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

about 6 blocks from the beach and then a short walk to the pier makes this a great hotel if you have a view of the ocean. Near the Santa Monica shopping district too. Put on your walking shoes but who cares with the warm weather. Staff was wonderful. No complains. Room was a little small but considering the location, no complaints.
This was a Rose Bowl tour hotel so some issues were a little overwhelming for them when we arrived with MANY buses from the airport. But they were resolved quickly , ie check in. Our room that was pre selected for us was not suitable and they resolved the issue quickly! Again excellent staff and management.
Hotel appearance was very nice. This is NOT a mega hotel, if that is what you are looking for.
Food was great too.

Room Tip: If you want a view, request the 7th or above floor and also request a view of the ocean. This hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennish414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear dennish414,

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay at the hotel. Congratulations on your Rose Bowl victory! I will share your comments about the staff and recognize them accordingly. I am very happy to know we resolved your challenges quickly to meet your expectations. You are absolutely correct that our views are spectacular as you go higher and the sunsets span from Malibu to Catalina.

Have a safe 2014 and we hope to host you again next year!

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful Lobby, pleasant well decorated room, bed so comfortable you won't want to leave it. Seemed to be a shortage of washcloths, elevator not working properly, extreme issues with food services and expensive Wi-Fi.

Would do it again, if I got a good buy on the room; if paying anything close to full price.....would opt to try another hotel. There is a refrigerator in each room .... good idea to keep a few staples in it as breakfast and beverage services were pricey/hard to access.

Walking distance to pier, shopping and restaurants. Tried the hotel's clam chowder, excellent!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keepitsimple48864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Keepitsimple48864,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. Your comments on our wonderful beds is in line with our guest comments, such as “marshmallow-like” and “cloud fluffy.” We also get great feedback on our Clam Chowder as it is one of the guest’s favorite! Congratulations on your Rose Bowl win and we hope to see you again next year.

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is not close to the beach. There is a a ocean view far away. You could walk and it takes like 10-15 min to ocean and beach. Or take the car or a taxi approx 5 min. Free self parking at the hotel and its very close.
Not a free wifi at the room only in the lobby,why ?. ( Make money from running a hotel). Pool is small and not so clean. Lobby is ok. The staff is ok. Room are togheter with the hotel very old but a bit fixed up on the suface. Clean. Elevators did't work all the time.
.Will absolutely stay closer to the pier and beach next time in Santa Monica.

Room Tip: Room with an ocean view must be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StockholmConnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear StockholmConnoisseur,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay at the hotel. We offer free Wi-Fi in our “Hub” (lobby) so that guests can come and enjoy our specialty coffees from our Illy partnership or socialize with friends in a friendly and safe environment. All of our guest rooms have been renovated in the last 18 months and we begin our Longitude Bar renovations next week for completion in February.

I recognize your ratings on Cleanliness, Rooms and Service may not fully be commented on in your review since you mention the hotel is clean and the rooms are remodeled, and staff is “OK.” If you could elaborate any additional shortfalls to your expectations, I would appreciate the feedback.

You can also reach me directly at the hotel during normal business hours. Your experience is important to us and we would like to know if there is any additional information we can use for training in the future.

Have a wonderful 2014 and we hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

First, the Delfina is in a great location. It's walking distance to the beach and to the Third Street Promenade, which was awesome and very convenient.

Primarily, though, we were impressed by the attentive service and staff. My husband came down with the flu on Christmas Eve while we were visiting family in L.A. and staying at the Delfina, and the staff was helpful, understanding, and attentive to our needs. When we needed to extend our stay because he couldn't travel, Hugo completely took care of us. When a battery failure of the door lock locked us out of our room, Haley sent up hot tea to help sooth his cough. We were probably tough customers to have to take care of during a very busy holiday season (they were very occupied by the Rose Bowl that was in town), but we never felt neglected or not taken care of. Given my husband's condition and the fact that we were away from home, this attentiveness was very much appreciated.

The only structural thing about the hotel that is a bit annoying is the high price for valet parking, and the very limited self-parking option. This just causes a bit of stress every day as people vie for the few self-parking spots (including people who put objects in parking spots to try to reserve them when they are not there). It's a huge hassle, but the valet service is very expensive ($32/night), so it seems like a lot of people try to do it to avoid the expense. It'd be better if they opened up more parking for self-park.

Room Tip: Ocean views were great, particularly from high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello YD410,

Thank you for your feedback about the attention you received during your stay at our hotel. Your kind words about Hugo and Haley will be shared and recognized for their outstanding service. We strive to provide attentive and nurturing service to every guest, especially our guests who may need a little extra attention. We will review our self parking procedures, but understand we are the only hotel in Santa Monica with complimentary self parking and our valet costs is the lowest of all full service hotels in Santa Monica. I hope you were able to enjoy one of the spectacular panoramic sunsets from our elevated locations and we hope you will visit us again in 2014!

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great hotel in a good location. Although not really close to the beach, it's within a short walking distance from Santa Monica's Pier. The beds are simply marvelous. So, if you (just like us) spends most of your day touristing around and loom forward to a great night of sleep to renew the energy, this hotel is a great option (and cheaper than the front beach hotels). The concierge was not of great help, but we manage to find our way around. The hotel pool is very simple too. All and all, a great option.

Room Tip: Get a room that is not so far from the elevator -- the hotel is very "horizontal" and it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitsumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Mitsumi,

Thank you (obrigado) for the positive comments about our hotel beds. We have received comments from guests calling it “marshmallow-like bedding” previously. I am sure after a long trip from Rio, the bedding is a critical part of your travels as I used to live in Rio myself and remember the long plane rides.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip and we will welcome you with a Caipirinha!

All the best—
Até logo and abraço—
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed here for four nights while there for rose bowl. Even though they were very crowded, we still got individual service. You can walk to beach and pier with no problem. If you need any tours or information, I highly recommend the concierge HUGO. He was very knowledgeable and went out of his way to help us.
The only drawback is there are very few places to eat very 'm ear.

Room Tip: We had view with ocean view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear kpass,

Thank you for the kind words about your stay at our hotel. It is a true testament to our colleagues, even in busy times, that they can provide service excellence to each individual guest of our hotel. I will share and recognize Hugo for his positive impact to your experience as well.

We are excited about our upcoming F+B renovations in the Lounge and Zest Kitchen, which will give added options for dining. Thanks again and we hope you will visit us again on your next trip to the L.A. area.

Best regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
3,025 reviews
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,741 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#13 of 36 in Santa Monica
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,662 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1223 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#8 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $341 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions include: Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. There is a guest amenity fee per night which includes: premium high speed wifi for unlimited amount of devices, four hour bicycle usage for any overnight guests, welcome drink upon arrival, daily newspaper, wellness classes offered 3x per week, Illy coffee offered in the lobby, guestroom, or Zest Kitchen (specialty coffees), local calls, and a house car service offering dropoffs and pickups within three miles of the hotel until 9PM daily. Complimentary valet parking for all overnight guests is included with 24 hour usage and unlimited access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing