We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Decent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip for business. The lobby of the hotel is great and the people that work at the hotel are great. All of this made for a very pleasant stay. According to the website, this hotel has been recenly updated. I can believe the hotel has had a recent facelift, but I would not believe there has been a major renovation to the hotel. Most of the updates are paint an furniture, but there are still a few minor issues that would require a major renovation. Here is my punch list of things that could be fixed:
There hallways are long with lots of dark corners (nothing wrong here, but a little creepy at night).
The doors in the rooms are old and cheap - they feel light and sound carries through them.
Same issue with thin doors between adjoining rooms - I could hear everything from the room next door through the adjoining door even thought it was closed. I had to leave my TV on to block out the noise.
Otherwise everything was great. The hotel does serve breakfast, but the menu is very limited.

If I was in the area again, I would consider the hotel, but it would not be a sure think I would stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mnasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Hello mnasf,

We appreciate your feedback regarding the hotel and certainly hope you will visit us again. Regarding your comments about the renovation, you should know that all guest rooms and corridors have been completed. As well as our ballroom, meeting spaces, pool and wedding garden. We start our lounge and restaurant renovations in January 2014.

I will review your comments on the doors to see if we can increase the soundproofing. We hope you will choose us again and visit our new renovated lounge and Zest Kitchen in 2014!

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,272)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 4 nights and had a great stay. I read some of the reviews and I think they are overly harsh on the quality of the hotel.

I do agree the location isn't as good as some of the other properties right on the beach. But then again, I stayed in December when that is less important, IMHO. The staff was all super friendly. Our room was nicely decorated and it had a work desk and the beds were comfortable. Yes, the balcony was small but big enough to get a bit of fresh air and also we had a good view with the ocean in the distance from our room.

The lobby area is nice. I'm not sure about the quality of the food as we never ate here nor got room service at all. It's not too far from Santa Monica Place Mall. The free parking was nice but I do agree that you have to get there not too late in the afternoon or the parking spaces are all full. One night we went to Whole Foods at night and we came back and everything was full and had to valet. It's $32 a night to valet.

Our room was quiet and as mentioned, it was perfectly comfortable. The only complaint I'd have is with the internet access. I got the Internet included with my stay but the signal from the 11th floor was very weak. I barely got a signal and it was very slow. So they should probably work on improving the strength of the wi-fi connection. Sometimes it would say connecting from the Lobby and sometimes from the room. Ironically, half the time the "Lobby" signal had a stronger signal vs. the rooms which was puzzling.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenSowards, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear saintba,

We truly appreciate your honest review of the property. Based on your extensive travel profile, your comments are very credible. Since your stay in early December, we have just installed a brand new wireless infrastructure in the hotel, top to bottom, that is receiving rave reviews. We hope you will select Le Méridien Delfina the next time you visit Santa Monica.

Best Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Absolutely great property with very comfy beds, very good service!
Great location, only a 5 min walk to the pier.
Nice entry as you walk into the hotel.
Overall a great property with no complaints. A+++

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM S, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Kate D,

We appreciate your kind words about the beds and service levels of the hotel. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your vacation. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at this property in July 2013, and back then it was called "Sheraton Delfina." We were staying here as part of a wedding.

Service was good, and the room was spacious and comfy, with a small balcony; our bathroom was a good size, with standard Sheraton brand toiletries. I had access to the lounge, and while it was small, it was perfect to grab a small bite in the morning.

Note - this hotel is not by the beach. It's about a 10-15 min walk from the hotel straight down to the beach, and maybe another 5-10 mins to walk to the infamous Santa Monica pier. It's also about a 15 min walk to the shopping area. That was the only downside to this hotel being in Santa Monica.

Happy travels!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suman514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM S, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Suman514,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your summer visit to the Delfina.

It is true that we have since experienced a metamorphosis becoming Starwood’s newest Le Méridien Hotel, and that includes upgrading our guest room toiletries and amenities to match the overall ambiance that we like to call timeless-chic. Throughout the property, we are also planning to add a number of curated pieces to further that unique connection our guests will only find in our part of Santa Monica.

Please come back for many new discoveries.

Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is OK as a three-star hotel, but struggling as a 4-star hotel. You will feel disappointed if you pay 4-star prices. We got it on a Hotwire special discount and felt that it was about worth the heavily discounted price we paid, which was about what a normal 2-3 star hotel would have cost in Santa Monica.

Nothing is really terrible, but there's nothing that great, either. The lobby/bar and pool area are the highlights. The rooms are average three-star hotel rooms with nothing special about the bathrooms, linens, appliances, lighting, etc. All the artwork is identical in all the rooms. There are tiny balconies that are good for a breath of fresh air but nothing more. The building itself is old and tired, with low internal ceilings and an ugly yellow concrete facade.

The worst part about this hotel is the location, which is very inferior to other 4-star hotels in the area. It's a very long walk to the waterfront and the shopping arcade that involves crossing a lot of busy and noisy streets (including a freeway to get to the shopping area).

The hotel advertises complementary overnight parking, but we never once were able to get a stall because the small number of available spots were always taken. Instead you have to valet for $32 per day.

The service and staff are very good and professional-- no complaints there. The restaurant is crap and not worth visiting with so many good options around outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Request a deluxe room with a larger balcony and ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM S, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

jbkc,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your comment about the staff being professional and courteous, along with the fact of the great value you received by booking through Hotwire.

Furthermore, we offer a hotel shuttle for rides to the beach and to shopping from the hotel. The Self Parking is first come, first serve, and the hotel website advertises that you can reserve a spot upon request. Of all the hotels in Santa Monica, our valet price is well below all the other hotels in the marketplace.

Just to note, the hotel is not a 4 Star hotel but we received our AAA Four Diamond rating in May 2013.

We hope you will revisit us after our restaurant and lounge renovation scheduled for January 2014, as our new Executive Chef is creating relevant menus for our spaces in the hotel.

Please visit our Illy Coffee bar and try our guest-favorite scones now offered daily until 11am.

Best,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

the staff /people here are great, everyone I've had the pleasure to encounter has been professional and welcoming, I've unfortunately had a very bad cold/flu and all the folks here have been so kind to me whilst here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dyana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM S, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Dyana M,

Thanks so much for the compliments about our staff. To know we could provide you with such unique and memorable encounters during a flu period makes me very proud of the care and comfort we afford each guest. Please let us know if there is anything further that we can do for you, and make sure to try our Tazo® Calm Tea and a bowl of Chef’s Soup du Jour. We hope you feel better and that we can see you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is very cool in decor and feel. We were able to park within the hotel car park as we had pass that we registered for before we arrived which was very useful. We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 2 week trip across America. The hotel is located out and away from the main center of Santa Monica but was a nice walk in the evenings to the restaurants. The room was an ok size, but had a view of another building which was within touching distance from the balcony (you can pay for a better view room if you wish). The staff at reception, the bar and the porters were very friendly and approachable. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a stylish and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeeFirek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelfinaGM S, General Manager at Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013

Dear LeeFirek,

Thank you for pointing out our chic style. We handpicked our brilliant designer, Andrea Dawson, for her endlessly playful and vibrant ideas: floor-to-ceiling patent leather headboards, retro counter lamps, a lighthearted gallery of vintage beach photos in each room. In concert with the cozy Santa Monica sand-sea color palate, the blend equals an overall refreshing atmosphere to both unwind and enjoy.

In a similar fashion, the hotel’s surroundings are quite wonderful. We are an easy walk to the beach and downtown. If you’re looking to tour farther, our beach cruisers are handy to ride in the SoCal sunshine.

We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please do stay in touch!

Regards,
Stephen Sowards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,911 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,599 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
Loews Santa Monica Beach Hotel
#11 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,645 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
616 reviews
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica

Address: 530 Pico Blvd, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1223 (Formerly Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#10 Luxury Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $321 - $553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched four blocks above the Santa Monica shoreline, Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica offers a superior access point to Los Angeles. Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica is conveniently located just a few blocks from downtown Santa Monica's engaging collection of shops, entertainment and restaurants and less than eight miles from Los Angeles International Airport. The area's main leisure attractions include: Santa Monica Pier, Third Street Promenade, Getty Museum, Getty Villa and Venice Beach, are all within steps of Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica. The guestrooms and suites have been thoughtfully redesigned and many offer private balconies with expansive views over the Pacific Ocean or the city skyline. The rooms and suites have a relaxed and sophisticated decor, and feature the amenities needed for modern life, including oversized desks and high-speed Internet access. All accommodations are 100% non-smoking, and offer Le Meridien Platform beds, in-room coffee makers and mini refrigerators. There is a guest amenity fee per night which includes: premium high speed wifi for unlimited amount of devices, four hour bicycle usage for any overnight guests, welcome drink upon arrival, daily newspaper, wellness classes offered 3x per week, Illy coffee offered in the lobby, guestroom, or Zest Kitchen (specialty coffees), local calls, and a house car service offering dropoffs and pickups within three miles of the hotel until 9PM daily. Complimentary valet parking for all overnight guests is included with 24 hour usage and unlimited access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Delfina Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Hotel Santa Monica
Sheraton Santa Monica
Santa Monica Sheraton
Sheraton Delfina Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing