We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t Miss The Misfit!”

The Misfit Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #4 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Description: New restaurant near the walking mall in Santa Monica CA
Saline, MI
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don’t Miss The Misfit!”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Friends of ours brought us here and we’re so glad they did. Just off the 3rd Street Promenade, we were seated at a table outside and were able to enjoy people-watching as much as the scrumptious small plates and great cocktails. In fact, the small plates were so delicious and filling that we didn’t need anything more. Our friends are vegetarians, so they ordered a brussel sprout salad and a kale-and-quinoa salad. Just so we’re clear here, I DETEST brussel sprouts but agreed to try a bite just to be a good sport … this salad was utterly delectable and I almost confiscated it from our friend. My husband HATES quinoa but did the "good-sport bite" - we now have another quinoa fan in the family. Since we’re omnivores, we had the prime rib sliders and the lobster nik niks with pancetta. Absolute happiness in our mouths! The cocktails were original and the service was excellent. We can’t wait to go back to The Misfit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    351
    202
    44
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Elegant and fun, without the tourists”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stumbled upon The Misfit after getting fed up with the tourist traps that are all over Santa Monica. Just off the 3rd Street Promenade, this elegant space is cool and dark with high ceilings and a chic, European atmosphere. The bartenders are good looking, well travelled and talkative. The food is excellent. Smaller plates with an interesting mix of ingredients, and its surprisingly cheap. Also, the fabulous coctails are half price all day. We loved it so much, we went back the next day for further tastes. I just hope it remains a little under the radar.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NandFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Go here!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We were in the area for a night and were lucky enough to choose this place for a light bite. We sat at the bar, it was the night of the BCS National Championship, and the atmosphere was festive. Really cool old building, great lighting and music in the background. Drinks were great, I had the spiked lemonade (loved the gorgeous fresh rosemary) and the food was spot on. We just shared a couple apps, and then a couple more, and...you get the picture. Everything was so tasty. My favorites were the simple, but really tasty Hamachi crudo and surf and turf nik niks (sliders). artenders were very attentive and friendly. If I lived in the are, I know I would frequent this place for date nights, girls nights, any night that ended in "y". ;) Cheers!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
726 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“The Misfit Fits”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

From the outside it does not look like much, but do not let that stop you. The Misfit has an extensive menu, exceptional service and delicious, reasonably priced food. As an added bonus, there are plenty of TVs to watch sports but it does not feel like a sports bar. A great neighborhood restaurant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTravelerRadio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Years Eve dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

wow, what a place, great food and service with wonderfully friendly staff.
The lobster was a standout from the set menu and if had time would go back for sure.
Can be seated upstairs or down, if you can get a seat upstairs next to the balcony that is perfect. Was always a queue for the bathrooms but no doubt mostly related to New Years eve.
The bag of gifts to take away with us was very well done too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ericstravelguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Misfit Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Misfit Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing