We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tour in LA”

A Magical History Tour
Ranked #6 of 37 Tours in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The only Beatles tour of Los Angeles. We visit 25+ places that are Beatles connected - Where they lived, hung out, recorded, played etc. The hostess is not only from Liverpool, but also a Beatles news reporter.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Magical history tour is the best Tour in L.A. Glad we took the time to check it out. Book us on the next one GIllian, you should have been the 5th Beatle. Good luck with your tours. Rob n Emma. Perth Australia

Thank Rob674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly041, Manager at A Magical History Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thanks Rob. Nice of you to say I should have been the 5th Beatle....your wit matches those from Liverpool which is lovely and refreshing. I hope you and Emma come on the tour again the next. time you pass through LA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 124 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Yes, Gillian's tours are awesome!! I've been on one of her tours before, and it's a wonderful time exploring all the LA sites made famous in Beatles history-- as well as many "little-known" sites that only a Beatles insider would know about. During the tour, she tells us stories about why that site is so notable. It's a great time of not only getting to know fellow Beatles fans, but our Beatles tour guide as well. I would highly recommend taking this tour if you haven't already. You won't be disappointed and will leave knowing lots more Beatles trivia and tidbits than before.

2  Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly041, Manager at A Magical History Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you Debbie. With you being such a Beatles fan I am so glad you learned a few things from taking the tour. Thanks for the great review and taking time to come on the tour with all the other ladies. Francisco was happily overwhelmed. A splendid time indeed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We read the other reviews and decided to give Gillian a call VERY early on a Sunday morning to see if she gave tours on a Sunday. She was such a good sport about it and agreed to take us on what turned out to be the best day out ever! We went everywhere and anywhere Beatles related, but she was also showing us all the other stuff in between. She was so entertaining and completely spontaneous with her witty commentary! I never laughed so hard! It is not like those quick fly-by tours where you are crowded into some ridiculous tour bus that everyone can see coming a mile away. It was comfortable and discreet and we even stopped for lunch and dinner! You won't be disappointed for a minute, I promise! Cheers Gillian! I hope we meet again for another best day out!

Thank Jaynemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly041, Owner at A Magical History Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you Jayne. I had so much fun with you and your friends that it was worth being woken up so early from your phone call. Hope that you all come back to LA and we meet again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Gill has a vast wealth of knowledge about not only the Beatles but other rock stars who lived or visited the Los Angeles area. The tour was fun and Gill is the star, she is witty, very knowledgeable, flexible with the tour, even stopping at places that were not Beatles related. If you want a tour that is very interesting and personal, do yourself a favour and book this tour, very good value for money.

Thank 209Emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilly041, Owner at A Magical History Tour, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this great review. It was nice being in the company of fellow country men/women. Thoroughly enjoyed the entire day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Gillian Lomax is not only knowledgable about the Beatles and their LA connections but she also has a personal history to share. I can highly recommend this tour. It's not just an hour of speeding past points of interest but a lengthy leisurely in depth experience that a Beatle lover can appreciate with many less than common knowledge tidbits thrown in. Gillian is from the cast iron shore so it's fun just to hear the Fab Four discussed in their native language. We met some very interesting tour mates that enhanced our experience - also from the Liverpool area! We not only saw the sights but got a little insight into the Liverpudlian mind from that era. Do yourself a favor; take this tour. Roll up.....

Thank MnTKeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Magical History Tour also viewed

 

Been to A Magical History Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing