We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Brunch”

Zengo - Santa Monica
Ranked #225 of 676 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Spanish, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: The Big Blue Bus and Rapid line both have drop offs in front of the Santa Monica Place at the corner of 4th Street and Broadway.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was one of the best brunch meals I have had. This is not your usual all you can eat brunch setup. Zengo has a menu of dishes that are offered for the brunch. The portions are small but it is all you can eat and you can order as many dishes as you want for $39. So you do get to try anything and everything on the menu. Every dish is kind of unique; a fusion of Asian, American and and south American flavors. Even the eggs Benedict is not your usual eggs Benedict; it has a small piece of steak on it. Most of the people don't like Brussels sprouts; try the Zengo version and you will start liking them. The shrimp and scallops ceviches come with nice thick chips and the flavor is just fabulous. The Yuca fries are great. The mimosas are included too in that $39; even those are not standard orange juice with Champaign kind. You can have Mango mimosa, Lychee bellini. The only thing I didn't like was chicken satay; it was dry and didn't have any flavor. I was so full that I didn't even get to try some of the dishes Achiote salmon or Jamon omelet. I guess I will have to visit this place again which I definitely will. Incidentally, the service was great too, the waiter was very attentive and the table was never left empty, the food just keeps streaming in. Excellent experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theRoamingCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brunch - LA style! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Too bad more of the world doesn't "brunch" like Los Angelenos. We visited on a Sunday morning at 10am to an empty restaurant that was packed an hour later. We opted for the unlimited brunch which just be shared by the entire table. $39 for drinks and small plates and nothing disappointed! The waitress was always around filling our mimosas and offering other options. We just told her to bring the good as she wanted and she served it in perfect order and plenty of it. All the dishes were well executed and the rooftop patio seating was perfect on a sunny summer morning. Only tuning we would have liked is the DJ to start before noon. We will be back in July of 2015!!

Helpful?
Thank jcamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GO Unlimited!!!!! AMAZING must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I came to Zengo for a business dinner and we had a magnificent time! My colleague and I both got the unlimited zengo which we were able to have unlimited small plates, and unlimited drinks! We enjoyed so many of the options and drank several margaritas and had some excellent wine! We sat outside and had a lovely meeting. It was not too loud to have a conversation and we were able to eat some wonderful food, enjoy some great drinks and we laughed the night away (it may have been the margaritas....) All in all, we LOVED the spicy Guacamole and the Brussel Sprouts. Everything was so good though, so you cannot go wrong. If you are in Santa Monica, you should check this place out!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PrickelyPear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely love this joint.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

One of the best dining experiences we have had in years, this place delivers on every level. Great decor, great service, and amazing food. We went twice on a three day trip to Santa Monica as it was so good the first time.
Wish we had one in Melbourne.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank graphite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST GO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I have honestly never had food like that before.
The whole Asian fusion cuisine was absolutely new to me but i was very suprised...in a very good way.
We were lucky that they had a happy hour combined with an all you can eat thing.
For 2 hours we could order almost everything on the menu with complimentary drinks. And we did try a lot and most of it was pretty good, some was exceptional and some things you probably have to love to order it again. The sushi was amazing to say the least.
The service was awesome, very helpful and informative about what we were served and the outside seating area right next to a fireplace with a view of the promenade was absolutely amazing.
If you are in Santa Monica and don't go there, you are absoultely missing out on some really great food that i wouldnt know where else to find.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengo - Santa Monica also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Zengo - Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing