We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting”

Zengo - Santa Monica
Ranked #230 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: The Big Blue Bus and Rapid line both have drop offs in front of the Santa Monica Place at the corner of 4th Street and Broadway.
essex
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We visited here during our stay in santa Monica and loved it. Had amazing outdoor fires. Waiter explained the menu really well and advised us. Food was superb, could not fault it .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank granthannahbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
298 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Mas bueno”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I went with friends during the mole festival. Great stuff. Get the fresh guacamole (made at the table) and a pitcher of margaritas. It should be a good night. Prices skew to the high side.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackonferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a difference a server makes!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Our second visit to Zengo in 4 weeks and what a difference in server and service!
The restaurant, on the night we visited seemed to be more focused on impressing the guys form Zagat than JOe public
We walked along the long corridor to find the door shut and no MD, we waited a good 5minutes, then went in, to wards the terrace, still no MD or any one willing to assist
Eventually she found us and escorted us to a Siberian table, when we questioned her and asked her for a an empty terrace balcony seat she said it wasn't available - there was a Zagat event on
The terrace wasn't wholly busy as it was gone 8pm The table was occupied five minutes later by 2japanese tourists!
No excuse - reluctantly, we changed tables to a fires side seat that had very ltd lighting
Our server was not amused and took another 10 minutes for water to come to the table and another 5 for the server to arrive
No advice was given in terms of menu options etc no offer of a torch to read the menu - we had to rely on tea lights to make a choice whilst the server hovered and shuffled behind us!
The wonderful server from the 1st time we dined noticed us and made us feel very welcome
The food was faultless, great sushi, chicken entree and accompaniments
We left feeling rather second rate diners and much to the servers disgust and scowl left a$10 tip for a $156 meal
Sorry guys won't be back....

Helpful?
Thank ANDI S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

from sushi to snack to great drink to great outdoor patio. They have great service as well. 2 thumbs up! it is pricey though .. but what isnt in LA?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gerald l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

More-ish edamame and a no-it-really-does-work curry ice cream with banana cake were the highlights of a delicious meal at this very nice Asian fusion place. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zengo - Santa Monica also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Zengo - Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing