We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in Santa Monica”
Review of Upper West

Upper West
Reserve with OpenTable
Upper West is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 719 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: 1 block west of Centinela
Transit: Santa Monica Blue Bus line #7 Bus Stop Pico & 33rd St
Description: Upper West is Santa Monica’s newest dining destination, serving modern American cuisine that’s as familiar and comforting as it is original and inventive.Featuring an open complete kitchen, a full-service 27-foot bar, a sophisticated wine collection and a long list of tantalizing specialty cocktails - it evokes the feel of a TriBeCa loft with 28-foot ceilings and an urban yet rustic décor. In addition to the chicly lit extended bar with high-tops, couches and dining room, it offers regular seating in an 800-sqaure-foot patio.We offer valet parking for your convenience.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

I ate here with my husband and two kids (18 & 20) on vacation. It has valet parking, very convenient since it's on a busy shopping street. Each of us raved about our choices. I had grilled butterfish with sesame babaganoush - the fish was so tender an flavorful but not so much spice to overpower the delicate fish. We also had the chicken Tawook; prime flatiron steak; and lobster gnocchi. Everything was delicious and really reasonably priced. We arrived a little early but it wasn't a problem. The main dining room was almost empty but by the time our food arrived the place was packed. Nevertheless, the service was flawless. The atmosphere was very upbeat, casual but smart, and it seemed like a mixed local and tourist crowd.

Thank rjmkbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upperwest10, Manager at Upper West, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

It gives us so much pleasure to read positive feedback and reviews from our customers. Thank you for taking time out of your trip to visit Upper West and for writing us a review on Trip Advisor. Our Chef and staff are dedicated to bringing great dishes and service to our customers. We hope you enjoyed your stay and are glad you were able to try Upper West. See you on your next vacation soon. Until then, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 102 of 187 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

As a reward after a long day shopping, and to end our 7 week holiday on a high note we decided to eat at Upper West.

We called ahead and booked a table. As we weren't able to make it home to change first, we explained over the phone that we would be dressed a little casual. This wasn't a problem and the lady we spoke to was great about it.

So we arrived in our shorts and shirts with 3 large shopping bags and ordered our drinks and dinner.

As far as the drinks were concerned, the lychee martini was fantastic!

We ordered the carpaccio to start. This was close to the best I've had in a long time. I highly recommend this.

Then we ordered the coffee crusted kurobuta pork tenderloin and the lobster gnocchi with a side of wild mushrooms. These tasted great, full of flavour and not over-seasoned (which I found common in the US).

We squeezed in dessert, key lime tart and the carrot cake ice cream sandwich. The key lime tart was huge! Enough to share...!

As for the service, it was brilliant. We had a down to earth and friendly waiter, we even spoke to the chef (I think he was a chef).

Great atmosphere, drinks, food and service. What more would you want?! Give it a go if you want a good night out.


1  Thank Aron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upperwest10, Manager at Upper West, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Hey Aron, thanks for coming out and ending your holiday with Upper West. We appreciate you taking the time to write us a positive and detailed review. Our mission at Upper West is to provide an exceptional experience that is rare to find, which is what we'd like to think makes us special. Thank you again, and don't hesitate to come back in the future. Take care Aron!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Travelodge just 5 minute walk away, the hotel recommended this place and we weren't disappointed. We weren't expecting it to look like it did inside, it was very nice with a fully stocked bar. Service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Would highly recommend if anywhere near Santa Monica.

1  Thank Shropshire_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upperwest10, Manager at Upper West, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2014

Thanks Shropshire_sun for taking the time to review us on trip advisor. We're glad your hotel was able to recommend Upper West, and hope that it was everything you expected and more. We also hope to have the pleasure of having you again on your next trip. Until then safe travels and see you again for some more Upper West style food and drinks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

It was my birthday and our friends asked me to find a spot where they could treat me to a special dinner. From doing some reading, I chose the Upper West, and we went there after a day of touring some of the tourist spots in Los Angeles, arriving about 5:30 in the evening without reservations. The hostess said that they were totally booked for the night, but as we were so early she could seat us if we felt we would be OUT by 7:30. We assured her that we would, and so quickly got a nice table for the four of us. It was the right choice for a restaurant. I ordered the butterfish and it was just wonderful. We thought our friend's lobster gnomish was overcooked, and the crabcake was not the best my wife has ever had, but the drinks were great, and the service was good. It will be a birthday I happily remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fatbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upperwest10, Manager at Upper West, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your consideration in choosing Upper West for your special night and we appreciate you taking the time to write us a review! We consistently work with our staff to give our customers the best dining experience possible in Los Angeles and are always looking for ways to improve. We need and appreciate our customers feedback but are so happy it will be a night to remember. Happy Birthday and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Upper West. . .what a find. . .sit in the front room and enjoy the view (of every direction.) and the pleasant early evening cool down of the Santa Monica breeze. This is off the beaten path and avoids the crush of traffic and crowds of Main St. and the 3rd Street Promenade. But the selection of food and the flavors are crowd pleasers. Apps are great (flatbread, salads, soups) and the main events were equally fulfilling (meat, vegan, mac & cheese, etc.) but you need to taste to appeciate.

Oh. . .the scene. . . Brisk bar business begats bountiful bevy! Hipsters and young attractive professionals. . . .enter at your own risk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upperwest10, Manager at Upper West, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy that you enjoy our meals and service. We hope that you will come by again and enjoy another meal with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper West also viewed

Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Upper West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing