We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Favorite casual dining on Promenade” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stop'n Cafe

Stop'n Cafe
Ranked #170 of 672 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Oak Hills, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Favorite casual dining on Promenade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This one of my top go-to spots. They specialize in Greek food, but also have one of the best burgers around. Their Greek dishes are heavenly, and the service is always good. The place is very small, but worth being a little crowded for the great food. If not counting calories, try their Greek fries! Everyone I introduce to this place loves it. .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oa_Oa_Sylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    20
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
242 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Fell short of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We love Greek food so were happy to find this place. I had the gyros plate. The tabeuli was very good, but the gyros meat didn't have the crisp edges that I expected. We were hoping for certain items on the menu, but it was the standard Americanized Greek food. If you've never had really great Greek food, you will not be disappointed. But if you have experienced really great Greek food, it will leave you wanting. Normally we get the baklava for desert, but they don't make their own so we took a pass on it.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice place for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Me and a friend came here for breakfast, the waitress was very friendly, we were the first customers of the morning so she let us choose where we wanted to sit so we sat outside. it's a nice atmosphere being in the middle of the promenade, and also the morning sun was the best.
The food was great! I had eggs Benedict, which came with a salad and hash brown and it was delicious! My friend got pancakes (which i had a taste) and they were absolutely delicious!! the best pancakes I've tasted in a while!
I'd definitely recommend this place if you're after a quiet breakfast. I'd like to come back and try their dinner menu

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean Food in Sta. Monica Promenade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good food, great atmosphere, waitresses are kind and helpful. When you come to Sta. Monica make sure you try this place.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank verkonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cruz Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Hummas ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

This resturant was great for a warm atmosphere and fantastic greek food. We almost did not go in to eat becuase they do not serve alcohol, but decided to give it a try. Great food for the price. Must order hummas!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lollieolliesollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stop'n Cafe also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Stop'n Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing