We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect late night spot when you need grease.”
Review of Tommy's Original Hamburgers - CLOSED

Tommy's Original Hamburgers
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect late night spot when you need grease.”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Tommy Burger is the type of place that I want to be at 1am when I am smashed and need to lay down a serious layer of grease. Awesome French Fries, great burgers, and mysterious brown chile that is rooted deeply in beans and meat cooked to oblivion. Do not come here expecting to be wowed by a classic throwback hamburger that people used to line up for. This is a utility burger, meant to make you full for at least 24 hours, and make you need that bathroom for at least one of those hours.

Delicious because you are so damn hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudeguykid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Meal for the day”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The caloric content is super high but it's worth skipping the ordinary to have a Tommy burger and chili cheese fries! They ask if you want chili on the fires but who says "No"? Eat here and you can skip the rest of the day's mealtimes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chronway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta,Ga.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“I was expecting more”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Tommy's Origional Hamburgers is located on the corner of Lincoln Ave. and Pico St. It is a hamburger restaurant with some outdoor seating. I love burgers and wanted to try this place because it is purportedly a Santa Monica institution.

From what I could tell, all burgers come with a chili topping. My son had a cheeseburger and I had the spicy burger. We both thought that the chili was almost tasteless. Basically, both burgers were a big, sloppy mess.

I would drive 20 miles to go to an In and Out burger place cause there aren't any in Atlanta. In my mind, that would have been a MUCH better choice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma_Atlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Reliable quick food”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have been to Tommy's a couple of times while visiting Santa Monica. It's good for meals on the run.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytravelers97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good 'ol Reliable Tommy's!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

There's a reason Tommy's has been a staple of Southern California for the last 65 years! Great, consistent, delicious food, and prompt service. Great chili burgers, chili cheese fries, and quick service. We did wish they had on-premises restrooms, but were thankful that they pointed us towards the El Pollo Loco just across the parking lot. Thank you!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank kc6ijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tommy's Original Hamburgers also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing