We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fish House”

Blue Plate Oysterette
Reserve with OpenTable
Blue Plate Oysterette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fun Fish House”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Casual upbeat dining . Good menu and good value. Chic vibe for seafood. Is usually packed but I don't think it takes reservations. I think it's worth the wait. Fun place, good seafood.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Coccindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    231
    72
    27
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dinner on patio in Santa Monica”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

A very good dinner at Blue Plate - sat on patio with ocean view. Ordered the lobster roll, which was very good, but pricey at $25. They have an extensive seafood menu with may options. Key lime pie for desert was excellent. I last dined here about three years ago, and the meal and service was just as good the second time here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very small and crowded inside”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Traveling with a service dog can be hard and this restaurant was very difficult The tables are so right next to each other, about 8 inches apart. My dog was great and fit into the small space between the tables. It's very loud inside , can hear everything the people at the next table are talking about. It's hard to enjoy the food , which was excellent , with strangers so close. I had the fish and chips with chowder. The fries were done in old bay which I love. I would get a table outside next time. The food was excellent so if you don't mind closeness then it's the place to go for great seafood

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenandike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is a great restaurant to visit if you ever are in Santa Monica. At first glance the place looks like a dive. But the food is truly to die for. We had excellent fresh East Coast oysters that were fantastic, and I had the evening's special- Mahi Mahi over linguini and mushrooms with a butter sauce. It sounds simple but the flavors all really popped. I loved this meal. Very fresh flavors, great Chilean Pinot Noir, and a very attentive wait staff who clearly were dedicated to giving the best service possible. Overall a very enjoyable evening

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingeyedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“best lobster roll”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

their warm lobster roll is to die for. I absolutely loved the ambiance, service and of course the food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank valerierivard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Plate Oysterette also viewed

 

Been to Blue Plate Oysterette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing