We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky to have found you!”
Review of Rest Haven Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rest Haven Motel
Ranked #33 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I was in Santa Monica visiting friends and was originally in a motel across the street from Rest Haven. After 2 days there I walked over to check price and availabilty at Rest Haven; and it was exactly the same price. I switched over my last 3 days. The difference was - that the other motel was in bad shape and the Rest Haven room was really pretty nice.

Room Tip: the back units where i was had a locked gate at night for security
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nopainf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2011

Hi there, thanks for this positive review. We are glad you liked our place especially our rooms. Guess it`s about time to name someone who`s well deserve for this compliment, Angela, our very efficient and artistic chambermaid. She`s responsible for the nice arrangements of our bedsheets for instance. And, it is funny to know that happens all the time, people coming from the motel across the street and find us more friendly and reasonable. The only reason is that our Motel is being managed by the Owner with a Resident Manager so we can be available at all time for your needs. Again thank you for your time and your kind comments.
Hope to welcome you again the next time you visit Santa Monica. Happy Summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 234 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with the service provided by Janet, the motel owner. She was very helpful, giving us useful information regarding buses and even printed off some information for us from her own printer. Very good value for money as the motel is situated only a few blocks from the beach. Rooms are clean and light. The only drawback was some shady characters hanging around the street but this could happen anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura45659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Hi, Laura, thanks for your nice review. You and your group are amazing too. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a good time and everything was satisfactory for them. We are proud of our historical (LandMark) motel in Santa Monica and will try our best to keep it the way it should be. I am just a bit amused because you regarded me as an owner of this motel, how i wished i am but sorry i am not. I`m just managing it in such a way that my employer and our motel guests are satisfied. Your next visit will be a great pleasure. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days during our recent visit to So Cal. After checking other out other Motels in the area we chose this place because it was easily the best value for the money. The most important thing for us when we look for a room is cleanliness, and I ranked Rest Haven 5 stars in that department. The room we were in seemed to have been recently renovated and the work was well done. We certainly didnt feel like we were staying in a dump, which was quite an accomplishment in this neighborhood. The unfortunate thing about this Motel is that its sandwiched between 2 alleyways. The one in the front connects to a Jack In The Box and there is quite a bit of human traffic passing along it. In addition to some interesting conversations youre likely to overhear, there also seemed to be a fair amount of 'business' being conducted out there (if you know what I mean). If youre a light sleeper you will probably not get much of it here, but it certainly makes for some interesting people watching. As far as sleep went, we always came back late in the evening and passed out pretty much right away, so this wasnt really an issue for us. Anyhow, overall we were very pleased with our stay here and Id recommend to anyone who needs a simple place to crash after enjoying your day out on the town.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrexlerMcStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Good day! Thank you so much for your comments. Our staffs are working hard to keep you happy and we do need your feedback to improve even more. We just received a beautiful stone furniture for our large backyard that everyone can enjoy having breakfast or lunch.
Your stay as a satisfied guest in our small but modest motel was our great pleasure. It will be an honor to welcome you again the next time you`ll visit Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

funky funky funky ... tiny little single room, no closet , single bed , no chair or desk, yet very large ADA bathroom. bed is way too firm for a comfy night, slept very poorly.

this might be santa monica, but not a great area ... looks like this is where the poor folks live, someone slept on the street outside
fine, if you're a young back packer but can't recommend otherwise ... no way in hell would i book here again!
on the plus side, very nice lady at the check in ... and room appears to be clean ..

Room Tip: sorry, no cheap rooms in santa monica ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nick341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2011

Thanks for selecting our motel. We respect our guest's opinion. Sorry if your night was not so comfy, unfortunately, this room you were in is too small for a big closet but we do have a writing table with a big drawer. Our beds are neither too soft nor too hard, this is the only way to get the most satisfaction out of our guests. Our room #13 is small with a huge bathroom. This room is for just one person. We always encourage our guests to see the room first before checking in .We also have large rooms with desk and even walking closets. We are also in a very prime area of Santa Monica. Hope the next time you`ll visit Santa Monica and choose our place again to stay-in, it will be our pleasure to show you the other rooms so you can select one to satisfy your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Classic, vintage motel kept up EXTREMELY well! Small but super-clean room. Bathroom appeared to be recently remodeled. Flat-screen tv not only had tons of channels, but also had HD channels. Free parking and close to everything.

Management/staff was welcoming, friendly and very accomodating. They are genuinely concerned that your stay goes well.

About the only complaint I could have is that the bath towels are small and not very good quality. But the pluses far outweigh this one nitpicky minus.

Skip the over-priced chains and give this neat 'mom-and-pop' a try!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philzhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2011

Thank you for staying with us and took the time to put good words for us. As for the "small" bath towels (poor quality), rest assured we will put this matter above all other things that are subject to change. We care about our guests and we make every effort to make them happy and comfortable. Looking forward to be of service to you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Small room, but very clean, very nice manager, and close enough to downtown Santa Monica, right on Lincoln Road(the Pacific Coast Highway).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CactusDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2011

Good day! Thank you for this positive review. It is always our pleasure to know that our guests are satisfied with our service and our small motel. Looking forward to welcome you the next time you visit Santa Monica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Clean, comfortable, and cheap (compared to others in the area) with lots of storage space in the room. The manager is super-nice, too! The beach and the downtown area are just a short walk away but the motel is set back from the street a bit (behind Jack in the Box) so it was pretty quiet. The taqueria right down the street is awesome, and you can take the city bus from LAX for a dollar and get off just down the street from the motel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freeformMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
resthavenmotel, General Manager at Rest Haven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Thank you for this positive review. Your satisfaction as motel guest is our utmost priority and your continual patronage is highly appreciated. It will be our pleasure to welcome you the next time you visit Santa Monica. Have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Ocean Park Inn
Ocean Park Inn
#34 of 36 in Santa Monica
258 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
634 reviews
Santa Monica
Days Inn Santa Monica/los Angeles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica
#17 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,258 reviews
Santa Monica
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
#29 of 36 in Santa Monica
462 reviews
Santa Monica
Palm Motel
Palm Motel
#35 of 36 in Santa Monica
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rest Haven Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rest Haven Motel

Address: 815 Grant St, Santa Monica, CA 90405-1311
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: $116 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rest Haven Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All request, including room type, are non-guaranteed and shall be honored depending on availability at check-in.* We are a small and basic motel. To noise sensitive; we are behind the Jack in the Box(fastfood chain) and the night Bar name TriP. Welcome to Rest Haven Motel, Santa Monica !!! Feel good in this neighborhood if you would! This is an economy motel conveniently located in Lincoln Blvd and Grant Street just 20 minutes walk to the Third Street Promenade in downtown Santa Monica and the famous Santa Monica Pier where fun and enjoyment can be had beyond compare. The place is quite accessible to many other favorite tourists' haunts known the world over like Venice Beach, Malibu, Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studio, Disneyland, and more which makes every stay a pleasure. Built in 1938..."A marvelous experience"... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rest Haven Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rest Haven Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing