We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, but expensive breakfast”
Review of FIG

FIG
Reserve with OpenTable
FIG is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 682 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Ocean Avenue & Wilshire Blvd
Description: A Mediterranean inspired bistro named after Santa Monica's famous landmark, the 137 year-old Moreton Bay Fig tree, placing strong emphasis on sustainability and indigenous ingredients. FIG features a frequently changing seasonal menu, Cheese and Charcuterie Bar, approachable wines by the glass, and a signature cocktail program.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great, but expensive breakfast”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really good breakfast. Kids loved the pancakes, I loved the oatmeal (day 1) and eggs & bacon the next day. Very good coffee and the pot on the table was really appreciated!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1965Lana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    117
    43
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“fresh formula”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

a superbly fresh formula, its concept, design, decor, menu and presentation. i know we have been to sushi bars, but the fig's twist on a food bar is different, a trained butcher prepares charcuterie dishes direcly adjacent to the man bar, where a team of veritable mixologists assemble many (some secret) ingredients into masterful results. the bar scene here has only suffered somewhat from the energy of the renovated 'bungalow' bar nextdoors.

the food us superb, simple, meant to be shared. a restaurant inside the Fairmont Hotel, never feels like your ubiquitous hotel typical restaurant. when ou go to Santa Monica, you may stroll onto that delightfully tacky pier, take in a sunset, and thrn scurry, hurry to the fig. you'll have made the ight decision.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank walthervliegen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“"Read the reviews"”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We recently visited the "Fig" at the Fairmont in Santa Monica. We happened upon a 50% off starting at 5 - 6. The menu looked acceptable so we thought we would give it a try. Others also came early for dinner so we were not the only ones available. The table was rather odd we were seated at and we thought maybe it was the 50% less table! It was situated by the patio door so every time someone entered the patio the door opened and a draft surrounded you. Having just returned from the East Coast travelling we thought the prices were rather high for the quality of food.

The chopped salad was ordered and shared, lots to share. A little different then a normal chopped salad, rather then hazelnuts there were peanuts which would be disturbing if you were allergic to peanuts. The dressing was tasteless. The second salad was the
"Mixed baby lettuce" with oranges, radishes, fennel etc. it presented well and was tasty. One order of meatloaf arrived very large portion of meat, with 2 large slices. One slice cut in 1/2 would be plentiful with the mashed potato an vegetables. I would suggest making the potato a little more flavourful with garlic or dill needed something. The "black cod" was undercooked and very few vegetables not worth the value, disappointing. The cauliflower risotto for the vegetarian was almost "pasty" as described, smelled good however. As my husband said good thing it was all 50% off, it did not warrant the price. Service was very good a little confusing as we had one seat us, a fellow came to greet us, a girl came for our drink order, another fellow came to take our food order, another girl to check on us. Maybe no one knew what to do with this table either.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank seven7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit Too”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

It's Sunday and I wanted a brunch. I cross the road from the hotel and went to Fig.

It's a very good restaurant. The brunch selection was somewhat limited but acceptable. Service was fine. Coffee was good. Sitting in wicker chairs with a view of the pool was relaxing. I would recommend it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Panguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
261 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Only average for the expense”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel restaurant. For breakfast, my food was very good on one day and just average a second day. However, given the price, one would expect very good every time.

Service was good, though.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank plamichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed FIG also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to FIG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing