We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highlight of the trip”
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Stayed here recently for a week-long business trip. The location is fantastic...right on Ocean Ave., about a minute walk from the beach, and about a two-minute walk from Boa, Sushi Roku, etc.

From what I understand, the hotel used to be an apartment/condo complex, so all of the rooms are gigantic suites that overlook both the pool/lounge area and also have balconies that face outward.

The staff is also a plus. They seem to really enjoy their jobs, so their smiles and attentive attitudes come across as very genuine.

Can't really think of any negatives. The bar/lounge is expensive, but not any more than any other top-notch hotel. For what it's worth, I have requested that my company always use this hotel when we are in LA.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrobbins_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    218
    65
    31
    32
See reviews for
368
224
41
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

A friend of mine spent a night at Hotel Oceana and it was nothing short of splendid. The service by the staff was second to none and they really took care of all our needs from short term parking, to anticipating we would need a role away bed to pouring our next cup of coffee at breakfast. The hotel is almost like a Melrose Place style layout and the suites are generous in size and amenities. I can't wait to bring my wife to be to this hotel of a relaxing weekend in Santa Monica

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mohaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I have stayed at the Oceana on a number of occasions over the past ten years or so - the location is always a plus, the rooms seem to be nicer than ever and the attitude, attentiveness and helpfulness of the staff has never been better - this stay there seemed to be a marked change in the way the staff interacted with us and it made a big difference - taking care of particular needs, making a birthday more special and generally providing a luxury feeling at a luxury hotel - every service was handled in a friendly, comfortable way and made us feel that everyone was genuinely concerned with making that happen

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nypoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAngeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My husband and I live in Palos Verdes and wanted to take a little vacation in LA. I used to live in Venice and am very familiar with the hotels in Santa Monica. I friend suggesed we try this hotel and we loved it. We splurged on a suite and were very happy that we did. The room was beautifully decorated but not overdone. We had a glass of wine overlooking the pool and then went to dinner. We loved the hotel so much that we came back for a nightcap instead of going out. The fireplace was lit by the pool and it was a perfect setting. My only complaints were the screaming kids in the pool (why do people think that's okay)? and that breakfast was broken down at 10:45 am when they say it's served until 11 am.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAEventPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We spent 3 delighful nights at the Oceana hotel 10,11 and 12 September . Although the room we were given well actually it was a suite was more expensive than we anticipated it was absolutely gorgeous with views over the Ocean and more like an up market apartment. The pool area was loveley and intimate with a roaring fire which was welcome as we hit a cold period and the pool was like walking into a warm bath. The staff were so helpful and I must mention Kate on reception in particular. We would reccomend this gorgeous boutique hotel without hesitation. If I had one small gripe it would be the very expensive Kitkat in the mini bar - no we didn't eat it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyandDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Uk
1 review
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Whenever we visit Santa Monica again we would only go if we knew we could stay at the Oceana, that's how fantastic it is ! Need I say more ?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveW019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raglan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Hotel Oceana was a big surprise. The more we looked around the more we saw. The attention to detail in the decor and gardens was amazing. It was almost like a home. With lovely books provided in the rooms. Beautiful pool area and gardens. The pool was fantastic - warm - with no chlorine smell. The dining room was just lovely with inside / outside dining. A lovely outside fireplace setting. The staff were friendly and natural. All adding up to a great and different hotel experience. Also provided complementary bikes which were great to explore and shop.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raglan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#5 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
Santa Monica
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
Huntley Santa Monica Beach
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Fairmont Miramar Hotel & Bungalows
Santa Monica
Casa del Mar
Casa del Mar
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#3 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceana Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana Beach Club Hotel

Property: Oceana Beach Club Hotel
Address: 849 Ocean Ave, Santa Monica, CA 90403-1003 (Formerly Hotel Oceana Santa Monica)
Location: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana Beach Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceana Beach Club Hotel is luxury boutique hotel located in the premier residential neighborhood of north Santa Monica. With sweeping oceam views, spacious rooms and suites and coastal California cuisine at Tower 8, Oceana offers guests the quintessential coastal California experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oceana Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing